We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Jewel in the Balti Mile!”
Review of Basmati Restaurant

Basmati Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 2,201 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Jewel in the Balti Mile!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Superb! Military get together... food oustanding and service a credit to the region! First class! Service levels perfect, no effort to push guests out. Table yours for the evening... quality Indian dining, best I've tasted... "Jewel in the Crown" was my number 1... you know where I mean bud! X

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McGregorF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Customer,

It was a privilege to have you here.Pleasure to serve you our finest meal and have your candid comments.I shall be happy to welcome you whenever you visit Birmingham again. We shall look forward to see you again.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    67
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brightlingsea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best yet”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Premier Inn for a visit to the NEC Spring Fair, the Harvester adjacent was heaving with people so we went to the Basmati and what a good choice, the service was excellent and friendly with a good attention to detail, the food was equally good and plentiful, one of the better restaurants we have been to lately.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your beautiful review. A comment like yours make us even more proud on our finest offering and encourage us to be continued on doing that.

We shall be eagerly awaiting to welcome you again soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Old hat?”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went this Saturday as a result of reading the favourable reviews.

It wasn't a great start to the night, snow everywhere and my Tom Tom didn't recognise the address and decides to take us in to Walsall. However, we did eventually find it.
The ice made walking up the ramp only slightly less tricky than traversing the South face of the Mont Blanc.
First impressions were of a traditional styled restaurant rather than the more modern approach but that suits me, I prefer soft to hard furnishing although I'm not too sure about the paintings. Perhaps a result of the bad weather but at 7.45pm there were only four tables taken and therefore there was no real atmospere.
So why not 4 or 5 Stars?
Our table was tucked into a corner with me facing the wall and unfortunately it managed to catch the draft from the doors and the room wasn't too warm to start with.
I thought the staff were smart and efficient but not overly pleased to see us considering the effort people were making to go out. After chatting about some of the dishes I was surprised that our waiter seemed less than sure what would be a spicey & tasty meal for a cold night.
From poppadoms to deserts there was nothing in the food or service that said anything more than satisfactory.
There were no pickles or different sauces with the poppadoms. The side salads with the startes were the basic "nans salad" of lettuce, cucumber & tomato. The chips were only just cooked and the onion fried rice "firm" with barely any onions. The Assamese "Special" although hotter was identical to the Bhuna but to be fair it was the same price and pleased to say that both were very good .
Sadly the draft Kingfisher has a slight tang to it and the "nameless" house red wasn't to the wife's liking.
I suspect the Basmati have kept their formula the same for years but there are a lot of restaurants out there that have raised their game. This isn't a problem providing they are getting the bums on seats. Even on the miserable night that we went out on there are many restaurants where there isn't a hope of getting a table without a booking and there's a good reason for this.

Our opinion is that the Basmati is good and perfectly adequate but no more than that. There is nothing poor about the Basmati, it's OK but for me I feel there are a few improvements & "extra touches" that should be made. "If it's not broken don't fix it" may be true but a little care & attention detail would make a big difference.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurryholicDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for extensive review. a review like yours will make us think to improve on every aspect where there will be room to improve on. However, I think perhaps a miserable whether driven your attention to little things more that overshadow the good side of Basmati's offering. We believe in quality and service. perhaps our interior and style of offering a bit old but our local and regular dinners says we are they best and therefore we are pleased to keep up the best work and hey don't' forget "old is gold" !!!!. but yes we do always make little touches here and there to keep us updated. In regards to our kingfisher and house wine we pleased to keep that on for years as customer love it to bits as refreshing and good in taste. we do have a options in place if any dinner do not fancy any of the wine than that can be replaced with other offering from the menu as we have lots of option avaiable. we offer our customer to taste our wine soon as they order one. We would have been pleased to do that if you have had asked. In referencing to atmosphere you are lucky that you have had some fellow dinners there on a night like that considering the cold, snow, miserable and worst condition of the road. we have had 95% of our customer canceled their booking as they have failed to make it but luckily we still managed to got to the restaurant and kept it open and have has decent trade on that night considering the climate. I would also like to say that most of the restaurant in surrounding Birmingham have served only handful of customer and some have failed to reach the restaurant. Fact that the weather was not great for people to come to dine in the restaurant althoght some did but majority didn't. We have a totally different picture on normal Saturday night, diners struggles to find table to dine if they do not reserve a table before hand. In regards to the fried rice i have investigated your order and it appear that you have ordered for fried rice not onion fried rice. fried rice contain only few onion however if have had ordered the ONION fried than it would have come out with lots of big onion. In regards to Chutnis with papadams we provide a standard tray with salads and papadams that contain mint sauce, mango chatni and onion salads however customer can always asked for other chutni such as chili sauce, pickles and slads so on.... from their liking that can be delivered all the time. in reference to heater we do have three big heater to cover the restaurant but obviously in a cold day like that make you feel bit wet and chili and don't forget it's running restaurant people coming in and out so there will be some drought will come through the door which is prety much unstoppable for any premises

We would love to welcome you yet again on good day where weather won't be bad as last time and am certainly confident that we would able to make you fell that BASMATi is not just average and satisfactory as you thought but it is more than that. This is what our regular and returning customer says....:-):-) We shall look forward to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent tasting food with Efficient and Friendly Service”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I regularly stay at the Holiday Inn (Great Barr J7) and eat in. A work colleague suggested we walk the short ¼mile along the road….Great shout....Excellent tasting food with efficient and friendly service. Competitively priced and comprehensive menu with good choice of wine. I will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peteholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for honest and candids review. We shall look forward to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best place ever!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Would go as far as say the best curry house i have ever been too! Excellent and friendly staff and always great food! Always recommend it to everyone!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markaxtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for fantastic review. We would like to extend our big thanks to you for candids comments that will certainly drive us miles with passion to be even more consistent with our offering.

We shall look forward to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basmati Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Basmati Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing