We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit since the place was refurbished”
Review of The Junction

The Junction
Ranked #526 of 2,485 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Harborne
Description: All roads lead to Harborne's favourite pub.The Victorian building perched at the top of Harborne High Street may look imposing, but step inside and The Junction couldn't be more comfortable and relaxing. Comfy booth seating, open fireplaces and chequerboard tiles make for a sophisticated pub feel. Our no gimmick, home cooked, seasonal pub food is said to be the best in Harborne; we're uncompromising on quality and enduring favourites like beer battered fish and chips are served alongside oft-changing specials and hot bar snacks from our open kitchen. And, if the weather is clement, you can relax away from the hoards in our pretty little beer garden with a glass of speciality beer or wine.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

Since this historic pub was updated we have visited a few times for drinks, and have enjoyed the ambiance. The beer has been kept well, and the wines are good. The bar snacks and food have looked tempting, so we were keen to return sometime.
When a friend was visiting Birmingham last week we took the opportunity to take him for a meal.
A good selection of meals, well cooked and attentive service. We ordered fairly standard 'pub food': fish and chips, sausages etc. but it was all well cooked, hot and well presented. We'll be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank P3513RGsimonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Junction, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Hi P3513RGsimonp, thank you for the brilliant review. We've just launched our new menu so there are some fantastic new dishes to try like our jerk-marinaded swordfish salad and stuffed guinea fowl with pearl barley risotto!

All the best,
Ben (AM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 258 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2018

We went in for a Sunday roast this weekend - all the staff who served us couldn't have been any nicer or more welcoming. We had the roast - 'To share' - which was lovely and the sticky toffee pudding was amazing. Plus, it's dog-friendly, which is a bonus!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emily441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Junction, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018

Emily, thanks ever so much for your rating and review.

Hoping to see you again in the future, Mikey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

Three of us called in for lunch around 2 pm, so quite late. We missed the 'brunch' menu which finishes at 1 pm, but there was a good sandwich menu and a fuller menu. Dishes could be 'tweaked' on request e.g. one of us wanted a breadless sandwich and this was done without fuss, and presented nicely. The sandwich deal - with fries - at £6.50 is not bad as it includes smoked salmon or an avocado, cheese and aubergine combination. One of us tried the carrot soup which came ultra hot but was tasty. All in all, our meal for three, including 3 coffees, came to just over £26 which seemed reasonable.
It is a very spacious pub, so plenty of choice about where to sit. Staff were friendly and helpful. Table was clean and there was not too long a wait for food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Howarth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Junction, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Thanks Howarth S, great to see we ticked the right boxes in so many places.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon, Mikey (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2018

I suppose it all depends on what you want. We just wanted dinner and we got that. Simple tasty food served well, but the rest of the customers clearly wanted something different at he bar - noisy, packed, shouting, loud music - the whole scene but not our scene.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jim3oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Junction, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Jim, thanks for the review and the feedback. I would like to think we separate our dining and drinking areas very well, so it's interesting that you didn't exactly feel that was acheived when you visited - I don't suppose you could contact me on enquiry@thejunctionharborne.co.uk, and find out where we sat you and whaqt night it was? It'd be very helpful.

Thanks again for the review, and I look forward to maybe getting some further feedback.

Thanks, Mikey GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Nice vibe to this pub with friendly staff. Great selection of beers with plenty of bar staff. Went in Saturday night & the place was buzzing. We had some nibbles from their bar snack menu, the black pudding ball were off the menu which was a little disappointing for a Saturday night but what we had was delicious.
Would definitely go back if visiting Harborne again.

1  Thank Emma_Andy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Junction, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Thanks for the review and the rating Emm and/or Andy - it's the best title of a review I've seen in a long time!

I'll feed back the availability to the chefs, and we'll carry on working hard to providing great nights out.

All the best, Mikey (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Junction also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing