We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best theatre we have visited.”

Birmingham Hippodrome
Ranked #3 of 283 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birmingham Hippodrome is an independent, not-for-profit, registered charity. The unsubsidised Hurst Street based venue averages over 500,000 visits annually making it the most popular single auditorium in the UK. With no public revenue funding, it is home to Birmingham Royal Ballet and DanceXchange, presents all of Welsh National Opera's repertoire, welcomes the best in international dance, West End and Broadway musicals and is home to the world's biggest Pantomime. Birmingham Hippodrome is currently expanding its Creative Programme building on its successful work in schools and in the community, and with free outdoor performances. With partners including Arts Council England, Birmingham City Council and private funders, the Hippodrome has recently enjoyed co-producing and producing new events including Six Summer Saturdays, International Dance Festival Birmingham, The Voyage (for the London 2012 Festival) and Summer in Southside.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Probably the best theatre we have visited.”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went to see the panto January 2014, Snow White etc. I booked on line on the weds and went to the show Saturday evening. Booking was very easy and we collected the tickets on arrival. The theatre has a fantastic location, hotels, parking, bars, restaurants etc all nearby. We found the theatre to be very modern, the seats comfortable and roomy and our view from the stalls row U was excellent. In addition, bar prices very reasonable and quick service and, without lowering the tone, the loo's were spotless and plentiful. We live in oxford so visit oxford Apollo and London theatres often .... The Birmingham Apollo wins hands down ... We will be back with our friends and family.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DMFTEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,821
    503
    83
    33
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“pre theatre dinner”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

An excellent start to the evening . Food was well presented and interesting. Setting was modern and service fast.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Snow White Panto”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Show was excellent......however my 6 year old was approached about going on stage in the show.Before we could finish our conversation with the lady she walked away and he was very upset.Bit of advice if approached say yes straight away otherwise you will have one upset child.Good show though!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great show, great gags, great theatre!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

What an excellent afternoon we had! What a fantastic panto! Hilariously funny, gag after gag! We all were just thoroughly entertained from start to finish! The theatre is lovely and the theatre staff make you welcome from the moment you step in. We are visiting from Australia and Pantos are such a British thing that should be experienced! So glad we chose this theatre and this Panto.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Snow Whit and the 7 dwarfs”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The best panto I've ever seen The Hippodrome and Qdos have a magical formula. All superb performances. Congratulations to all concerned.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birmingham Hippodrome also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Birmingham Hippodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing