We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality by name-NOT by nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cobden Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #104 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ok I was a bit dubious about the name to begin with, but wanted to treat my 10 year old daughter to a hotel with a swimming pool and jacuzzi after a long hard day at Cadbury World eating chocolate. This wasn't far from Cadbury World so there was no risk of travel sickness en route.

Looked ok from the outside, we forgave the automatic doors for not working, not the end of the world.
The check in was quick and the hotel staff friendly.
We went to the bar for a drink and waited a good 15 mins to be served as there was no staff. The paint and wall paper were peeling off the wall and all looked a bit tired.
The room on first glance was tired and a bit scruffy. I thought we had asked for a double bed and a single bed, but there was 3 single beds,(2 quite close to make a double).
The room was quite spacious, comfortable enough for 3 people.
The bathroom was tucked away in the corner which added privacy and there was a big area for changing.
We decided to go swimming and checked for an hair dryer, all good, off we went.
The changing rooms weren't very clean, there was paint hanging off the walls, mouldy ceilings and looked generally tired. The pool area was ok, the swimming pool was of a nice size and the water was warm. Unfortunately the jacuzzi was out of action, which was upsetting as that was one of the reasons we came here.
When we got back to our room, it was quite dark, so on came the lights. The switches were slightly confusing as they didn't necessarily operate the ones that we were pressing. So some of the switches turned on 2 lights at opposite ends of the room.
The TV wouldn't work, this was due to there being no batteries in the remote! We just opted for the old fashioned way of using the buttons on the side!
We all had showers and this was ok. Once you ignored the mould in the cubicle, the wonky toilet which made you feel like you were on a ship and the stains all over the ceiling.
Went to use the hair dryer after as were going to go out and have some tea, you guessed it.....this didn't work!
I phoned down to reception to report this and was told they would come up, half an hour later, no body had been..
With our tummies rumbling and getting quite irritated I walked down to reception to find a big queue of people checking in, so I went back to the swimming area and borrowed their hair dryer in the changing room!!!
In my absence, my husband had been sat on the bed and noticed some quite disgusting marks and stains around the room. There was blood like splashes on the ceiling, on the wall next to his bed and a hand print on the wall opposite. My daughter also noticed the paint was coming off the window sill.
Next morning we went to make a cup of tea.....no kettle!!! I contacted reception and they bought one up, but there were no spoons but by this time we were tired out!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at Cobden Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Quality Hotel Birmingham,as we appreciate all feedback.
We are very happy to hear you found the Hotel staff friendly,as we strive to deliver the best customer service.
We are deeply sorry about the wait at the bar and the Jacuzzi not working,we do state online that the Jacuzzi is unfortunately out of order at the moment.
We are disappointed to hear about the condition of the bedroom,which we are investigating with the Housekeeping department.
We are also sorry to hear about the maintenance issues like the hairdryer and kettle,this has been reported and subsequently rectified.

We do hope we can welcome you back at the Quality Hotel Birmingham, please ring us direct on 0121 454 6621 so that we can offer you a complementary upgrade and make your next stay memorable for all the right reasons.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Hotel Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 983 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

After booking this hotel for a girly weekend away I stupidly read some reviews about the hotel!
In my opinion this hotel is fantastic, value for money! Rooms were great, we booked 3 triple rooms all close together all clean! Pizza room service fab!! Free parking! 1 mile from centre of Birmingham we couldn't have asked for more! Totally effortless! Staff were very friendly and helpful! We're definitely going to come back again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ClaireeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at Cobden Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind words!
We are really pleased you enjoyed your weekend here at the Quality Hotel Birmingham, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest, and we hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards
Quality Hotel Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

They say you get what you pay for and I would agree in this case. It was £49 for the night for a double room. It was a last minute decision to stay following booking tickets for the NEC so we were limited where to stay. My partner had stayed previously a good few years ago and thought it would be a reasonably good bet it would still be ok.

On arrival this hotel is dated and tired looking. Asking the receptionist if we had a decent room she said yes we had a nice room, after reading reviews we were a little concerned and wanted to double check. The walls and woodwork through the area of the hotel that we saw were well worn and in need of a touch up of paint and TLC. On entering our room it was spacious, basic and clean but very tired looking and it had large damp patches on the ceiling in the bedroom and in the en-suite. The en-suite was also clean although the shower area around the shower tray where the silicone was, was mouldy. We only have one bath towel and one hand towel for two people. We called reception and housekeeping swiftly brought up more towels. If went from one extreme to the other though!

Overall a good nights sleep although a little noisy in the early morning as doors were slamming. Maybe they need slam-shut mechanism to avoid disturbing other guests. Looked clean and tidy, however this hotel is tired and in need of TLC. Would I stay again? No not unless I really had to, it's basic and frankly quite bland. Ow and there was a strange smell along the corridor we stayed on! Can guess what it was and maybe the hotel need to address this problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FIFILEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at Cobden Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Quality Hotel Birmingham.
We are disappointed to hear about your dissatisfaction with the Hotel, we are undergoing a refurbishment.
We are pleased to hear you had a good night sleep and you found your room to be clean,however,we would like to change your mind and make your next stay special,so please do contact us direct if you wish to stay with us in future.

Kind Regards,
Quality Hotel Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Found a good deal online as prices in the area shot up! Reception unfriendly, bar staff unae to strike a conversation and serve with a smile.
Surrounded by tradesmen and felt uncomfortable. No interest in me as a customer! Room was freezing with air con broken, tv broken, holes in walls, shower full
Of mould!
Breakfast probably one of the worst sausages on the market and very poor service! Every table dirty andbo customer service! Needless to say I'm not staying nor eating here again! I'm not a snob by a long shot! I'm a student with values and know how people should be treated!
Could do better...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kesosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at Cobden Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
I am very disappointed to hear about your dissatisfaction with the service provided, I will personally look into it and investigate.
I am also investigating with the Maintenance team the issues you raised about the bedroom.

Please do not hesitate to contact us direct so we can offer you an upgrade and make your next stay is memorable for all the right reasons.
Thank you again.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Hotel Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The rooms ceilings have got mouldy water damage looks revolting......mosquitos bit me bad!!!! No way will I book again!!! Real basic room no fridge and no heating controls room was burning hot!!!!! Its so not worth the price!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parveen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at Cobden Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing the Quality Hotel Birmingham.
I am disappointed to hear about your dissatisfaction with the Hotel.
However,after we throughly investigated, we did not find any mosquitos in the Hotel.

We do hope you will give us another chance to make your next stay memorable for the right reasons, please do not hesistate to contact us direct.

Kind regards,
Quality Hotel Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

stayed 12/10/13 Double room and triple room for the kids, had a problem with the room above with bath/shower overflow rang reception they came up they found us a new room we decided to stay in our room as the dripping had stopped and we were settled and being next door to the kids.
the next day we went down to book breakfast and the receptionist said we could have it on the house. It was lovely and plenty of it.

Would like to make a special shout to the blonde girl (Sorry didn't get her name) behind the bar she was so helpful.

Didn't use the swimming pool.

To be honest you get what you pay for, this was good enough for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at Cobden Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Quality Hotel Birmingham, we do remember you and your family and it was lovely to have you as our guests.
Unfortunately we were fully booked that saturday and were only able to offer you a room move which was not next to your kids' room, but we are pleased the issue got resolved.
We will pass on your comments to the Bar Tender; we are sure she will be very pleased to hear she is remembered by yourselves!
We hope to welcome you back soon at the Quality Hotel Birmingham, make sure you ring us direct on 0121 454 6621 for the best available room types and rates.

Kind Regards
Quality Hotel Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

very friendly staff, very helpful, asked for later check out time the staff very kindly agreed and no extra charge, payed for double room, was given family room very clean, plenty of fresh towels, free access to leisure centre, overall very nice experience..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, Guest Relations Manager at Cobden Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words!
Here at the Quality Hotel Birmingham, we strive to provide the best customer service and see our guests check out with a smile.

We do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Quality Hotel Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
468 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 118 in Birmingham
85 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobden Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Hotel Birmingham

Address: 166 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Birmingham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $54 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobden Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham, is ideally located for business or leisure set in peaceful grounds less than five minutes from Birmingham City Centre. Easily accessible from both the M5 motorway at Junction 3 & the M6 motorway at Junction 6, the Cobden Hotel Birmingham is only fifteen minutes from the National Exhibition Centre and five minutes from Birmingham New Street Station. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cobden Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing