We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #61 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend break”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Smart hotel, easy to find, well appointed and very helpful staff. Great restaurant for both breakfast & lite meals! Comfy rooms and the triple actually had a bed (not sofa)!! Much appreciated. Hotel is clean & tidy offering lots for a weekend break - 20 mins from Birmingham - great to come back to after the hustle of the city!!

Room Tip: No real views from back but is in industrial estate so was very quiet at weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edbexloucris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encorenecmgr, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Glad to read you enjoyed your weekend here at the Hotel and in the City. I hope that we will see you back again - there's plenty more in easy reach of here- Warwick, Coventry,Cadbury World, Tamworth Snowdome to name a few.

Regards,

Alison Harrison
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    515
    357
    153
    94
See reviews for
169
528
77
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have stayed here a few times before as they do have a comfy bed ,basic but clean and adequate rooms with a decent shower and an excellent breakfast and now a free car park. Free wifi in the bar area but no good in the guest rooms but that's quick usual the world over.I would have rated this stay higher if it wasn't for the unnecessary fuss in trying to get a bog standard room like usual. The first room were given was on the roadside and you could here the road traffic with the windows closed before we even opened the curtains. So now back to reception and now up to the 3rd floor for a room with a spare bed stuck right into the middle of the room. So back to reception and here we go again can I please have a room that doesn't have a spare bed as an ornament in the middle of the room or a room so close to the hard shoulder of a near motorway, just a simple hotel room with a double bed please. So at the 3rd attempt so by now 6 times in and out of the lift with our bags we arrive at our room. No it's not the room type we requested and paid in advance for, it has a spare bed we don't want but at least it's stuck in an alcove,the 3 pence a square metre plastic laminate flooring is all knackered outside of the bathroom, there's a strange chemical smell as you walk in but it's clean,has 2 windows so its bright in sunlight but what with a tiny ceiling spotlight the whole area even with all 4 other wall or reading light options on it is a proxy lilt room when the goes down but by now our resistance has deserted us,we know better next time so it will have to do. So bags unpacked, quick wash and sparkle and down to the bar lounge for a relaxing drink. Sat there on sofa for 10 mins ignored by the 4 staff around the near empty bar so realized I would have to go to them and ask, can I please have 2 drinks. Booked them to my room ,here's my room card but no sir it will have to be cash, it's not that e don't trust you it's because you have prepaid your room and the front desk staff have not considered you may require a facility to spend more moneys at the hotel facilities like the bar or the restaurant , I mean it's not rocket science to work out that if you have the customers credit card details he can't run away without paying, every other hotel in the word I have stayed at has worked that one out but not here, just send the customer in and out of 3 proxy room options till his resistance has collapsed and then when we wants a drink to relax let him go back and forth to find an alternative method of payment. Other than that it usually is good value for money and trouble free but doubt if I will chance it he again as it really was a lot of unnecessary hassle after a 3 hour drive.

Room Tip: Don't accept the road side, the glazing is far too poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank licksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encorenecmgr, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your detailed posting and my apologies that it took three attempts to find a satisfactory rrom away from the road but there are only a few just doubel rooms on that side of the Hotel.

With regards to a credit card - yes Reception should have asked if you wanted to leave a pre-authourisation for an account, however, credit card companies will not accept charges without a chip use and if your pre payemnt would have been taken and the information not accesible by all staff due to data protection. Other Hotels that do have this accessible and able to use coul dhave serious security issues.

Regards,

Alison Harrison
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caistor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just booked one night here and left the car for 2 weeks included in the price of £59 for double room. The room was pretty standard with TV, computer point and decent shower room. Only a double bed, though, not king size. However it was cheap and clean and good value. It is a 5 minute walk from the Birmingham International Train Station and the electric free train which takes you to the airport. Every guest in the hotel were roomed in consecutive rooms, however, and with comings and goings all night did not make for a good nights sleep. The doors bang and it really echoes.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGray9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encorenecmgr, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Many thanks for the posting.

We do try and put all guests going to the airport as close to the lift and reception as we can to avoid disturbing those that do not need to go to the airport early.

I do hope that you enjoyed your holiday and to book tha package again - please call us on 01217805900.

Alison Harrison
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed the night before flying from Birmingham airport the stay including parking, excellent service at reception and a comfortable room. When we returned we had a major problem with our car and it took 5 hours before we were on our way home. The staff at reception were so helpful, told us to take a paper and sit in comfort in the bar area. We had tea and coffee and all the staff were really concerned about our welfare, in particular Jeremy in the restaurant who really went the extra mile to make us feel comfortable, thank you so very much. This level of service is thin on the ground these days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scimitar103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encorenecmgr, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Sorry to hear that your holiday had a difficult ending but taht we did teh best we could to east the situation.
Jeremy will be put forward for our team star nomination.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you again when holidaying - our direct reservations number is 01217805900.

Regards,

Alison Harrison
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Would like to thank Sarah and reception for being helpful, Jeremy for sorting out somewhere for us to make banners for the xfactor tour and dealing quickly with small problem with the put you up bed. All the staff were lovely, food was lovely, rooms immaculate, easy quick walk to NEC arena positively coming back for next show we come to see. BIG THANK YOU TO YOU ALL from your guests in 227 and 228

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encorenecmgr, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Great to read your comments, particularly for the two staff members - they will be nominated for our next quarters staff award.'hoep you enjoyed the show too!

Alison Harrison
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A friend and I stayed the night before a show we were attending at the NEC. I was not expecting much after reading other reviews. I was plesently suprised. The rooms were spotless not too small and just accross the road from the NEC. Breakfast was vast with many options. With the parking included in the hotel price it was excellent value and ideal for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encorenecmgr, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post this and give your view of our service and 'hope you are able to come back soon to another show!

Regards,

Alison Harrison
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melplash
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

my wife and i went to the bike show at the nec meeting a friend up there,having read some reviews of this hotel i was a bit dubious but we found it very good value its not the ritz but its not ritz prices.
as for the price of parking,if you are going to the nec then being able to park at the hotel for the day is good value and is within very easy walking distance.
overall a good place to stay for any show.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madherbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encorenecmgr, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your time in writing this and highlight just how convenient we are to the NEC for others visiting. I do hoep we can welcome you back again.

Regards

Alison Harrison
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Property: Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing