We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    787
    280
    71
    48
See reviews for
189
706
179
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

My partner and I ate here as we arrived late and there was no other restaurants around. We stayed next door in the Etap. We were very hungry and the hotel receptionist recommended eating next door. We arrived in the restaurant just after 8pm, shown our seats straight away. The waitress come over straight away to take or drink and food order. We needed some time for food and asked for her to come back. We ordered a starter to share, I choose toad in the whole and my partner picked the curry. We waited almost an hour for our starters that were deep fat fried, burnt to crisp and was bad. It was disgusting. There was no waitress around. At this point I knew we are going to have a bad meal. It was busy in the restaurants, perhaps three tables with other customers with parties of 4/6's. It was another hour we waited for our mains to arrive, the waitress came over and said we would get our mains in 2 minutes. Another 20 minutes later our mains arrived. My frozen veg was still frozen and soggy, the mash was fake and was that smash instant potato and the toad in the whole was a cheap tasteless mess! My partners curry was awful and the rice you could pick the whole Pile with your fork.

When the waitress came and asked if we enjoyed our meals, I advised I was very unhappy and it was the worst meal I have ever eaten in my life. Anything would have been better. Not even an apogoly. We paid the bill and left, this point it was after 11pm. I couldn't believe the length of time we were in there.

I wrote a letter to ibis regarding this experience and have heard nothing. I still have the copy of the reciept.

What a rip off, don't waste your money eating there!!!!

This was 18/02/2012

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnorlaxandNibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had a one night stay at the Ibis Birmingham Airport. I was travelling with my 8 year old daughter and staying in a twin room. The price was extremely good and we were able to have an early breakfast at around 4.30am, before flying out. The cleanliness and staff were wonderful. It was our first stay in an Ibis, so the 'pod' bathroom was a novelty. Everything worked well. The only downside was that the beds were pushed together into a double which is not ideal when sleeping with a wriggly child! I expect I could have tried to pull them apart. It was a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your review . I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Birmingham Airport. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We decided to stay overnight following a concert we went to see at the LG Arena - it was a perfect location for this and we just had to jump on the sky rail (free of charge). The accommodation was simple, clean and tidy and had everything we needed, although bigger towels would be nice. However the staff were miserable and rude and the buffet breakfast was poor - there was not enough supply to meet the demand (it was not very busy) - I would probably go elsewhere to eat as it was not cheap for what you can actually have.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am sad to hear that we have not been able to meet all your expectation in terms of service. Please accept my sincerest apologies about the issue you faced.

Please be assured that we are taking your comments seriously and that appropriate actions are taking in order to avoid any reoccurence. I also would like to confirm that I have forwarded your comment to our F&B Manager and a meeting will be organised with the staff member(s) concerned in regards with the breakfast service you have received.

Kindest Regards,
Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Another stay at this hotel which is in a fantastic location for that early morning flight, about 3 minutes walk to the terminal.

It represents fantastic value for money which would put a lot of "higher class hotels" to shame.

The room is excellent with a fantastic futuristic bathroom, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, WiFi, Tea/Coffee making facilities, all kept immaculatley clean, with no noise from the airport, there is also a good temprature control system in the room.
A good bar is provided which also serves food with a varied choice and reasonable prices.
The staff are all very efficient and very polite.
This hotel is perfect for that short stay........excellent, will use again & recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackyabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you for your very kind feedback. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Ibis Birmingham Airport. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Birmingham Airport in your next trip in Birmingham.

Kindest Regards,
Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I've stayed in IBIS before when cycling in France and once in London when I needed a cheap stop over. You get cheap and cheerful. This one is no different - same room layout, same funny space pod bathroom cubicle but surprisingly, especially considering it's proximity to the airport terminal (about 300 yards away) the room was practically silent - no plane noise, no humming generators and no noise in the hotel itself. A good night sleep was had by the family when we unexpectedly decided to check in rather than drive home after a late flight. Breakfast was basic but OK - half the price of other hotels but by no means half the quality... If we use Birmingham Airport again, we will stay overnight here and use their park and stay facility.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back facing the short stay car park - ours was silent..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBhxAirport, Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Birmingham Airport. I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC

Property: Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Birmingham B26 3AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing