We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs”
Review of Charde Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charde Guest House
Ranked #45 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

How this place is still open is beyond me. We were asked to wait in the lounge (2 seater dirty setee and tiny tv.) The dining rooms plates hadn't even been cleared away from breakfast (this was now 4.30pm) On being shown to our room double and not twin as requested. The sheets, quilt cover and pillow cases were dirty and not ironed. The heater that had been put in the room was filthy as were the shower, skirting boards and toilet floor. The windows were covered in mould.
We had to make our own breakfast but on looking in the cupboard the food was just thrown in and looked disgusting. Two other guests we met in the morning were appalled as well. One had woken to water dripping on him and found himself moved to a bed in a shed outside.
I know it wasn't over expensive but I am sure it could have been cleaned at least.
The only thing going for this place is the man who answered the door was at least friendly.

Room Tip: Stay at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nuttyrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    6
    14
    44
See reviews for
5
20
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place has no redeeming qualities. The continental breakfast is a toaster with bread, butter and jam, lidl cereals and long life milk. Tired dated building. Shabby room with dirty bathroom. Room not cleaned once in 5 nights. Internet not working.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked to stay 2 nights here while we were attended an event at the NEC.

The whole place stank of stale cigarette smoke, including the bed linen. The curtain rail fell off the wall when we tried to close the curtains. Part of the shower also fell off while my partner was showering.

The 'continental' breakfast only consisted of cereal and bread, which you could toast yourself. There was no fruit or yoghurt or anything. The other guests mess was all over the dining room when we came down for breakfast.

We decided to only stay for one of the two nights we booked because it was that awful!

We put a complaint in, but were refused our money back or any sort of compensation.

DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess_Nemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself and a friend recently stayed at the Charde for one night whilst going to a Kings of Leon gig at the LG Arena. From the moment we walked in, we were ecstatic about the friendly and helpful greeting. We had intended to pay on card, but- as they have no machine- couldn't. The gentleman behind the counter could see that we were in a rush (and excited for our gig!) and said we could go to the cashpoint over the road in the morning. He gave us the number for a taxi firm and all the relevant information regarding check out times and breakfast. The decor is kitchy and a bit old fashioned but very clean and comfy so it didn't matter. For what you pay, it's nicer than a sterile-looking Travellodge. It was a 10 minute taxi drive to the LG which cost us £7, bargain. We arrived back Very Late, which was not a problem. We also slept in for breakfast, but the man knocked us to say he had left us the breakfast things out- about an hour after breakfast had officially finished. What a kind gesture!! Breakfast was great, a serve yourself continental with cereal and toast etc. All in all, we couldn't have asked for any better, and the friendliness of the proprietor did not go unappreciated!!! Well recommended :D

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Friendly staff,not too far from NEC. Really close to the airport. Eat and drink as much cereal toast, juice water coffee and tea ( fridge was broken so juice warm) The room was a bit rough, shower fell off the wall, not much space. Curtain rail came apart! Bed had no legs the mattress was well over used !! It's was £30 for a room for he night, we booked for two nights but stayed just the one. Probably wont stay again, it was somewhere to get your head down after a drink! Nice guy running it but it defo needs attention. My partner really cut his leg trying to get dry after the shower fell on him... He was really unimpressed !!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffeeismything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

First impression was that it stank of stale smoke. Décor old. Has not been cared for. Tap not working properly.
Had booked a twin room. Got there and was switched to a double. Did not want a double. Had booked non-smoking and found had smoking.
Breakfast was basic - only cornflakes and toast which is not a continental breakfast as advertised.
Would definitely not return to this place. Steer well clear unless you are really desperate.

Room Tip: Avoid the outhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrecianHighworthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for a concert at the LG, the place is old fashioned and could do with a bit of updating but for the price it was what we were expecting. The rooms was clean & warm, beds were fresh & comfy & the one guy who seems to do everything there was great really friendly & helpful. This place is ideal for somewhere to put your head if your off out in Birmingham

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sheldon
1.9 mi away
Heath Lodge
Heath Lodge
#1 of 1 in Marston Green
107 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast
4.0 mi away
Rollason Wood Hotel
Rollason Wood Hotel
#36 of 52 in Birmingham
56 reviews
2.0 mi away
Central Guest House
Central Guest House
#14 of 52 in Birmingham
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charde Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charde Guest House

Property: Charde Guest House
Address: 289 Mackadown Lane | Tile Cross, Birmingham B33 0NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Charde Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing