We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and tranquillity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke
Ranked #2 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and tranquillity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

I attended a weekend course at Woodbrooke - it is a peaceful and tranquil place to stay. Excellent food and lovely surroundings, and only 20 minutes or so outside Birmingham City centre. Remember that Woodbrooke is principally a conference centre, so it doesn't offer quite the same service and facilities as a hotel. As a Quaker establishment however it is actually better than many hotels and B and Bs!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilary1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    29
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
18
74
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed at woodbrooke for a training course with my employer and was pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious, my room comfortable and the gardens and grounds were out of this world.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah4774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

I've been coming to Woodbrooke for 20 years. During that time it has improved beyond recognition yet still kept its quiet calm Quaker ethos. Ok, I'll declare my colours in that I am a Quaker and I was there most recently for a Quaker conference but what I love about the place is its appeal to a much wider audience. Steeped in Quaker history, I believe Woobrooke offers something to everyone.

It's great to see it now marketing itself as both B&B and conference venue. Both essential to keep it going but also an opportunity to share this wonderful green oasis in the midst of suburban Birmingham with its superb grounds and wonderful organic garden.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JollyGreenGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

We knew this wasn't going to be a luxury hotel. A few more improvements could make all the difference.

Plus points:
- excellent garden / grounds
- friendly staff
- quirky, period house
- clean

Need improving:
- meal times - not flexible enough (e.g. breakfast ends 08.30!)
- 'institutional' atmosphere: feels a bit like a boarding school on hard times
- double glazing: our room was close to the busy Bristol Road, yet was not double-glazed; plus, even the old single-glazed windows did not close properly, letting in cold and noise; ear-plugs are definitely needed for light sleepers;
- staff training: volunteer staff were even unsure how to collect payment at the end of our stay!
- no shampoo / bath soap provided

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoppyEu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVizor, Marketing Manager at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, it is greatly appreciated. We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations this time and would like to assure you that all of your comments will be taken on board. To respond to your comments:

Breakfast Times - Breakfast is scheduled to finish at 8.30am in order for Quaker visitors to attend meeting for worship, but we understand that non-Quaker guests may find this an inconvenience. We try our best to accommodate the needs of all our guests and can serve breakfast later if requested. After reading your comments we will be consulting with the catering team to see if we can offer breakfast service until 9am as the norm.

Atmosphere - As a residential college, some aspects of the building and systems will most certainly have the feel of an educational environment, but with the huge investment we have made over the last 10 years to improve the building, refurbish bedrooms and improve standards we were very disappointed to read your comments about our atmosphere. We are always trying to give our guests a pleasant, relaxing and enjoyable stay and would welcome further clarification from you on the areas that give you this impression, in order that we can address the issues.

Double Glazing – In recent years, we have updated the double glazing in almost all of the Bristol Road side bedrooms. The improvement of those on Quality Street is in our on-going refurbishment schedule. As a Grade 2 listed building however, the solutions available for windows as big as these are limited.

Volunteers - Our volunteer staff do an excellent job but do on occasion struggle with some aspects of our administration whilst covering out of office hours. This is something we’re currently working on and we hope that as you’ve noted the staff as friendly, this experience did not mar your feeling that all of our staff were eager to help as best they could.

Shampoo/Shower Gel – We do try and let all guests know before arrival that shampoo is not yet available in the bedrooms. However, this is something we are planning to implement as soon as an eco-friendly and cost-effective source is found.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you to Woodbrooke again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at Woodbroke for a two day conference. The rooms and facilities are first rate and the staff can't do enough to help. Meals are buffet style with a good choice of dishes. Woodbroke is ideal for a peace and quiet stay and has a beautiful tranquil ambience. The grounds are beautifully maintained. You would not think that Woodbroke is situated only a couple of miles from Birmingham city centre.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jb00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

I stayed at Woodbrooke because I had an early conference in Brum the next day. It was nice to be there again, though I didn't get a chance to walk round the garden because it got dark so early. The new ensuites are nice, and the volunteers as friendly as ever.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank martini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

We booked Woodbroke having checked Tripadvisor and were not dissapointed. Woodbroke is set in a lovely garden/park, very beautiful, a real old English country house and garden with flowers and herbs/vegetables.Very tranquil and quiet with plenty of fresh air (this is needed in Brum). Close to Bournville village, nice area to explore and also close to Sainsbury's on the Bristol Road, 1km (north direction) . Very good English breakfast, with healthy selection of fruit, muesli etc. Rooms very clean and nicely furnished, one of the rooms had a televsion set (flat screen) although the other room did not . We are not Quakers, but this wasn't a problem, on the contrary they are in line with the modern world as it should be today; peace, healthy food, environment friendly etc. We did pick all the leaflefs on display to read, which added to our stay, there is even an interesting library with lovely seating. Lunch and dinner is also available (with veggies from the garden), reasonably priced.
Christina McCollum, Malmö, Sweden

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaMcCollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
The Beeches
#89 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke

Property: Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke
Address: 1046 Bristol Road | Woodbrooke, Birmingham B29 6LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not take a short break in our peaceful urban retreat? Enjoy the 10 acres of beautiful organically-managed garden, explore the Grade 2 listed building and taste our delicious home cooked food. Woodbrooke is located in Selly Oak, only a few minutes by train from Birmingham city centre. Half/Full board also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing