We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for NEC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #59 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel for NEC”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for one night while working at the NEC. The room was clean and a good size compared to some I've had, it actually had a sofa so i didn't have to sit on the bed night. The staff were friendly and happy to help. A good option for the arena.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    504
    355
    152
    93
See reviews for
165
524
74
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

One night stay for the Good Food Show. We paid £90 via Late Rooms. Slightly more than I wanted to pay but we could park up at the hotel and be in the NEC within 2 mins on foot. That was well worth the £90. The receptionists were friendly. The rooms were spacious and airy. Very clean. Beds and bedding were clean. Bathroom spotless, say bath room its actually a wet room which i prefer. Fluffy bright white towels, six in total for one night!!! Tea and coffee making facilities. TV and radio also a hairdryer. Good nights sleep too. This hotel is also perfect for the airport. Did not eat at the hotel due to early start next day to go home. Would definitely stay again if visiting the NEC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squwelchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was greeted by a lovely receptionist who was more than happy to do all she could to help me, including booking me into my room several hours early and booking a taxi. The room was basic and the laminate flooring made it feel more like student accommodation than a comfy hotel room but it was very clean and had everything I needed. The only down sides were the service at breakfast and the location. There seemed to be only two people serving/observing, a manager and a waiter but it was difficult to get their attention or find them at times. The location was also remote to say the least. Without a car you would have to get a taxi or walk to the train station, but as a lone female in winter I would not recommend the walk; the alternative is to be stuck at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Booked this hotel as near train station and airport for one night before flying. As we came out of station we followed signs to NEC hotels , great, had there been another sign to say where to go for Ramada but there wasnt, we ended up walking for almost an hour in an extremely large circle in the wind luckily no rain this was after asking directions from 3 different workers at the NEC complex, Tip: from inside station steps turn right ,walk short distance take first lift on the left and its a 5 minute walk which is signposted , this is through an isolated area , so wouldnt have been very happy with this if a woman on own.
The staff were friendly and breakfast was good but the room was large and cold also very dim lights, the rain also came through the window which were shut but this was in exceptionally bad wind and rainy weather.
Would use again in summer months but not in Winter

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimB027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel I would describe as a value range hotel, on the outside it is very pleasant
with a large car parking area. The reception area is also very nice with welcoming staff.
The breakfast is very good, it was a self service buffet with a good selection of
English breakfast items. The part that lets this hotel down is the rooms, they could do
with a good overhaul, having said that they do have everything you need and the rooms are
very quiet considering how close you are to the airport. If you can get a good price and
you are only staying for one night it is worth while considering staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbnetherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked a 1 night stay here as we were going to a concert at the LG Arena and wanted something within walking distance.

There were plenty of car parking spaces and they charged for this at reception but was for a 24 hour period and while i cant remember exactly what it cost, it wasn't a lot and definately less than £10.

Reception staff were busy but seemed to spend ages checking every guest in and while its obviously nice to be polite, sometimes what you want is them to just hurry up rather than making small talk with each person at the front of the queue.

We only got 2 pillows in the room so had to ring down to get more sent up. Nothing came so rang again an hour later and this time we got brought up 2 more straight away but i thought it was a little odd only having 2 pillows in a double room to start with.

The rooms were an ample size and the bathrooms had a nice shower in themrather than a bath. The room we stayed in was fairly small but they seemed to have used the space well. The only thing i would say is the tv was so small you could hardly see it when you were in bed so we ended up putting the radio on to listen too.

You could walk to the LG arena, it probably took about 10 minutes at a steady pace. Not sure i would fancy doing it if there hadn't been any men in our group as you are walking through quite isolated paths near to trucks parked up for the night so the visability isnt great. You could get taxi's though and i cant imagine it costing much as would have taken less than 5 minutes. Walking back was actually probably safer as there were several people walking back to this hotel.

There are no restaurants or anything within walking distance as this hotel is literally in the industrial estate of where the NEC and LG Arena is but if you are going to a show or event here then its great for what you need.

We did have a full breakfast in the morning and this was all self service but had plenty of choice and they had clean tables so no waiting around for the whole time we were in having breakfast as the staff were quick to clean up the table once you had left the restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The good: Clean. Near to the airport and NEC

The bad:
Reception staff bored and indifferent. At least they weren't rude. Said sir at least 10 times...
This hotel really has been fitted with the cheapest nastiest decor possible. Cheap laminate on the floor, cheap MFI-style furniture, incrediblly uncomfortable mattresses, leaving me shattered with tiredness the next morning. The shower has prostate trouble, the bedroom walls are paper thin, so you hear EVERYTHING going on in the next room.
My pint of lager in the bar (which had as much atmosphere as a shed) was cloudy
The breakfast (for a mere £8.50) was less than average in quality. Undercooked bacon. The croissants ran out and were not replenished.
AND you pay an extra £7 a night for having the audacity to park your car there.
£80 a night for this? Rip-off Britain has found its headquarters.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Property: Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing