We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap hotel with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel with good location”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a recently refurbished travelodge. The rooms are basic, but adequate and a bargain for the price we paid. Location is good. We had to wait 15 minutes for our room to be ready, but reception were helpful and friendly. We'd pre-booked breakfast, as they didn't have many bookings this was cooked to order. This wasn't great, sausages were hard and orange juice was horrible. I'd have breakfast elsewhere in future. Nice pub on the corner called the Queens Arms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flossierobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    142
    61
    43
    26
See reviews for
61
129
27
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I had a lovely room - they have been refurbished.
Perfect buffet breakfast.
Clean hotel.
The staff offer the best service I've ever received from a travelodge.
They sorted out our room issue promptly - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOUISE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

very friendly staff,
someone about, at all times
would recommend.
bed super com fee. tea & coffee, kettle in room, perfect to finish a long journey , was great to jump into shower clean towels to hand.
tv, easy to use, great to unwind x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Kelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

So, normally I boom a different chain of hotels as I've never really been impressed with travelodge, but this was booked for me, first impressions I must say we're fantastic,

I think this is a newly refurbished hotel as the room was very nice, new bed, tv, freshly painted etc, so all good!

First off tv remote didn't work. So got it replaced, fine, then I wanted an ironing board and iron, given an iron which was all burnt, no board as the staff said that they were very busy at that point so all the boards were out, so had one brought up to room, which again was ok.

So next morning I come down for the buffet breakfast and get told by a different member of the team as the hotel was very quiet the night before we will just cook you a plate if food, (I thought I couldn't get an ironing board as the hotel was busy)??

Just disappointed with the breakfast, bacon obviously microwaved as it was rock solid, had enough scrambled egg to sink a battleship, sausages were ok, juice machine was eventually turned on and god knows if the juice is watered down or what, as the orange or apple juice was completely tasteless.

Staff were smiley and happy, but as I said this hotel could be and should be so much better than it is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobmcquarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear bobmcquarrie, we’re really sorry to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. Irons and iron boards are available from reception and it is regrettable that the iron was not in a good condition. We also want our customers to enjoy their breakfasts and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with is. All of our hotel staff are trained to prepare all meals to a good standard and we will ensure our Hotel Management team address these issues at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great staff, really helpful and welcoming, especially when we accidentally set the help alarm off at five in the morning and a staff member waited for ages for us to finally go to the door
Lovely rooms
Nice showers
Really clean
Comfortable beds


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jackson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Where do i begin?!?! Stayed in Birmingham for one night in a group of 9 so booked 3 family rooms which allegedly sleep three. After an early arrival we were told we had to pay an extra £10 per room for an early check in even though the rooms had been cleaned and were ready for us. We refused to pay the £30 they wanted so paid £10 for one room and put everyones bags into the one room until later.
After a long day enjoying the sights of Broad Street we returned to the hotel after midnight and made our way to our rooms. The rooms were unbelievably hot and uncomfortable without any form of cooling system. With there being three to each room, you would expect to have either a double bed and a single made up or three single beds made up. What each room had was a double bed made up to a high standard and a pull out matress from a sofa. this would have been fine apart from it had no bedding on the matress and there was no bedding to be found in the room. Couple this with the fact the matress was covered in dubious looking stains I was not impressed that i had drawn the short straw to sleep on the filthy matress.
I went down to reception where i was met by two of my party from their rooms who were in the same predicament as i was. We spoke to the night porter who agreed to arrange for bedding to be brought to the rooms. After 20 mins i was still waiting so went back down to reception to find out what was going on...the night porter was not about so went back to the room to use the toilet. Low and behold and unbelievably there was no toilet paper in the room whatsoever!!!! Back down to reception where i eventually bumped into the poor night porter in the lift. He was carrying all the bedding so went back to the room with him to make up the bed...Mentioned the lack of toilet paper but this never materialised...shocking!!!
After eventually getting to sleep at 3am following the debarcle we were up at 8am to leave. We decided on a shower to wake us up. There was no shower curtain so the bathroom resembled a wetroom by the end of it and we found that the room only had one towel in there between the three of us...I ended up using the bedding that had been brought up only hours earlier to dry myself.
Down to reception to complain...they were apologetic and took my details to pass to the manager for a personal call to be made as by this point i was extremely annoyed. This was over a week ago...im still awaiting my call...shocking!!!!!

After previously having a decent stay at travelodges around the country....I will never stay at one again!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forrest_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Forrest_1959, we are truly sorry to hear of your disappointment during your recent stay. Our check in time is 3pm across all of our hotels, however we do offer a early check in service which costs £10.00 and allows our customers to check in from 12 noon. It is unfortunate you found your room to be too warm on this occasion. Whilst we do not provide air conditioning in this hotel, we do offer fans to try and make your stay more comfortable. These are available from reception at anytime. We do expect our rooms to be set up correctly for the number of occupants and we would like to contact you so we can provide a resolution. To help us please can you use the ‘contact us’ section on our website and please click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting the form.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at this Travelodge during the week on business the room was great, nice and clean and good design. Please to have a shower that had power and the head was not facing the wall, bed was comfortable and room a good size. Good value for money a bit away from the City centre but not to far from the commercial area and bars are just down the road in St Pauls square there also loads of parking in the area. Will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1111Ipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,126 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint Pauls House
#69 of 118 in Birmingham
145 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
1,049 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street

Property: Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street
Address: Travelodge 80 Charlotte Street | off Newhall Street, Birmingham B3 1PW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing