We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold very cold”
Review of The Old Farm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Farm Hotel
Ranked #10 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cold very cold”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a short weekend in the middle of november. The building is really quirky and with interesting period features. Bournville is a lovely setting and you have the train station within walking distance if you did want to spend some time in the city centre. We went around to visit family living in the bournville area and therefore it was a delight. The only issue we had is that the hotel does not seem to be prepared for the cold weather. There is no double glazing and rather and a quilt the rooms have only sheets and blankets. Needless to say it was not warm enough in the middle of november. I think that in the interest of preserving period features it would be good if the central heating could be adjusted accordingly or complemented with electric heaters and quilts. All in all, I would recommend this hotel in the summer!

Room Tip: Ask for electric heating and quilts if you are travelling in the winter/Autumn or take your own in e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sepia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    28
    17
    2
    7
See reviews for
43
25
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a delightful discovery this small family run hotel was for a trip to Bourneville over the weekend. A lovely homely atmosphere to this place and we were made to feel very welcome, suited our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyLouMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for one Saturday night to celebrate a 25th Wedding Anniversary. The Old Farm Hotel Reception is a little tired - but do not let that put you off. Our room was nicely appointed with a view over the garden. The Hotel hosted the luncheon for the happy couple (approx 30 souls) which was very good indeed. Especially with the opportunity, if the weather is fine, to sit in the garden. Can recommend the lamb roast. All in all a lovely weekend in a smoothly quietly run bed and breakfast hotel.

Room Tip: No 6 was good. White crisp linen, a fresh flower in the room. This together with the warm welcome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice little B&B with dated decor (suited to the house).
Front of house were very busy when we arrived and we were quickly given keys and forgotten about.

Rooms are a little cramped and beds are ok, although it was April they felt very cold and we turned the heating up to full.
Very clean throughout the room and bathrooms.

Breakfast saw a nice althoguh small selection (fruit ran out very quickly, regardless of the fact we went at the start of the breakfast service). We both had the veg breakfast as we don't eat pork and this was very small indeed.

Would have liked to give this review a good rating although I am not sure it really warrants a very good!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l9boogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I booked this for my Mothers 90th birthday party. Jane was really helpful in the build up, and several guests stayed in the rooms for a discounted price. The day of the party was wonderful. The staff were brilliant. Very helpful and unobtrusive. The food was to die for. Wonderfully cooked, hot and very tasty. We had lamb which can be overlooked often, but it was perfect. Would highly recommend anyone to book.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whizzyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was expecting the rooms pictured on the website, so my heart sank as we were shown our room. Brown, 70s decor, padded wallpaper, melamine worktop with turned pine edging. A strip of space around the bed, not even enough room for a bedside table on the side of the bed that wasn't shoved into the corner - (I think this should perhaps be a single room). Carpet in the bathroom is always a worry. The bedside lights (not actually to the side as there was no room) became burning hot. A very tired establishment. Bedrooms not as described or photographed on the website. Hence this rating. Many dried ropey 'arrangements' around which didn't really disguise the fundamental flaws. There were only 2 people staying, the website showed 3 nice rooms, so why were we put in this? The bedding is sheets and blankets, with an uncovered duvet sandwiched between the blankets - all rather cumbersome. There was a duvet under the bottom sheet, presumably to disguise a lumpy old mattress, it did make it comfy (once I had pulled the sheet down so that it reached the end of the mattress) but really, it is the sort of thing your granny does, and you don't expect it where you are paying!
It wasn't all bad, it was very clean and the sheets were pure cotton, white ironed, nice (shame though that there was no duvet cover) - and the table cloths were cotton too. The breakfast waitress was sunny and chatty, the bacon was good, the breakfast was adequate and well cooked, what you would expect - and there were fresh blueberries, an unexpected delight. It was warm and had plenty of hot water. There was a sachet of shampoo (and other products), and was was grateful for them as I had forgotten mine. The location in beautiful Bournville was excellent, 10 minutes to the station on foot past the wonderful Cadbury factory buildings and a short ride into Birmingham New Street, so very handy. A stone's throw from Cadbury World, so great if you are bringing the kids (though I don't think I would bring mine to stay here). Sorry, I don't like saying all of this, and I have avoided writing it because the breakfast girl was so sweet, and I would hate to put her job on the line, but I just feel so cheated, we hardly ever go away, and it was supposed to be a treat, but it was just so disappointing. If you really don't care about decor, or space, or aesthetics or newness you will probably think it is fine and I'm just an old trout!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you decide to stay, and peek under the sheets too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nantgwynfaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just returned home from 2 nights spent at this hotel. I booked a family room for myself and my 2 children. The room was lovely with a double and a single bed. Very clean with a small but perfectly formed bathroom with a spacious shower. The boys loved having a TV in the bedroom. We overlooked the gorgeous garden. The staff were extremely friendly. The bar was not always staffed and we were informed by another guest (a regular) that they operate on a honesty basis, so if it is not staffed you can serve yourself ( a price list is provided). The staff are only a room away in the kitchen off the dining room so are there if needed. The evening meals were very plentiful and beautifully cooked. The breakfasts were delicious with both a breakfast buffet and cooked breakfast on offer. The hotel is directly opposite Cadbury World (the reason for our visit) and less than 10 minutes walk from the train station. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
The Beeches
#83 of 117 in Birmingham
174 reviews
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 117 in Birmingham
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westmead Hotel
#46 of 117 in Birmingham
634 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 117 in Birmingham
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Farm Hotel

Property: The Old Farm Hotel
Address: 108 Linden Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing