We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dim but tasty”
Review of Piccolino

Piccolino
Ranked #332 of 2,204 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $18 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Description: Overlooking Oozells Square, next to the Ikon Gallery at Brindleyplace, Piccolino is an Italian restaurant and bar in Birmingham that offers an abundant and diverse menu that captures the spirit of the best Italian trattoria. With its red leather upholstery, wood panelling and a Neapolitan wood fired oven fronting an open kitchen, the interior of Piccolino Birmingham is warm and inviting. In addition, the outdoor terrace provides the perfect spot to enjoy a bellini or light bite whilst you relax under the summer sun. Open from 11:00 until late, Piccolino Birmingham brings fresh, authentic Italian food to the city and is the ideal meeting place for lunch, dinner or after work drinks.
Isle of Wight, England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dim but tasty”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This place seems to have crept upmarket (at least price wise) in the years since it occupied the space vacated by Petit Blanc. It also seems more genuinely Italian, unless the staff have been given language coaching. Lots of Italian being spoken. However the food was good, and the service prompt and friendly. My wife pronounced her sea bass amongst the best she has had. In the evening the place is not for the retinally challenged - if your receptors are not 100%, bring a torch!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miketap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    322
    197
    113
    121
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dont go alone!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

this was my first solo diner experience ever. restaurant looks beautiful inside and out, lovely atmosphere, several diners and a few empty tables when i visited on sunday evening at 7pm ish. 'table for one'.... i was seated near a sideboard and the till,in a corner. away from other diners and therefore any chance of passing conversation.. poor lighting ensured i was unable to read my book so the waitress ensured i really was alone. the waiter was pleasant .for £12+ i ordered a seafood risotto. delicious but short on ingredients, 4 large prawns, 3 squid rings and 4 tiny mussels which i'm sure were too small to be harvested. regular size glass of white wine £5.75.....would i go again.... no

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Middlesbrough21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing main course and service”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The biggest disappointment was the piece of dry chicken with a half hearted attempt of rosemary seasoning ( which couldn't be tasted!)accompanied by a lemon half that came served as my main course. Dispite it's unappealing appearance one half of the chicken was moist enough to eat though had no apparent flavour, the other half being far too dry. After explaining to the waiter I wasn't happy he didn't offer a change of meal so I requested a sauce which was to the same poor standard as the chicken.

Desert then took nearly 40 mins to arrive with ice cream scoops that had half melted. On later discussion the waiter admitted our group of four had been forgotten about.

Overall The other meals oordered were nice as was the starter but the response to dissatisfaction was not handled in an appropriate manner and there was a severe lack in timely service; a three course meal for four people took over three hours!
Even at the end they didn't have the courtesy to deduct my half eaten dry meal from the bill!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonallad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have eaten in the Newcastle Piccolino, but found the Birmingham outlet less impressive. Service seemed rather casual and the food was uninspiring for the price. The menu is the same as Newcastle of course, so perhaps I just made an unlucky selection. I had king prawns as a starter and these were fine, but ordinary, although the portion was quite generous. The porcini mushroom sauce with my escalopes looked rather muddy and had insufficient flavour to lift the dish as a whole. The accompanying glass of Sauvignon was poor, though not off, so I did not feel I could send it back - simply a bad choice by the wine buyer. Overall I was left disappointed and you can certainly do much better in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We were out looking for a good pizza, and thought will check Piccolino since it was nicely located near our hotel. The place is was packed and had à table outside. Staff were friendly and very accommodating. We ordered two pizza and a bottle of wine. The wine was too expensive and the food was not cheap either. However the worse thing was the pizza. It was ok..but nothing special. For the price we paid, would have liked something more decent, not equivalent of à frozen pizza.

Helpful?
Thank estranjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolino also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Piccolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing