We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Circle restaurant Birmingham Hippodrome”
Review of Circle Restaurant

Circle Restaurant
Ranked #256 of 2,252 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The perfect place to start your visit to the theatre. Our stylish Circle Restaurant, located just a short walk from your seats off the Middle Circle Foyer, offers a relaxing dining experience with tempting, modern menus and an extensive wine list. Our menus are adapted for each show and take advantage of seasonal produce. Wherever possible, we source from local suppliers; this helps us to achieve our aims of supporting the regional economy and to protect the environment by reducing food miles.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Circle restaurant Birmingham Hippodrome”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have had many meals in this restaurant and have always come away feeling that I have had a good meal. The food is very well presented by very helpful waiters/waitresses.
The main reason to eat at this venue comes into its own when attending a performance in the theatre.
Your table is available for you to use during the inteval so you can have a starter and main course before the show and go back in the interval for your dessert or cheese and biscuits, which have been ore-ordered and waiting for you on your return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 556Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    64
    24
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
east anglia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Minimalist food...nice, expensive and not much of it”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nice restaurant, staff very pleasant. Good to have use of table at opera interval but not essential...loads of space in theatre bars. Food was high quality, beautifully presented, but just not enough of it...particularly at the price we are paying. The starter of ham hock was a joke...two very thin two inch diameter pieces of ballatine with two tiny pieces of two inch long Melba toast which crumbled as soon as it was touched. Smoked salmon fishcakes better and just adequate. The main course of venison...costing a supplement of £2.50 over basic cost of £26 a head for two courses....was not sufficient. Again, , beautifully cooked and presented, but smears of colour passing for vegetables, and two small slices of meat. All on a large white plate with plenty of empty space. Expensive for what it is. Lots more choice in better restaurants very close to theatre....use of table not worth the cost! Had ham sandwich when we got home to fill the space!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maggi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great quality and service”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The 3 of us had an excellent 2 course meal and loved every ounce of it. It is also a real treat to pop back in the interval for cheese and biscuits but make sure your seat in the theatre is nearby or you will never get back in time. The venison was outstanding and all 3 desserts were special. Make no mistake this is an expensive place to eat £125 with drinks and the portions are small but the food and service make it more than worthwhile.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWildCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Crowded & noisy”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've eaten in a few theatre restaurants & they all tend to be the same - bit pretentious & crowded. The Hippodrome is no different - fancy dishes on menu but not quite up to their description in reality & as many tables squashed in as they can get. Service was quick, if not rushed but it gets very noisy from the crowds arriving in the foyer below. Some of the starters looked hardly worth dirtying a plate for, but we had potted trout which was basically fish paste in a glass and I couldn't have eaten anymore of it. Pot roast pork & Venison to follow. The pork was very dry & chewy but the venison was, apparently, very nice. £2.95 for a side of carrot. I had a dessert of pistachio parfait with dark chocolate & turkish delight (had to look hard to fine the tiny piece of turkish delight). With a bottle of white wine, which we finished in the interval, it cost £93. We were a bit underwhelmed by the whole experience. All their menus for each new production are available on the Hippodrome website - it would be worth checking before booking to ensure there is something on the menu that you really want to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“pre theatre dinner”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

As a birthday celebration we treated ourselves to the pre theatre dinner prior to seeing war horse.The menu was fine dining experience and the price reflected this.The champagne and nibbles on arrival was a nice touch and then we were escorted to our allocated table. The food was well presented, prompt and service was attentive.( but my partner with his healthy appetite was hungry afterwards and could have eaten a bag of chips after the 3 courses and did have a Chinese takeaway that evening!!!! lol! He missed the quantity and quality as helpings on certain choices were limited ie where's the veg, potatoes, gravy or chips.) How common!! You kept the same table for the interval which gave you just enough time to finish your pre ordered drinks. Some couples ordered sweets for the interval which had to be quite rushed and glad we ate the 3 courses in one go(advice to arrive on time.) I enjoyed the experience but wont be repeating it as it is far tooooooo expensive and with drinks on top it was certainly pricey!
The show War Horse was awesome!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circle Restaurant also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Circle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing