We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place if you have morning flight to take”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ranked #21 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
pune
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place if you have morning flight to take”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at the hotel because I had to take morning flight out of Birmingham. Strategically located (Opposite to the international terminal used by Lufthansa).
Restaurant has some decent cuisines to offer. Many brands of low alcohol beverage available on tap as well as in bottles. Complementary wafer at the bar counter.
Room door is not sound proof and you can hear people checked-in late night and walking/chatting by your door. Wi-fi was poor and did not connect. Shower glass door bulky on flimsy hinges (felt risky). Good breakfast. Some of the staff members were new; had some issues during check-in/out. OK for money paid (already had low expectations because stayed earlier at Novotel next door).

Room Tip: Check if you can get room away from common passage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashtiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit at Ibis Birmingham Airport. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and breakfast facilities, however at the same time I was very disappointed to hear about your issue with WIFI.
We have 100% WIFI cover all over the hotel, which is normally a very fast and reliable connection. I can only apologies if this system was not sufficiently effective on this occasion.
I was also very sorry to hear of the disturbance you experienced as the result of the inconsiderate behavior of other guests in the hotel. We do encourage our guest to be respectful and considerate of each other, though you will appreciate that it is not always possible to control the behavior of others.
Thank you once again for your feedback, which is invaluable in our efforts to assess and continually improve upon the quality of our service. I hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you back to Ibis Birmingham Airport in the near future.


Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    800
    284
    74
    49
See reviews for
191
720
182
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was our second stay at the Ibis for our annual visit to Horse of the Year Show at NEC, and once again no complaints at all! Rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable, good shower, and it's really easy and quick getting to and from the NEC. Check in and out were easy and quick, and if you keep the window closed there's NO noise from the airport (our room was right beside the Skyrail, and we couldn't hear it at all). We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment on the restaurant. Would we stay again? ... We've already booked for next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toberelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We are all working very hard to provide our guest with the best service and it is very rewarding and motivational when we learn that our efforts have been recognised. We looking forward to welcoming you back again at Ibis Birmingham Airport.

Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a good hotel if you just want somewhere to sleep before a flight - good value if you book in advance. It is clean etc. On this visit the bar / restaurant was packed and noisy. There were insufficient staff on duty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grizzly147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t find the service at our hotel up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on our staff training, so this is something I will be looking into personally. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ibis in the future.


Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Best decision we made was to stay at Ibis Hotel when leaving on early morning AerLingus flight to New York. The hotel was easy to find when entering the airport and it was only a five minutes walk to our terminal which was just as well since we had lots of luggage. It meant we could arrive before the crowds and then go have a coffee somewhere. The hotel room was compact but comfortable and had ensuite and was very quiet considering the location!

Staff are friendly and helpful and there is a small restaurant on premises which served breakfast from very early in morning. We made the mistake of paying in advance so we could just leave early but then had to return to buy internet and phone time as these were not included.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the carpark but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrietty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Ibis Birmingham Airport. I was really pleased to hear how convenient you found our location and dining facilities. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
429 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Second stay at this hotel in order to catch an early morning flight.Only a very short walk from the airport departure lounge.Excellent & efficient check in and out.Room ideal,clean and quiet but pod type bathroom a bit unusual but suffices. Bathroom needs soap hand dispenser provided.Other than this everything satisfactory.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
It was pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments and we hope to see you again soon at Ibis Birmingham Airport.


Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here after arriving back on a midnight charter flight. Was still a warm and helpful welcome despite it being the middle of the night.

Was pretty nice for an Ibis hotel - the decor seemed less bare and industrial than some of the one's I've stayed in. The bathroom was the usual Ibis fare. All clean and lovely.

The bed was REALLY comfortable - and just what I needed after a long flight. All in all a great place to stay at a very reasonable price.

The worst bit about the place was how badly signposted it was from the airport - it took a bit of discovery (and going the wrong way round the building) to find the place. This is a bit annoying considering this must be the main way that that people come to the place. But that is probably the airport's issue, more than the hotel itself (though would have been nice to have directions from the airport on the hotel's website).

Room Tip: Even on the second floor facing the airlink train track, the room was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Birmingham Airport.


Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis Hotel at Birmingham Airport for two nights, one before flying and one on return.

The hotel is very close to the Airport and so convenient. Just 3 mins walk. The rooms are small but comfortable and very clean. The 'pod' bathrooms are clean and functional if a little
small. The breakfast was excellent and reasonably priced. The beds and duvets were snug
and overall it was a good choice for us.

Tip:- If you are arriving by train - take the monorail to the airport - just a few minutes away
and you pass the hotel on your left. This is easier than walking to the hotel via various car parks.

Room Tip: All rooms are o.k. not good views - facing car parks.....but the rooms are fuctional
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing Ibis Birmingham Airport for your recent stay. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.


Best regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC

Property: Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Birmingham B26 3AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing