We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A genuine balti house with excellent food and service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shababs Balti Restaurant

Shababs Balti Restaurant
Ranked #178 of 2,037 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $16 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Halal, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Shababs is located in the heart of the Balti Triangle on the renowned Ladypool Road. Shababs smart decor with henna patterned wallpaper greets the diner but make no mistake, this is a genuine Birmingham balti house right down to it's glass topped tables.Shabab is the place to enjoy Birmingham's famous culinary creation.... The Authentic Birmingham Balti.
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
173 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A genuine balti house with excellent food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Visiting Shabab on a national voucher deal, we disn't know what to expect. As the restaurant is a bit small and the seating meant we were just two people on the end of a long table, at first we thought we'd be disappointed. Then the waiters were so quick to serve us, and the food do good it blew us away. Best balti house in Brum (no question), best naan bread there is, happiest waiters anywhere. A must if you like balti.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColonelDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    89
    30
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

On a scale of 1 to10, I would rate Shababs as follows:-
Quality of food - 10/10
Price - 10/10
Service - 10+/10
Shababs is without a doubt the finest Indian/Pakistani restaurant I have eaten in. The quality of food is only surpassed by the 5 star service. Since discovering Shababs some six months ago, I have eaten there on average once a week. I nave yet to have a bad meal. ABSOLUTELY FIRST RATE!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“As good as the other reviews say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Went with a Groupon Voucher and have never been before. We were both impressed nice personal freindly service (Jay welcomed us) and the food was great. I personally had nothing which seemed excessive in colouring as has been reported in a couple of reviews so maybe they've responded to the comments which is good.

Very busy even at 6.30pm on a Sunday which shows they must be doing it right. As it's not too far from where I live I'll definately be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would return again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Had never been to Ladypool Road and was a bit unsure of what to expect. Read the reviews on Tripadvisor and booked via e mail. Received a txt response back very quickly. Arrived 30 mins before our booking, but were welcomed in and seated straight away. Helpful, attentive, polite staff throughout meal. Food was excellent and good portion sizes too. The waiter was very helpful, and despite them being busy on a Friday, he was prepared to explain their VERY varied menu. We were very pleased also with the bill - 3 courses plus tea and coffee came to a very reasonable £31.00.
The only aspect about the whole evening that was a slight downer was that it was quite noisy in there - BUT I would go back and eat again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rbz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Not a patch on others in the area”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have eaten at other Indian restaurants in the Balti Triangle. We had a groupon voucher for this restaurant and went along last night. The restaurant was not as clean as you would expect - food left on the floor etc. The food was very mediocre - greasy and over coloured - not a patch on other balti restaurants in the area. We actually both felt ill when we got home - and very dehydrated.We won't be rushing back to this one

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shababs Balti Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Shababs Balti Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing