We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here on a Friday night as I had a work party to attend. I have stayed here before approximately 2 years ago and was surprised that the hotel was still very good. Only paid £19 for the room and it was clean, quiet and beds were very comfy.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and will definately be staying here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly larger and have good all round views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCookDroitwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    600
    136
    56
    38
See reviews for
391
562
122
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bedford
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

nice hotel with friendly staff. It is very close to shops and restaurant. rooms are spacious and no noise, though it is in a main road. It is a short walk to the bullring shopping center and train station. There are bars and cafes around. The only problem is the do not have a car park or a bay to be able to download your suitcase. even at night and weekend you have to pay to park outside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minoo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

First of all the good:
This hotel, budget or not, has got to be in one of the best positions in Birmingham.
Very close to the Bullring and New Street station but on a quiet side street with a very attractive location.
All the usual pros and cons of a Premier Inn.
Then the not so good:
When I stayed in November with my daughter, we were woken at 4 am by a fire alarm. On vacating the room we joined a very slow-moving queue on the stairs - if this had been a real fire we would either have fried or died from smoke inhalation without any doubt.
Eventually we made it down to the street where, after hanging around for 15 minutes or so, we were told we could return to our rooms to try to get some more sleep.
The next day we were told the fire alarm had been tripped by someone taking a shower with the bathroom door open.
This left me with a number of questions:
Steam is a very different substance to smoke, so why was the smoke detector activated at all?
Was anyone at Premier Inn concerned that we couldn't get down the stairs while the fire alarm was sounding? No one explained or apologised for our disturbed night but would that have meant we could all have claimed under their good night's sleep guarantee??
Why wasn't there a proper fire evacuation plan on the back of the bedroom door instead of just instructions to "leave by the nearest fire exit" ?
Finally, why didn't Premier Inn reply to me when I filled in their feedback questionnaire about this experience, ticking the 'yes' box when they asked if I would like a reply from them?
Hmmmmm..........great position or not, I'm not sure I'd want to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to be near the exit!!!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank beejayblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have stayed at this premier 4 times now, twice being in the last couple of weeks due to my Daughter visiting the hospital.We were able to check in this time at 1.45 pm which was super .I rang the night before and requested a particular room which we like.The receptionist was very nice and was able to allocate this for us. As usual the room was lovely and clean,great shower, large fluffy,white towels.The beds are so comfy and always sleep well here.
Breakfast is always fab here,and cooked very well with Plenty of choice. Ewan the waiter is so friendly and attentive.Nothing is too much trouble for him.Today he even recognised us from our last visit which was nice.
This hotel is in prime location for Bullring,New st station,buses,all being a couple of mins walk just around the corner.Victoria square is also a couple of mins walk. We had a lovely walk along the canal to the mailbox which has a huge variety of places to eat.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else now after staying here so many times.I also feel safe because travelling alone with my daughter safety is a big issue.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger. Higher rooms facing the catherdral have a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue-d-evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hotel is in a very central position close to station and bullring. Visited when Christmas market was on - lovely atmosphere. Staff at hotel were excellent checking in very helpul. Room was large and warm and clean. Bathroom great with lovely soft towels. Beds very comfy but no twins had to use double and single but not a problem. Only draw back was rubbish collection at rear of our room which was at 6am (very noisy) (Room 102) and all the air condition equipment buzzing. We did lots while we were there so were very tired and therefore slept really well. A front facing room overlooking the cathederal would have been lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
304 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Allocated very small room (could barely open bathroom door, bed so close). Also bathroom smelt of smoke. This did not disappear, so conclude something to do with air-conditioning and location of smoking area. Also mould in bathroom (in soap dispenser and in corner) - this is not usual for Premier Inns - they tend to be very clean.

As usual though, comfortable bed (5 foot). Usual, well placed hairdryer. No bath.

Can't really grumble for £34 - but know other rooms are bigger, better and cleaner.

Great location in Birmingham.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here on 2nd Jan. Only paid £19 for a double room which was spacious and very clean and comfortable. There was adequate pillows and the room also had air conditioning should we have needed it.

Staff were very polite and helpful on check in - provided me details of nearest/easily accessible car park as the hotel doesn't have any long stay car parking (there are pay and display bays outside but are limited to 2 hours max)

Can't grumble for the price at all! It's within walking distance of the Bullring, Museums, Broad Street and train stations and there are LOADS of restaurants in the surrounding streets so you'll be spoilt for choice!

Overall, great location, great staff, great rooms!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
896 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,814 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
831 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing