We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basmati Restaurant

Basmati Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 2,198 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Took my parents here this weekend as they were visiting. This place never disappoints. The staff are always friendly and the food is always good. This is my local indian restaurant and we never see the point in going to a more 'fancy' one in the centre of Brum as they are just never as good. I don't know one person in the local area who doesn't like this restaurant. We like to get a few different dishes and share. And we can never resist a side of Saag Aloo (Spinach & Potatoes).

Can get busy over the weekends so be sure to book a table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honest20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for making your time out to make this review. we shall look forward to welcome you yet again and promised to be continued with our quality and service to meet your expectation all the time.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    67
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thankfully the M6 was closed!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Travelling from the Peak District to Cheltenham, we were dispirited that the M6 Southbound was shut at j.10. However, every cloud, and all that... the detour through Walsall took us south on the A34, and at Great Barr, we were able to visit "an old favourite" - the Basmati. The slightly random location of the restaurant belies the delights once you get inside. Great service, great food - simply, a great restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8golds218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Dinner,

Thank you for making this handsome review. we shall look forward to welcome you yet again.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
241 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Situated by the busy A34 at Great Barr and close to Junction 7 of the M6, the location of this restaurant doesn't fill diners with hope but inside it's a different story. The waiters are all smartly dressed, discreet, attentive and helpful and the internal environment is clean and attractive.

But what matters mostly is of course the food. Poppadoms with a pickle tray are standard fayre. For my main course I chose Lamb Zalfrezi, vegetable rice and peshwari nan. Portions were generous and the lamb had clearly been slow cooked - it was tender and tasty and actually tasted of lamb! Why do some Indian restaurants list "meat" on their menus where you expect to find lamb?

When the food was first brought to my table, the young waiter served up from the hot plate - asking how much I wanted. I thought this was a nice and unusual touch. The meal was washed down with a pint of lager and half a jug of tap water. I thought the bill was a bit steep - just under £20 for a basic meal with one drink but even so I enjoyed it tremendously. The curry had a little kick to it and the presence of fresh spices was easy to detect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil_in_Sheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for making your time out to make this review. we shall look forward to welcome you yet again and promised to be continued with our quality and service to meet your expectation all the time.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal - Great Service - A++”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Found this restaurant by accident is truth be told however, what a great find!!

The food and service are first class and plentiful - I love Indian food and this easily ranks as one of my best Indian meals - their place in the Good Curry Guide 2013 is easily deserved.

I will be back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Dinner,

Thank you for making this handsome review. we shall look forward to welcome you again.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our favourite restaurant”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Basmati restaurant has to be some of the nicest food we've ever eaten. So much so, that we go back near enough every week.

We've eaten at a number of other indian restaurants around the UK and still not found one that beats the Basmati.

It's great value for money, food is delicious and the portion sizes are fantastic.

We've also recommended it to family and friends and they too love the food.

Everyone we've spoke too is also really friendly, they make you feel so welcome, even if you're just going to pick up a takeaway.

If you want a great meal with great service, I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AL1988_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Dinner,

thank you for making this handsome review. we are glad that we are able to deliver what our customers are striving for and most importantly pleased to have you all whom are supporting our business and encouraging us with a beautiful review like what you did. we are pleased to continue with our effort to make a essence in our customers mind and pleasure to be your favorite. We would like to be a favorite for all the time.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basmati Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Basmati Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing