We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands, Rotterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Right in the city centre”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a lovely room that over looked the Cathedral which is what we asked for. They were very happy to accommodate that for us which were a big plus for us. The room had a lovely big bed and a large bathroom as well. We were very happy with our room, especially for the price we paid. For some reason you pair a low price with low service, but this really isn’t the case here.
We found plenty of places to eat and drink in the area, such as a Tapas restaurant and a weather spoon just around the corner. Being in the centre of the city we found it great for a night out. It was easy to get out and about and just as easy to get back again.
It’s a great price for a great place to stay. We will always come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosaliewoods R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Rosaliewoods R,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a such a pleasant review. The Cathedral facing rooms really are a pleasure to stay in and I am pleased to hear that the hotel exceeded your expectations.

The hotel is located in a great part of Birmingham City and I hope to see you here again in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachael Bateman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    607
    137
    56
    39
See reviews for
395
568
122
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here in September 2012 and had a great stay. Rooms are clean, quiet and secure. Hotel is in a good location. The approach of the chain is to keep it simple and cheap, which they achieve. We all (2 adults, 2 kids, 9, 10) stayed in the same room which was a bit of a squeeze but we aren't staying here to see the inside of a hotel room. I only wish a few other hotels would wake up and realise that, no - we are NOT going to take two rooms because they have a policy of a max. of three family members in a room.

Room Tip: As usual the higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucass_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear lucass_10,

Thank you for your recent review.

We pride ourselves on being a family friendly hotel and I am pleased to hear that you found this hotel to be so accommodating to you and your families requirements.

I hope to welcome you back here in the future.

Kind Regards

Rachael Bateman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

we booked the hotel on the internet which was really easy to do.
the welcome we received on arrival was excellent, friendly, professional, helpful and very warming.
the room was spotless and very well laid out.
We drink alot of tea and coffee, when I asked on reception on the evening when we got back to the hotel it was no problem to get some more from Reception.
We will be using the hotel next time we are in Birmingham for an event.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Jill T,

Thank you for sharing your views regarding your recent stay here at Waterloo Street.

All of your pleasant comments will be passed on to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back here again.

Kind Regards

Rachael Bateman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very comfortable for a central location, no noise from the street (despite overlooking the square) nor from within the hotel although we were close to the lift. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room and bathroom were clean, functional and had everything we needed and the bed was fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovertoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clean and comfortable room, as expected from Premier Inn. Hotel staff all very friendly and polite, helpful without being intrusive, top marks to them. Had a family room which came with 2 single beds and a double. Was a bit cramped as room was fairly small compared to other Premier Inn rooms I have stayed in (I've stayed in quite a few), but we were only staying for one night so this was fine. Also, how many hotels will even offer to put 4 people in 1 room, all with an actual bed? Not many that I have found!

My only real gripe was about the breakfast system. I love a buffet breakfast, but the kitchen staff could not cope, and food was not being replenished quickly enough. Some people, myself included, were waiting up to 15 minutes for some standard items...I'm not talking about special request things here like omlettes etc. During this time, a large queue formed. Some people in the queue were not waiting for things to be replenished, they just wanted to get things that were already there... but nobody was managing the queue, and telling people to go ahead and take things that are ready rather than waiting in line with people who were waiting for items to be refilled. Some member of staff should have taken control of this situation. I have contacted Premier Inn about this through their website, and am waiting to hear back. I feel bad complaining about this as the rest of my experience was great, but the fact is it was very frustrating, even my stepdaughter appeared after over 15 minutes with a plate of basic food, saying she had been waiting so long she didn't even feel like eating anymore! I have two suggestions for this hotel. Either make sure a member of staff 'manages' the queue that develops to ensure people who aren't waiting for items can just go ahead and get food that is ready, or revise the system to ensure more of the food is prepared and kept stocked up properly. I would suggest giving over a couple of tables in the restaurant area to act as a 'second' buffet (even if this is only at the weekends when I am sure they are busiest), which can be filled up with stuff that keeps warm well on a warming tray for some time, so can be stocked up even before breakfast begins. Sausages, bacon, beans, hash browns tomatoes. The area where hot food is taken from is currently very small, so a second table like this would split the queue and take off some pressure. The trays of food on the existing buffet are simply not big enough to cope with demand on a busy day. I hope they sort this out, as it put a dampener on my experience, and I heard several other people around the restaurant complaining too... and yet surprisingly, the restaurant did not actually seem to be unreasonably busy! So this must be a recurring problem. I hope they take my comments in the constructive manner in which they are intended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andybullock77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

nice, clean room; well insulated against noise from the street; great, central location on a really pretty square. all felt very efficient and convenient, and was clean and comfortable.
couldn't ask for more, and all at a good price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Katalina75_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked our room at this Premier Inn quite last minute, but this didn't seem to matter we still had a good room. Clean, extremely comfortable and very very friendly from the moment we arrived :)

We were not sure where to park so pulled up outside and just popped inside to ask for directions to the nearest car park, as mentioned on the website, fortunately we had pulled into a parking space right outside the door and then is where we stayed, with recommendations as to how to make full advantagement of the free overnight parking as well as avoiding that early morning ticket if we had not topped up in time, it was so easy, less hassle than driving round Birmingham and also even though roadside parking we felt at ease to do so :) With our Sat Nav the hotel was very easy to find, so thoroughly recommend you use one of those unless you know Birmingham very well.

We booked our meal for that evening and breakfast through the meal deal, which worked out extremely cost effective, evening meal with three course meal and a choice of beverage (I asked for wine and received a very big glass of it) and then in the morning the all you can eat breakfast, what more could you want.

We were going that evening to the NIA and this was an easy and pleasant walk from the hotel and not at all worrying late at night on our return.

The only downer was late at night (around midnight) there was some noise when the bottles were being emptied into the bottle bin, we were at the back of the hotel, unfortunately we had only just got off to sleep so this noise awoke us but probably if we had been asleep abit longer it may not have disturbed us at all, apart from that we heard no noise what so ever. So to avoid this it would be nice if the bins were emptied earlier in the evening or the next day as it was quite loud.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to friends and also would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wipeouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,888 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing