We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mecca”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pen Museum

The Pen Museum
Ranked #15 of 278 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Immerse yourself in the exciting world of pens and calligraphy and explore our amazing collection of over 5,000 objects.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mecca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This grand institution is a Mecca for pen enthusiasts such as myself. I spend many a day browsing its proud displays of Birmingham's glorious pen-manufacturing heritage. Some may scoff at the museum's small size, but all I can say is that "small is beautiful". The narrow-minded jokers will never appreciate the wonder of pens lined up neatly in a row, or the beauty of the reconstituted Victorian schoolroom which gives such a great example in contrast to the comprehensive schools of today with their feral pupils and knife crime. Some modern revisionists may question their ways, but it is beyond that the Victorians knew how to maintain discipline and standards, hence their wild success at home and abroad. For those who appreciate the artistry of the pen and the many different formats in which this noble tool is presented, this marvellous museum is a dream come true.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    143
    27
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This museum is situated just up the road from the Jewellery museum so an easy combination for the visitor. Free entry, but we so appreciated the individual attention we were given by our male guide that they got a big voluntary donation. Interesting to hear about working life for the mainly female employees and to watch the video of former employees telling tales of their time manufacturing pen nibs. Fun to make your own pen nib, write your name in Braille and to have a go at calligraphy. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting and fun, even for children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was looking forward to this but my son wasn't -- he soon changed his mind and we had to drag him out after about two hours in order to get to another museum in time. He enjoyed making his own nib in the presses (with the staff's supervision) and using the mechanical typewriters (which he had never seen). The Braille keypunch was interesting too.

It's a bit of a walk from the city centre but well worth it. Admission is free but please make a donation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pen lover's paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

What's not to like about this for any pen loving person.A must for any pen person visiting the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Youngerhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“fascinating insight into the world of pen tip manufacture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

One of those specialist museums that opens the door to a manufacturing world gone by. Really interesting

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jpp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pen Museum also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Pen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing