We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never, ever, ever again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cobden Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #104 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never, ever, ever again”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A knackered hotel trading off a misleading name and the lure of artificially high prices which are then reduced. This hotel is an absolute disgrace and I would strongly warn off anyone considering it. A local B&B will be cheaper and more appealing. Actually, sticking my head in a blender is almost more appealing.

Main problems

General feeling of nursing home - almost every fixture & fitting was worn or threadbare
Room freezing (thin, mean duvet and no extra blanket)
Shower broken (hose severed from head)
Bathroom window almost broken (had to wrench it closed)
Bar also freezing as right next to main door
Terrible pint

PLEASE don't book here. We need to get rid of this sort of place as it's a rip-off for domestic customers and a terrible impression of what British hospitality can be (and a rip-off).

Quality Hotels. Shame on you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    158
    213
    196
    277
See reviews for
169
229
71
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with some friends for 1 night - which was more than enough!

Location is quite good, about a 10 minute taxi drive to the bullring and also the mailbox - you'll be looking at about £6/7 each way. The hotel will dial a taxi for you though which was a good service.

The actual hotel left a lot to be desired, rooms and hallways are tired and grubby looking. We had a reservation for 3 rooms and we couldn't get into 1 of the rooms. The rooms themselves were basically furnished, which you'd expect, but the walls were very, very thin. This seems to be a popular hotel for stag/hen do's so expect to be woken up from 2am onwards by doors banging, conversations etc.

I wouldn't go to this hotel again and wouldn't recommend it to any friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammi_JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Bideford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Used this hotel as it came on a late rooms website & we were off to a concert at the NIA for which this is an ideal base.
Helpful staff at reception, check in quite quick , but noticed on way to room stair carpet stained in places lots of paint chips & generally in need of refurbishment , room overall though clean
& tidy, although the curtain came off the track when we closed it.
Breakfast not bad for the money as you get a discount if booked when you check in.
All in all not to bad for money, more suited to tradesmen to which there was a few there as guests .....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive020552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

On arrival the location was great, the car park was full on the front but there was ample space around the back which i was happy with - free too, a bonus!

Theres a skip in the corner of the car park at the rear with a pile of dirty mattresses and broken furniture, also a lot of dumped bottles and rubbish on the car park from previous customers. Maybe a cleaner is required for the outside area's?

On checking in the service was perfect and swift and we were placed on the third floor. Once entering our room an instant dull and dirty feeling came over me and my partner, it seemed dingey and we noticed the draws were broken, the bathroom door wouldn't lock, the bath side was hanging off and the mugs were dirty! Appalling. No care to rectify these problems as they seemed to have been like that for some time looking at the door.

I refused my room and i expressed my anger, i understand its a low budget hotel but that room was shocking, maybe they thought being a young couple we would not say anything?

We were then moved to the ground floor of a separate part of the hotel which was described as "newly refurbished". This room was MUCH MUCH better and there was one or two minor problems but it was much better, more modern style, nicer furniture and beds.

Finally!

Id recommend the paninis as these came well presented and better than expected! However something like £3.40 for room service was abit much i believe!

Id take your own iron as the little iron room provided is OK but irons are burnt, something that can be rectified, however once ironed in that room, no where to hang your clothes, also no door and you feel a little pressured as its right behind the check in desk near enough, where people are walking by frequently.


Check out was fast and how expected. 11AM for those who want to know, they charge £20 each hour over if you dont warn them! Crazy.


I wont return to this hotel unless guaranteed id be put in the better side of the hotel, but then i wouldn't stay here again unless desperate. I don't think its worth £45 i paid im afraid. Pretty let down especially when one part of the hotel is much pleasant than the other and its like 2 totally different places!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StokeyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is an awful hotel, do not spend your hard earned money here, or be fooled by any last minute deals. Checked in only to be shown to a run down battered room with a blocked toilet.

The next room we were given, we could not get into as the key wouldn't work.

we were then moved to another room which was much cleaner but was so cold that I couldn't take me coat off, the heater was broken and frankly looked like it should be condemned.

At 2am we booked ourselves into another hotel even though the management said they would show us to a 4th room...hmmmmm

All that's left to say is do yourself a favour and don't even bother.

That's what happens when you don't check trip advisor before booking a hotel :-(

Room Tip: Please do not book - they really need to take a hard long look at these reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Habiba09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with family for a weekend. Pleasantly surprised with hotel and room in general. Was worried due to reading poor reviews. Enjoyed first evening in the bar. Reasonable prices, relaxed and good selection. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Very clean however some floors and walls needed some TLC. Unfortunately could hear the hagley road constantly and other guests were very loud the both nights we stayed. Combination of drunk, disrespectful guests and thin walls. Enjoyed breakfast both days. Plenty of selection, cooked well however poor service waiting 20 mins for selected items that had been ordered specially and sausages had run out. Pleasant leisure club which really added to stay. Overall fairly pleasant and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've never written a review before but felt the need to comment on this hotel. I came here worried due to all the bad reviews. Well I'm sorry but I just can't see it. The reception and bar area are lovely. The staff are great and helpful. I've stayed for the night with two mates and it was perfect. The triple room had loads of room and was everything we needed. For the money I wouldn't complain. Yes the room has some issues with decor and a few marks on the walls but nothing that affected my stay. It's located next to a few restaurants and a casino 3 min walk away. The pool and gym were good and again the staff helpfull. I'd stay again and I would suggest people don't listen to the over the top negative reviews. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgoldsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#103 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobden Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Hotel Birmingham

Property: Cobden Hotel Birmingham
Address: 166 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Birmingham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobden Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham, is ideally located for business or leisure set in peaceful grounds less than five minutes from Birmingham City Centre. Easily accessible from both the M5 motorway at Junction 3 & the M6 motorway at Junction 6, the Cobden Hotel Birmingham is only fifteen minutes from the National Exhibition Centre and five minutes from Birmingham New Street Station. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cobden Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing