We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ranked #23 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A last minute change of travel plans meant we needed accommodation for one night prior to flying out next morning. We didn't avail of any facilities other than the room but we were so pleasantly surprised. The room was quite spacious, the bathroom spotless with a brilliant shower. There was tea making facility, a hair dryer and of course TV. The bed was comfortable. We were on the 7th floor so no outside noises. We hadn't time for breakfast so cannot comment on food. 300 metres from the Terminal - how convenient was that - all for 40 euro room only.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank late_starters40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest possible standards to our guests and I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit. I was glad to read that you found our location so convenient and our bedrooms to be comfortable and clean and that you enjoyed our shower facilities . We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Birmingham Airport.

Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    805
    285
    75
    52
See reviews for
192
724
184
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Location wise this hotel is ideal. It is a couple of minutes walk away from the terminal. The rooms are small but with all amenities. Small and strange bathroom. Have stayed in better low cost accommodation have stayed in worse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. It is always a pleasure to read feedback about how our guests enjoyed their stay. I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis Birmingham Airport again very soon.

Best regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Booked a hotel and offsite car parking because we had an early flight. Excellent Hotel good price excellent food and the Breakfast buffet hot or cold not be better.

Good room very clean and quiet just what you need for an early start. Much better than driving early in the morning after a short sleep. We would definitely do this again.

Room Tip: Only have experience of one room on the sixth floor no complaints,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback. We are all working very hard to provide our guest with the best service and it is very rewarding and motivational when we learn that our efforts have been recognised. We looking forward to welcoming you back again at Ibis Birmingham Airport.

Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is excellent for purpose in every way. We have used it on three occasions now, as a stopover before flying out of the airport the next day. The efficiency of the staff is very good, the rooms are well appointed for a short stay, and the restaurant provides good food and staff service. Being immediately adjacent to the airport terminal is really wonderful, requiring only a short 2 minute walk from the hotel. With the Long Stay car park only a few minutes walk away, the Ibis really cannot be bettered !

We will definitely be staying at the Ibis Hotel the night before our next flight from Birmingham Airport !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Somo730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback. We are all working very hard to provide our guest with the best service and it is very rewarding and motivational when we learn that our efforts have been recognised. We looking forward to welcoming you back again at Ibis Birmingham Airport.

Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Booked this hotel as the location was perfect for the LG Arena and a very affordable price! Twin room for one night.

Arrived in the afternoon to be greeted kindly by the Receptionist and checked in quickly and was given directions to the room.

Very clean and tidy room, no sound of the airport, tea and coffee, tv and hairdryer. Extra facilities are available but with further charge. The only thing was that we got one towel between two people and the shower gel was empty in the bathroom. We had brought our own toiletries so this was not a issue. Comfortable beds. Menus in the room for food which is served 24/7.

Arriving back after the concert, the hotel was very relaxed and quiet, the bar was open with very polite and helpful staff. Though during the night we did hear people get up for their flights.. this was not much of an issue. Due to the location on this hotel, it is what i had expected anyway but nonetheless I had a comfortable nights sleep.

We decided to have breakfast at the hotel because on the weekends hot breakfast is served until noon. Though I do not recommend this place for breakfast unless you eat before 9. The food was no longer hot and the sides had become messy due to people helping themselves. No glasses or juice left. Continental breakfast was available and that would be fine if you did not want something hot. It did seem short staffed but a member of staff provided juice and new clean glasses.


Overall I would stay here again but if you want a hot breakfast there is a 'spoons in the airport for probably around the same price, though this would not be a buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Ibis Birmingham Airport. I was really pleased to hear how comfortable you found our beds and how relaxing is our Hotel. I was also pleased to read that you found my staff very friendly and efficient. However I was very disappointed to hear your comments regarding Breakfast, I have spoke with our F&B Manager who has since retrained the appropriate staffs to ensure the level of service and quality of the hot buffet is always at our consistently high standard to prevent any future reoccurrence.
We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Birmingham Airport.

Kind regards

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Company booking. Long wait at reception. Rude staff. Had to change rooms. First one was a nightmare but eventually ended up with a reasonable room. Handy for the airport and NEC shuttle. Discounted parking but still extortionate at £16 a night. Wooden floorboards so you hear all your neighbours padding about. Breakfast OK. Would not willingly stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a rear room overlooking the yard and go high
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit at Ibis Birmingham Airport. I was very sorry to hear That the delay in checking in to your room was not acceptable and I can assure you that this is not at all typical of the standard you can expect of Ibis, Please be assured that I have undertaken further staff training in order to address the lapse in service that you have highlighted.
Ones again thank you for your feedback and looking forward to welcome you back at Ibis Birmingham Airport again very soon.

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Quiet hotel near to airport./NEC.
This was my second stay at this hotel.
Very quick check-in,....the staff were very polite
Ideal for business trip.
Very clean,very relaxing.
Great food.
I will definitley return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pastmaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for the positive comments. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis Birmingham Airport again very soon.

Best regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
2,325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC

Property: Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Birmingham B26 3AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing