We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for an early flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good location for an early flight”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Have stayed in other hotels on airport, and this was excellent value for money.
The room was good the bathroom "pod" a bit strange but ok.
Everywhere nice and clean, staff very helpfull.
Didnt eat at hotel,we always go to "Franky & Bennies" in terminal

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Birmingham Airport.


Best regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    825
    295
    82
    54
See reviews for
206
744
188
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis to avoid a lengthy journey the following morning to catch a 6:00 flight. the room was basic but sufficient, and given that we had no time pressure, we enjoyed a relaxing evening in the restaurant. The service was slow, Granted, when we sat down and the waitress came to ask us what we wanted to drink, another couple hailed her and we heard them saying that they had been waiting more than an hour for their food. It came about 5 minutes later. when ours arrived after a similar time it was worth the wait. but then we had nothing better to do than plane spotting!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AramisTonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Birmingham Airport, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them.


Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had 'a hotel room and park your car' package. We parked the car at AirPark and had the park and ride bus to the hotel. Parking and checking in was very smooth, we were well pleased that it had gone so well with it being our 'first time' . The accommodation was very pleasant and more than adequate for our short time there. All was perfect until the restaurant. Very few people in. Had to wait over 10 minutes before being asked what we wanted to drink. A further long wait before taking our food order and then 40 minutes wait for it to arrive. I had fish and chips - gross and tasteless. MY husband had beefburgher which was badly burnt. Had to search for and grab a waitress for a second drink. I complained, I was given 10% off. If I was not going on holiday, I would have refused to pay

Room Tip: The rooms are protected with double glazing etc. You don't notice the noise - not even the plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazza546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback and I am very sorry to hear that the food you were served was not of a high standard. This is certainly not acceptable and I will be taking the necessary actions to ensure there is no recurrence of this failure. We appreciate you are sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Yet again the location is great, rooms clean and a good size. Bar/restaurant area is well laid out and the food of adequate standard although the breakfast selection is very minimal. I am a breakfast person and can do without lunch so like a good choice from the hotels.
Good value for the location and would recommend for a business traveller on a budget.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the airport terminal as the view of the multi storey or the transit sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagleslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Many thanks for the positive comments. I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis Birmingham Airport again very soon.


Best regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were here on business to do a show at the NEC. We could get to the NEC, in 10 minutes, by walking and taking the "no cost" air train. The rooms were modern European. The staff was really helpful. They printed and photo copied for us. They also helped us to ship some product to our warehouse. For business assistance, it was great.

The restaurant was good for breakfast. We had our evening meal there once but the portion sizes left us hungry so we ate at Frankie's, at the airport instead.

I had booked on-line for 3 nights at a good price, but when I called to add a 4th night, I paid quite a bit more as they said the other rate was a "3 day deal" and this was for one night only. So book on-line and make sure you book for all the nights you need.

The other thing I didn't like is that you have to pay for internet; £9 for 24 hrs. The time is only for what you use, so if you do 4 hours per day, the 24hr package can last you six days. The problem is that I couldn't disconnect the internet connection as it always showed "expired" when I logged in. They gave me an extra 24hrs when I came down to the desk, with my lap top, asking them to show me how to disconnect.

It seems there are always little things but over all, I give this a 5 out of 5 and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B3GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Birmingham Airport.


Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis for one night before our early morning flight the next day. We ate in the restaurant which was basic but good. The rooms were also basic but very clean. And the location can't be beat - we just strolled across the road in the morning which gave us maximum time for sleeping! And we got a great deal of parking at APH in Hams Hall for 16 days, plus the night in the hotel, all for £72.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Birmingham Airport and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed for two nights on a business trip. The location of this hotel could hardly be better, being within short walking distance of the airport, rail station and exhibition centre. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean, with very little outside noise. I was mildly annoyed that a basic utility like Internet access comes at a premium, but this seems to be a common issue with hotels no matter the price point. The breakfast buffet felt slightly overpriced but served its purpose well. The bar and reception are served by the same staff so you may need to wait a bit longer for service in the evenings as the bar gets quite busy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you once again for your feedback, which is invaluable in our efforts to assess and continually improve upon the quality of our service. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ibis in the future.


Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
2,396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#40 of 117 in Birmingham
1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC

Property: Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Birmingham B26 3AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing