We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oriental - CLOSED

The Oriental
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Ladywood
london
Level Contributor
565 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“good but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

the staff finished our evening for us !! By that I mean they couldn't wait for us to leave even though it wasn't late, and made it very obvious that we should go. I really don't like that behaviour. It was 11.15 or so, and we should have been left to finish naturally.
I like the interior of this place specially. The food is pretty reasonable, but not exceptional. Would have had a "4" if it wasn't for our experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    51
    47
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The food was extremely tasty and well prepared. Nice portions, not too small and no wastage from over sized portions. Service was good, although I did have to wait for drinks a little longer than I hoped.

Only down side was that every table had knives and forks. When I eat in a Chinese, I prefer chopsticks. I tried, but failed to get the waiters attention before the food started cooling, so ate with a fork anyway.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Deep Fried Hair”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had previously had a great experience there. The staff are friendly but no very attentive or receptive. I found a hair in two different dishes prepared at the same time and brought out at the same time. Despite the dishes being in the middle of the table and the hair being clearly on top of one dishes and at the bottom of the other, the manager/owner refused to take full responsibility. She was extrememly rude and insinuated the hair was ours despite it being a different colour, length and texture. She then asked us to pay for half of the dish that we'd found a hair at the bottom of. Poor service and hygiene

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RestaurantCritic828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My friend and I have tried to visit this restaurant in the Mailbox on numerous occasions but it has always been so busy, so we booked a table and were very impressed. The staff were extremely welcoming, the choice was overwhelming, and the food was delicious and cooked to perfection. I had the chicken teryaki and it was gorgeous.

We will definitely be returning and I am recommending it to everyone I see!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SHG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Regular chinese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We tried the tasting menu with 3 courses (3 starters and 3 main courses), which included spring rolls, prawns and pork ribs then thai chicken, beef teryaki and vegetables, nothing really exceptional.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fla-Tathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oriental also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing