We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good no fuss meal”
Review of Basmati Restaurant

Basmati Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 2,201 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really good no fuss meal”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Easy to miss and pass based on outside appearance but the food and service is as good as anywhere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony_robo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for making your time out to make this review. we shall look forward to welcome you yet again and promised to be continued with our quality and service to meet your expectation all the time.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    67
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were staying at the Premier Inn next door to this restaurant and wanted a nice meal not too far from the hotel. The Basmati seemed ideal and it was! The food was excellent and the staff efficient & friendly. Travelled from Essex to Birmingham and the manager made it his business to visit us at our table and made us very welcome. Will certainly visit again when in the area! Many thanks for a lovely evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue231150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for making your time out to make this review. we shall be making continous effort to make you even better and mouth watering taste on you next visit. :-):-)

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Curry near Holiday Inn”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Liked my Meat Thali- very rarely see this option & love small varied portions! My 12yr son liked his chicken tikka starter & staff didn't push us to order more than a stater & main between us. Efficeint & polite staff put us near window rather than tucking us away & a large group seemed to be having fun which added to atmosphere!
Disliked the outer appearance of the restaurant & inside was a bit boxy! However you shouldn't judge a book by its cover!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MicroLoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for making your time out to make this review. well, in regards to the outer appearance as the structure of the building is difficult to convert i to diffrent looks but yes we shall take your comments in consideration to asess whether anything can be done about that. i am glad that you enjoyed your thali so did your son. i definitely believe we are better than average as we put our 100% to deliever our customer what they expects from us. we shall look forward to welcome you yet again and promised to be continued with our quality and service to meet your expectation all the time. I certainly hope we will get better ranking than this on your next visit :-):-)

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always good!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The family are regulars here and are never disappointed. Food is great and real value for money, and the staff are all friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orlovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for making your time out to make this review. we shall look forward to welcome you yet again and promised to be continued with our quality and service to meet your expectation all the time.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you like your portions large then Basmati is for you. Came here with my daughter and her future in laws and really enjoyed the food - large portions, wide choice menu, attentive service and all at a reasonable price. What more could you want?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for making your time out to make this review. we shall look forward to welcome you yet again and promised to be continued with our quality and service to meet your expectation all the time.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basmati Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Basmati Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing