We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Pizza Express had its day?”

Pizza Express - Birmingham The Citadel
Ranked #481 of 2,192 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Has Pizza Express had its day?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Walking into the vast almost empty restaurant, the manager apologised for the cold room and promptly removed the floor-standing blow heater which he 'puts on in the mornings to take the chill off'. It hasn't worked. Brrrrr.

The menu hasn't changed too much over the years but some new additions include mushroom bruschetta (tasty), coleslaw (vile vile vile) and polenta chips (piping hot and with a delicious mustard sauce).

In general, the food was okay but really overpriced (even with the plethora of discount vouchers that readily available). The converse of this is the child's meal (circa £6 for three courses and a bambinocino); which my little man tucked into with gusto.

We left the restaurant £60 lighter, full of carbs and vowing that we wouldn't return as there are much better places to spend our hard-earned dosh.

Has Pizza Express had its day? We think so.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Williams_Mamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    30
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Looking for some where to eat and was walking past the pizza express and saw they had plenty of free tables we went in greeted by nice friendly staff shown to a nice clean table food was good service good as well

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's a Pizza Express........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

What can you say about a Pizza Express? They are all very 'samey' though the staff were very friendly. Great if you have Tesco vouchers to use on food, o range if you take advantage of the regular offers they have.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

What made our experience was the staff. Lovely happy relaxed yet professional staff with good banter!

Thank u!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBellz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worst Pizza Express Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I love Pizza Express - especially with Tesco Clubcard vouchers - but this has got to be the worst Pizza Express I've ever eaten in. Waitress had appalling BO. Requested pizza with really crispy pancetta. Pizza came lukewarm with hardly any pancetta on it and that wasn't at all crispy. Avoid!

Helpful?
Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express - Birmingham The Citadel also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Pizza Express - Birmingham The Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing