We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good productions, seats a little small”

Birmingham Hippodrome
Ranked #3 of 278 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birmingham Hippodrome is an independent, not-for-profit, registered charity. The unsubsidised Hurst Street based venue averages over 500,000 visits annually making it the most popular single auditorium in the UK. With no public revenue funding, it is home to Birmingham Royal Ballet and DanceXchange, presents all of Welsh National Opera's repertoire, welcomes the best in international dance, West End and Broadway musicals and is home to the world's biggest Pantomime. Birmingham Hippodrome is currently expanding its Creative Programme building on its successful work in schools and in the community, and with free outdoor performances. With partners including Arts Council England, Birmingham City Council and private funders, the Hippodrome has recently enjoyed co-producing and producing new events including Six Summer Saturdays, International Dance Festival Birmingham, The Voyage (for the London 2012 Festival) and Summer in Southside.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good productions, seats a little small”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

the shows we have seen here have all been spectacular, the only thing that lets it down are the prices of the drinks and the seat space.

expensive drinks and snacks sadly seems to be part and parcel of going out these days but really the seats are clearly designed for a body shape and size that no longer exists.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,756
    483
    80
    32
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Panto & Lion King”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

You don't have to be a kid to enjoy a Panto at the Hippadrome, loved it.
Also been to see Lion king that was amazing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Missey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fab Night Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Recently visited here to watch the Lion King. The theatre really lends it self as a fab stage for shows and the view and acoustics from quite far back was still brilliant. My only moan would be the lack of space, i'm only 5ft 5" & i struggled with leg room, if you are middle row you have no hope in getting out mid performance to visit the toilet. Further more, the drinks were being served in half pint glasses, so with one in each hand, programme and food, its really hard to A- find room whilst sat down & B- Navigate the stairs in the dark!
But if you prepared to put up with no leg room for a few hours, then all in all great place to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bex_j90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COVENTRY,UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Recently visited the hippodrome to see the lion king, what a fantastic show,the theatre is very modern,the staff and service was excellent,very professional ,we had a very enjoyable time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank evie_boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Wow! What a show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have been to see The Lion King at Birmingham Hippodrome tonight. What a show, from the minute the animals started walking in the aisles, to the finale when they all came onto the stage I was mesmerised! The singing, the dancing, the costumes, it was all incredible. Having purchased these tickets last October and being 964th in the queue when I went online to purchase them (it took me one hour 45 minutes to get to the front of the queue!!) it was worth every second to see it! Our seats were in row D in the stalls, so we had excellent views of the stage, and I was amazed at the amount of leg room with the seats! The staff were extremely helpful too as I was on crutches, and the whole experience was one we all thoroughly enjoyed! Thank you Birmingham Hippodrome for giving us a night to remember, and to the cast of the show who were amazing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birmingham Hippodrome also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Birmingham Hippodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing