We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, need more staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value, need more staff”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here to go to gig at NIA which was 10 min walk away. Good location for Bull Ring to. Room was clean and spacious. Only problem seemed they didn't have enough staff at busy times. Great value at £23 a room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    146
    69
    44
    28
See reviews for
68
133
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Really good value for the weekend. However, the distance from the main bar street meant we needed a taxi there and back and there weren't lots of food choices nearby. Roadworks on Sunday morning starting at 8am was horrendous and spoilt the stay, out of courtesy the hotel should have informed guests. There were three of us in each of the four rooms we booked but only 1 set of towels in the rooms which was annoying. One if the sofabeds was made up for us but other three weren't, not what you want to do when you get back after a night out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkHappytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear UkHappytripper. We’re really sorry to hear about the disruption outside the Hotel during your stay, we do attempt to reduce the noise outside the hotel the best we can by having double glazing and insulated walls. We are sorry you were not informed of this disturbance prior to your stay. We also do expect our rooms should be set up with the correct amount of towels and the sofa bed to be made up before your arrival, your feedback will be shared with our hotel staff which will help support any improvements that need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This Travelodge looks pretty new and as such is clean and smart and doesn't have the "seen better days" look that some other city Travelodges have. We booked it as it was close to the NIA and we were going to a concert there. It's about a 5 minute walk along the canalside to the arena, and the bars and restaurants near it. About a 10 to 15 minute walk from the centre of town. The staff were very helpful and friendly, even pretty late at night when we called into the bar for a drink after the concert. The room had a flat screen tv, tea and coffee making, and a double bed and sofa bed that converts to a single. The bathroom was clean and modern. We had a quiet and comfortable nights sleep and at just £21 for the room (we paid months in advance!) it was a great bargain. I'd definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mousepractice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for one night as we were going for a night out in Birmingham.
When we arrived about 8pm, I was very worried because the people at the check-in in front of us were arguing with the staff as there were no rooms left apparently even though they had booked it. I was ready to go insane as I had been charged for the room already and otherwise we'd be roaming the streets of Birmingham without anywhere to stay! When it was our turn however the man said 'we only have twin rooms left'. This was fine by me as I was staying with a friend. So that was a relief. But I'm not sure what kind of place would overbook? We physically couldn't arrive any earlier so I guess if you don't turn up in time they just give your room to someone else? It's not very reassuring.

Anyway, our room was very clean, the beds were very comfy, the facilities were very good. I cannot fault the room itself! It was easy to locate and it was close to the club we were visiting on our night out. The staff were friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks for your review Jack R, it’s really good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We can confirm that on the rare occasion where customers need to be relocated our hotel staff will attempt to make the process as smooth as possible. Our hotel staff are trained in how to deal with such situations and will always try to reduce the impact on the customer by finding suitable alternative accommodation as close by to the hotel as possible and we will cover the cost of any additional travel expenses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on Wednesday night and couldn't fault my stay. I stay in Birmingham a lot and feel I have stated in almost every hotel in the city! This was my first stay at the Newhall Street Travelodge. I think it was the manager and assistant manager that checked me in - both were very friendly and welcoming which was what you want at the end of a long day!

The room was basic but to be honest had everything you need for a couple of nights. Good size too - bigger than some hotels in the city that you pay double the price for and the bed really comfy!

Do make sure you bring some shampoo with you as it's not supplied - you do get the smallest bar of soap in the world though!

I didn't have breakfast but did have some Nachos for dinner - good size portion and less than a fiver!

I just parked outside, free between 6pm and 8 - so just paid a bit for what I needed but the folks on reception had said you get a discount at the nearby NCP.

If your planning to go into the city you are just 5-10 minute walk to both Newstreet and Broadstreet!

Will defiantly use this hotel again when next in Birmingham, which won't be too long!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GonzalesPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Now - a Travelodge is a Travelodge. But I must admit my stay in this Travelodge was a pleasant stay. The highlight was the bed....very very comfortable. The lowlight was the WiFi - paid for in advance it was such a fuss to log into it every time I turned on my laptop. The extras were basic - i.e one small bar of soap and that's it! Bathroom was your standard Travelodge bathroom with a good sized shower.Within a 5 min walk to The Library and The Rep - it was ideal for my stay. There was a car park about 100yds away at a cost of £6 per 24 hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ieu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is in a good location. The front desk staff was polite, friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was good and as advertised unlimited all you can eat.
The room was clean, spacious and the bed comfortable.
Ten minute walk would put you in the city centre and great shopping area or a five minute taxi ride you can visit the largest library in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#49 of 117 in Birmingham
681 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
950 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#30 of 117 in Birmingham
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Saint Pauls House
#70 of 117 in Birmingham
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street

Property: Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street
Address: Travelodge 80 Charlotte Street | off Newhall Street, Birmingham B3 1PW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing