We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
east sussex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good budget Hotel”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I took my two boys to this hotel, one is 5 and the other 2 years old. I booked online and everything I asked for, was there, including a cot and a spare bed. With a restaurant attached to feed the kids on a Saturday night. We all slept well, without being disturbed, a good hotel for kids and families.

Room Tip: This hotel is set off the road so all rooms are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touringlampie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    175
    61
    14
    17
See reviews for
195
133
28
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

stayed at this hotel with my brother and his partner and our children, staff were friendly and helpful and accommodating. Ate in the Beefeater next door and the waitress and staff in the restaurant were really friendly and couldn't do enough to help, really good deals on too! kids ate free! also premier breakfast was buy one get one free and the kids ate free too, unbelieveable value! Very good all round and really enjoyed our stay would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Can't fault it really, clean & Comfortable with an excellent Bar/Restaurant attached very good for breakfast, worth the money

Room Tip: Try and get a room above the ground floor as can be slightly noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffcollins2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
247 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The premises shares a car park with TGI-Friday so drive past the purple signs and take the next left then left to access the back car-park, which contains plenty of spaces.

Check-in was quick and easy, the staff welcoming and efficient, which is what I've come to expect from Premier Inns. The room was freezing cold upon entry - cleaners had left the window open. Heating and cooling comes from an integrated blower at ceiling height above the door; it wasn't clear from the instructions if you were setting the blower temperature or the desired room temperature, but keeping the heating on at night is draughty and noisy.

Bathroom small but clean and functional, as always.

I didn't bother buying wireless in the rooms, I used the restaurant's WiFi for the evening - connectivity was sporadic (router to ISP, not netbook to router) so don't rely on it for business-critical use. I was in room 1 (ground floor) which meant that the restaurant's WiFi range extended to the room but being close to the restaurant link door meant disturbance later on from hotel guests entering/leaving the bar. After two nights of this (and a blinking LED in the ceiling-mounted smoke detector) I asked to be moved and got relocated to a room on the top floor. The desk clerk was kind enough to pack and move my belongings up prior to my return, and although the flashing LED on this smoke detector didn't face the bed the cleaners had still left the windows open, meaning returning to a cold room again.

In all, my stay was generally comfortable. I would return.

Room Tip: Internet access extends from restaurant into room 1 and 2, but they could be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PreacherKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Very good nights stay, comfortable beds and very friendly and helpful staff. Have a 2 year old daughter so they were very good with our requirements. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakhee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Premiere Inn was very clean, the staff was very polite and helpful. In the reception area there was music playing in the background which helped provide a relaxing mood. The room was a generous size and also had a modern feel to it. The bed was also comfortable and the availability of two pillows per guest was a big positive. The temperature was electronically controlled and again this also helped to give the impression that we were staying in more than just a budget hotel.The hotel is complimented with the nice bar and restaurant downstairs. Premiere Inn definitely challenges the bigger hotel names. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

stayed with husband and 2 daughters,not at all like the tv ads,our room smelt awful,very,very poor
beds bad,pillows bad,stainss on walls,felt like a cell

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
HI there, we are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us back in November, and we would like to look into the problems that you had. Please feel free to contact us at the hotel on 0121 452 5950 to discuss things further. I am sure that something could have been done for you on the day as Premier Inn does guarantee every guest a good night or we refund your money, so it is very important for us to get it right first time.
When you call ask to speak to Paul Ashton, he will be more than happy to help you and hopefully be able to salvage something from your stay.
Thank you for your review and comments, they are all important even the bad ones so we can act on the issues raised and hopefully improve the experience for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
565 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
421 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#81 of 118 in Birmingham
718 reviews
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Address: 176-184 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located in the affluent area of Edgbaston. We have our own Beefeater restaurant on site but are also within walking distance of at least 4 other popular restaurants. Our location is also convenient for Cadbury World, the QE Hospital and Birmingham University. We pride ourselves on giving the best possible service and have a lot of returning guests based on the personal touch that our team here offers. We cater for both business people and families and our restaurant now boasts free wifi. For further details and queries why don't you give us a call, we are always more than happy to help. The Team at Hagley Road Important info Please note, due to our central location the car park is very busy in the evening and throughout the weekend. Directions: Exit M6 (J6) turn onto Aston Express way (A38). Follow signs to City Centre, ICC and NIA and onto Broad St. From Birmingham centre - take the underpass to Hagley Rd, hotel is half a mile on your left. From M5 J3 continue on A456 for approx 3 miles, hotel carpark will be on the right (shared car park with TGI Friday's). Sat Nav - B16 9NY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Central Hagley Road Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing