We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE FOR STAY AND PARK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Wales
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE FOR STAY AND PARK”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have just spent a night at this hotel for £55.80 including eight days parking. It's on the NEC site five minutes walk from the railway station with it's free monorail to Birmingham Airport. The hotel itself is clean, functional and rooms are not a bad size for a night. Minor niggles about our room was no remote for TV, one light not working and the laminate floor required attention but that didn't detract from the overall good value and convience. Full hot buffet breakfast is available from 7 am for £10 and evening meals are also served as well as a bar.
To get this price go into Money Saving Expert and then the link to Holiday Extras.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFGWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your park and fly stay. You can also book direct on www.encorenec.co.uk to obtain the very best rates when reserving the room and parking in the future.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    493
    350
    149
    93
See reviews for
158
508
74
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portpatrick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have been staying at this hotel when attending the NEC Spring Fair for the last few years, usually for four nights. As with all the hotels in area the price rises significantly during shows and exhibitions and this year we were charged £192.00 per night for a room that sleeps 3 plus £7.50 per night for parking, steep for 3* but it is very convenient for the NEC has a bar and the food is good .Our room 111 we have used before and is warm and comfortable although the sink was blocked and although made up to sleep 3 there was only 2 cups and towels for two.We reported this to reception but nothing was done that night.The next morning we again reported the above to reception before attending the show for the day. On returning to the room tired at 7pm we found it unserviced and sink still blocked another trip to reception eventually resolving the sink but had to make do with hand towels ,make own beds and dispose of rubbish etc ourselves.Following day we had the towels and cup provided but laminate floor seemed to be sticky and appeared streaky and the smell we thought was the sink remained.On packing up the fifth day my wife found an old paper carrier bag containing half eaten food and chips in the corner of the room behind a curtain that had been left by a previous occupant which explained the smell in the room.
Sorry to say that we will probably not be returning which is a shame as in the past we have found this an excellent venue. When paying 4* prices you expect a service to go with it and it appears the housekeeping standards have fallen dramatically lately.Hopefully things will improve so we will be keeping an eye on the reviews.Have given a three review on the basis the food was good and it is within walking distance of the NEC.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortLoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
I apologize sincerely for the shortfall in service you were provided with during your stay. This is not our usual standard based on the excellent feedback we receive from guests regarding the cleanliness of the hotel, of which the housekeeping team is very proud of.

I hope you do stay for a fifth year next year to give us the opportunity to meet your expectations and give you the experience you have been used to for the previous three years you have stayed with us.

Hope you had a successful show during Spring Fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My Mother and I stayed at this hotel, as part of a package tour to see Andre Reiu. Whilst we didn't expect The Ritz, the hotel interior was a pleasant surprise. Especially the bar/restaurant area.
Our only real gripe was our bedroom.
When we arrived, we checked in and went to our room. It was absolutely freezing cold, not chilly but freezing. We were unable to get any heat in the room.
We went downstairs to reception, who sent someone to check it out.
We had a hot drink in the bar area.
When we returned to the room, the heating had been fixed but the room was still very cold.
My Mother is in her 70's and was too cold to have a shower, which was distressing for her.
Why, when the hotel knew this room was booked for guests, did they not have the room at least warm for our arrival !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VEUVE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We do throughout the winter months, set the heating to 21' in all rooms that we are expecting guests to use. I apologize sincerely that this was not the case on this occasion. As well as the air conditioning system we also have a back up of a wall heater in each of our bedrooms.

I hope you enjoyed the concert. We hope to see you again her at Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC, perhaps the next time Andre Reiu is playing at the LG Arena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
214 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great value and a brilliant location.Probably one of the best value hotels in a long time. There was a nice bar and the food was ok too. The guy at reception could not have been more helpful and the wi-fi was good and speedy. If you can get the same deal as me and are looking for a place very close to the NEC or airport then I would book it quick!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rougeradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We are so pleased we met with your expectations and look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have been stsying here on a business trip and there are both pros and cons to this hotel

pros
-good location to nec
-friendly staff
-clean rooms
-food and drink reasonably priced

cons
- i havent slept properly in 4 nights the room is so noisy it seems to get louder each night. I have checked thewindow several times to make sure it is not open
- when i came back to my room just after it had been cleaned it smelt really badly of BO from the cleaner. I had to open the window and leave the room until the smell subsided.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I have passed your feedback on to our head housekeeper to address the issue of BO smell when re-entering your room.

I am so pleased to hear that you found the hotel clean with friendly staff and our menu met with your expectations.

We are a great location regarding proximity to Birmingham Airport, The NEC and Birmingham International Train Station. The down side of this is noise levels can be an issue for very light sleepers although please ask for a car park side room when booking as these do tend to be quieter. However, the noise levels don't pose too much of a problem for the majority of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for one night prior to an early morning flight last September. We had an evening meal which was very nice and well priced.The room was very clean and the staff were very polite and efficient. We left our car in the car park for our week's holiday in Greece and on return we just had to go to the desk for the security number for the barrier. We have booked again for our holiday this coming May and have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel for convenience of location to airport, you can walk to the monorail terminal in less than 5 mins or a taxi is just £5. The whole package is excelent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park to cut down on noise from heavy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We look forward to seeing you in May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Hotel is very nice but it is not very well signposted.
While it is within walking distance of Birmingham Airport, I would not be inclined to walk to it at night as it appears to be in the middle of an industrial estate

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Maurice275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding the signage from the Airport. We are in constant communication with the NEC Management in an attempt to improve the signage for our guests convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Property: Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing