We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Eaton Hotel

Eaton Hotel
Ranked #320 of 2,220 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

after reading the reviews of a hotel restaurant, i decided to pay a visit to check. well worth the visit. the wafer thin toast they serve is so addictive i had to tell the waiter to remove the basket.
the food arrived amazingly quick but was excellent over all courses. I was so full that i only managed to eat 2 courses. the fixed price menu is an absolute bargain, and the wine choice was good too. will definatly visit again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thehamster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    27
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool196
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited The Eaton Hotel on Friday and ate from the Table D'hôtel menu
The food was excellent. Beautifully presented and the best value for money meal we have had in a long time.
Ox cheek for starters was a fresh idea and tasted delicious
The main meals were superb
The restaurant has been recently refurbished and I urge you to visit before they put the prices up!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liverpool196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“perfectly cooked”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A lot of the hotels on the Hagley Road are run down, but this isn't one of them.
Up to date decor. An old fashioned menu (prawn cocktail, melon with berries) but who cares. Good sized portions, well presented, silver service service serving, pristine white table cloths and napkins.
A wide selection of freshly cooked vegetables, I know my chicken supreme was cooked to order as they used non gluten flour for the sauce, yummy roast potatoes crisp on the outside soft on the inside (maybe cooked in goose fat?) Wonderful selection of puddings. The large fruit salads with ice cream were very popular. My grilled banana and peach was perfectly done - not too sloppy. We think this may be Italian run, which would be why the tiramisu was very good.

£23 for a 3 course Sunday lunch had felt a bit steep compared to a Toby, but as we left, we decided it was a bit underpriced for what we got.

There were a lot of people being served for Sunday lunch when we were there, but the waiting staff were unruffled and incredibly efficient. The only downside is that maybe it could seem a bit untrendy for people under 30.

There were plenty of car parking spaces at the rear and the small garden was imaginatively done and well cared for. No complaints here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool196
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Visited with family for Sunday
Good traditional meal
Excellent meat
Pleasant Surroundings
Friendly staff

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liverpool196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

You can't say enough about the quality of food at the Eaton Hotel. We recently organised a Golden Wedding Anniversary meal there and no one was dissapointed. Not only is the quality of the food excellent they are also ample portions. The staff are friendly and the restaraunt is clean and comfortable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SUPERBAGGIESBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eaton Hotel also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing