We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Jojolapa Nepalese Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #193 of 2,246 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hungry Brummies looking for a cosy-chic space for stylish cocktail parties and dinner parties need look no further than Jojolapa on Newhall Street. This Nepalese restaurant has a sleek interior decorated with dark wood, a black and red colour scheme, intricately carved Buddhas and an abundance of fresh flowers. Jojolapa which means 'welcome' in Nepalese has a family-run feel and the attentive staff and killer menu will have you coming back for more. Signature dishes include the Momo soup a chicken dim sum broth with seasonal vegetables and noodles; the nariwal jal turay curry with spiced cod, coconut milk and cream; and everyone's favourite the chicken tikka masala.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Just love this restaurant. I've eaten in many Indian and Nepalese restaurants over the years and this is just exceptional.
A colleague and I tried it whilst on Birmingham on business and it has been a pleasure ever since.
My next visit will be my 12th. Each meal has been a pure delight. The waiter is brilliant and helpful, the chef is clearly a master of his trade.
Prices are reasonable I'd say, but you get plenty of it so you will not go home hungry!
Please try it. I've introduced about 15 or so colleagues to it now who all love it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMightyBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    96
    28
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spice up your life and enjoy the ambience, decor and lighting at Jojolapa”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I truly enjoyed my meal, the wide menu selection, superb staff, spacious surroundings and the whole relaxing and cultural experience at this central Birmingham restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Last Minute Booking That Made the Night”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I'm not a review person, but enjoyed the meal here so much I found it worthy of public praise.
Made a late booking on Saturday whilst having drinks in Birmingham with my wife and brother and sister in laws. The atmosphere here is lovely, the staff very attentive, and the food is excellent, especially the tandoori salmon starter. All meals were tasty, well presented, and great value. Just try not to tune your ears into the background music!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Nepalese restaurant”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a great restaurant. Slightly outside of the main city centre, probably why not so many people know about it but easy to walk to. Pleasant decor and very attentive and friendly staff - but the best thing is the food which is stunning! The menu is varied and all of our party were really impressed with their meals, we had starters, main course and a dessert. The flavours were amazing. We will definitively go again. Not expensive either, considering the quality of the food it was great value for money

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Von1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic experience for my birthday”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I recently had my birthday party at this restaurant for 26 people and had such a great time. The food was amazing and the staff so helpful in advising my friends on what to try and enjoy. The whole evening was fault less. Thank you so very much for making my day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatchOsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jojolapa Nepalese Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Jojolapa Nepalese Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing