We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best curries...”

Shababs Balti Restaurant
Ranked #189 of 2,242 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Shababs is located in the heart of the Balti Triangle on the renowned Ladypool Road. Shababs smart decor with henna patterned wallpaper greets the diner but make no mistake, this is a genuine Birmingham balti house right down to it's glass topped tables.Shabab is the place to enjoy Birmingham's famous culinary creation.... The Authentic Birmingham Balti.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best curries...”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Located conveniently at the heart of the Balti triangle, Shabab was a delightful experience. Reasonably priced with attentive waiters who ordered a customized curry for my friend. Very good food, excellent service, definitely worth coming back again and again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank daryl_ong89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    110
    37
    21
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poynton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Trip Down Memory Lane”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Back in the West Mids for the Sabbath Concert at the NIA.
Took my daughter for a proper Balti before the gig.
I live and work in Manchester these days and as good as some of the curry places in Rusholme are, for me they don't quite match the 'Brum Baltis' from my youth ,served in the proper Balti dish.
Food here was excellent,mine a lamb balti with spinach and mushrooms.My daughter plumped for a chicken tikka with chickpeas.
Great sticky peshwari nan. Unlicensed,so we washed ours down with a nice jug of mango lassi,
Friendly manager / waiter.
Recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Always excellent, one of the best we've ever been to”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Have eaten here a few times over the past couple of months while in Birmingham. Came here based on good other reviews. The place itself is clean, modern and well presented. First time we came we ordered medium baltis, rice and naan. Food tasted really good, and staff were really helpful in advising us to ask for it a little hotter next time. When we came back a few weeks later, had our baltis slightly hot, and the taste was amazing. I personally would recommend the balti lamb and chicken, as for less than £7 you get an excellent balti with both meats! The table naans are also something tasty and exciting to try if there are three or more of you. Everytime the food and service has been top notch, and in our opinion is a cut above other curry houses in the area. By the third visit, staff remembered us and seemed genuinely warm and friendly and knew the spiciness we wanted. Customer service is pretty poor in many places these days, but here its a definite plus. We have visited on quiet Mondays and busy Saturdays, and the excellent quality is kept up at all times. A must for curry lovers in Birmingham!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2TravellersBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average ”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Not the best Asian restaurant on ladypool road but not too bad either.

the decor is pretty nice especially the downstairs

Helpful?
Thank Rourou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Balti trip...”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I've said it before and I'll say it again... the best balti around. We travel down from London just to eat here (and maybe some shopping for Xmas ;-) ) it is just that good. They cook to order, the food isn't greasy and too hot even the jalfrezi. I would recommend to anyone who likes proper Indian food with a brum twist.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shababs Balti Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Shababs Balti Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing