We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times over many years and it never fails to delight. Where does this hotel chain get it's staff from and how do they train them? The young lady who checked us in was particularly good, and demonstrated her ability to deal with the foibles of the travelling geriatric (such as this reviewer) and the demanding younger head-of-a-large-family-party at the same time and with smiling and unruffled efficiency. Well done! As ever, the hotel is spotless and all services are well delivered.

Room Tip: No lift, so travellers with limited mobility might want to request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanna M, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Hi Alex M,
big thankyou for writing such an amazing review about us. As always we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again, i will be sure to inform the staff what a great job they did. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
The Great Barr Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 353 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

The staff here are welcoming and friendly. It's a small hotel with 30-ish rooms and we stayed for a week on business so you get to know the people there and they are all very friendly.

Breakfast is cooked to order rather than buffet and there's a selection of fresh fruits, cereals, toast, crumpets etc...

Our rooms were spotlessly clean and well attended daily. Despite being close to a main road there was no traffic noise and we slept very well.

If you're staying in the area I'd recommend this premier inn whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtmosPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanna M, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear dcm3372,
thankyou for taking the time out to write a review for us, we are all delighted here at Great Barr that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll be sure to let the house keeping team know what a good job they did! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Great Barr Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for the weekend excellent staff very helpful. Breakfast was excellent cooked to order. Would recommend hotel. Easy to get to. plenty amenities about. Harvest next door if need for evening meal, would recommend booking a table there as it gets busy. Staff happy to do this for you at hotel.

Room Tip: if you need joining rooms please ask as they are available. Family rooms are separate to double room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanna M, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Hi Valery C,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to leave such a positive review for Great Barr Premier Inn. We are extreamley pleased that you and your family enjoyed your weekend here with us. Making our guests feel welcome and comfortable is what we thrive on at Great Barr.
We are pleased that the local amenities where suitable for your stay. We are happy you to hear you enjoyed your breakfast as we provide our breakfast to a high standard.
We will pass the positive comments onto our chef and the other team members. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future,
Kind Regards
All the team at Great Barr Premier Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay, staff are amazing the breakfast was very nice. I've stayed at this hotel before and as usual I am very satisfied. Would definitely recommend this hotel only down fall is having to go next door to a harvester for dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chevy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanna M, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi Chevy5,

Many thanks for taking the time out to leave your excellent comment. We are delighted that you have been pleased with our hotel and our staff met your expectations. Making our guests feel welcome and comfortable is what we thrive on here at Great Barr Premier Inn. I will pass the positive feedback on to the team.
Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your Premier breakfast too. Unfortunately being a small site the Harvester is our only way of dining our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
All the team at Premier Inn Great Barr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Really good value for money was great to see the manager working in breakfast and leading her team. They were all very helpful including the young chef. Only thing I would say is on 1 of my nights the restaurant next door was closed for food. May I add it's separate to the hotel. Would recommend this hotel for short stay

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirlen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanna M, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hi Sherlin12,
Thank you for taking the time out to leave your positive comment. We are extreamley pleased you got a great value for your money here with us at Premier Inn and got to meet some of our fantastic members of staff.
So sorry to hear you was disapointed that the restuarant next door was not serving food on your stay, However the reception team are always happy to advise you on local restuarants and places to eat for the future.
I will pass on your excellent review on to the team.
Many thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
The staff at Great Barr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It was an excellent way to break our long journey to Hampshire. the room as always was lovely with everything needed to help us enjoy our stay. The staff were very helpful and i would recommend Premier Ins all the way


  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayes_chris4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanna M, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Hi hayes_chris4 it means alot to us at premier inn that you take the time to give feedback. We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us and i will pass all feedback onto the staff. Hope to see you again soon!
The staff at Great Barr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

My family and I decided after spending Christmas with family in London that we would leave London a day early because of the bad weather conditions and book into the premier inn great bar Birmingham for the night before catching the ferry to Ireland the next day we booked a family room two adults to children we got there about 9 PM when we got there the family room was horrible The beds were not made up! there were no towels in the shower or shower gel .the beds were a sofa bed and a slide out bed we never got a good nights sleep ! As for the vending machine in the lobby it took the only £10 we had on us never give us change never give us any items when my wife complains about this she was told she would have to wait until morning to speak to the manager when the manager came in she informed us that we will have to wait until Friday to receive a £10 back as we were goin home that day there was no way we could do that breakfast was very expensive 9 pounds for breakfast £5.50 for a bowl of cereal I will never stay in a Premier Inn again you have been warned

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Fward63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com so we can investigate further. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Great Barr Hotel
#83 of 118 in Birmingham
366 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
1,018 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel

Address: 222 Birmingham Road | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $60 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn is conveniently positioned just a short distance from the M6. Ideally located just 8 miles from New Street train station. This Premier Inn is 18 miles away from Birmingham Airport. Our Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room, free parking, WIFI (charges apply) and an onsite Harvester restaurant. Full Premier and Continental breakfasts (up to a maximum of 2 children, aged 15 and under, can eat breakfast free per adult purchasing a full breakfast) served within our hotel. A hearty evening meal, a light snack or a relaxing drink can be served at the Harvester restaurant.Please note: All our twin rooms consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Important info Our twin rooms consist of 1x double and 1x single bed. Directions: From the M6, exit at junction 7 and take the A34 towards Walsall. The hotel is on the left in Birmingham Road behind the Beacon Harvester restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr / m6, j7) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing