We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #58 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I stayed here overnight as a stopover for an early flight, i could not fault it for the price and for its purpose, its a few minutes walk to the terminal,i cannot comment on the breakfast as i grabbed some in the airport,the guy was unable to add my accor points for the stay though which was a tad irritating.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovejumping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,677)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,552 - 1,558 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2009

I first stayed at this hotel on the 3rd June prior to a flight to the USA,I must admit that I was kind of aprehensive given that the asking price was only £35 per night.
How wrong I was,I was checked in by a helpfull and cheerfull young lady,(just a word of advice - if you wish to pay by cash you will need to present your passport to reception on check in).
The rooms,like other reviewers state are small,but are well equiped - you get a small flat screen TV which is wall mounted allong with a plug socket (handy for the Laptop or mobile charger!),underneath the TV is a small desk with a reading lamp,room facilities include a excellent power shower,sink (which is located in the room itself and you get soap,towels and plastic cups provided and also a WC which is situated in a broom cuboard like room.

The beds,again as reviewers state are on the hard side,but you do get used to this after a while.

Facilities at the hotel are basic,but you can by resonably priced sandwiches,soft drinks and alcohol in reception and also there is a breakfast area which provides a unlimited breakfast for a mere £2.95 - you can also make your way to Terminal 1 (a mere 3 minute walk) for a well priced Spar and also a Weatherspoons.

All in all I could not fault this hotel,why would you want to pay £70 - £90 for the two other hotels (which are owned by the same company as the ETAP) when all you need is a room which is functional?,you can also use the bar/restuarant facilities at the neighboring Ibis and Novotel.

Another point worth noting is that you can only access the lift to your room by swiping your room key card in the card reader to call the lift,and after a certain time of the night you will have to swipe your credit card/key card to open the main door to the hotel - how is that for security?.

This hotel gets my vote and my business in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marko1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

This is an extremely handy hotel for travellers having to have early flights. It's literary 5 mins walk to Terminal 2 of Birmingham Airport. For the price you pay you cannot fault anything else. Ok so the window is a box but you still get decent light in (if you so wish) or else there a dark curtain to make everything dark.

The toilet is a little cubicle. My other half is taller so he opted not bothering closing the door at all. The shower is a cubicle but hey presto, soap is provided! and so are towels.

There is tv!!

As for breakfast, you can opt to go to Starbucks across the way if you so wish otherwise it's something we didn't have and certainly not a problem.

very friendly receptionist and we felt quite secure going up the lift as it's security tagged ie only hotel guests can go up it.

The only downside, we could hear people shuffling about - well at least I did, my other half was not bothered. So maybe ear plugs are recommended for light sleepers. For some (not us - we were not bothered) space maybe an issue as it is restricted so if you have plenty of luggage maybe not ideal. And those who like their amenities perhaps this is not for you (no kette, complimentary tea/coffee, small sink to brush teeth, small shower cubicle - certainly if you have BMI of greater than 35 you will definitely not fit in either the shower or toilet comfortably!)

Overall for short period stay this is highly recommended. Clean and safe and a decent enough bed to sleep in with an en-suite (good hot water bath). What more can you ask for in this price range?

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drsquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Even though I travel on an expense account, I chose the Etap over the adjacent Ibis and Novotel because I was too intrigued by it's GBP 35 pricetag. To be honest, the room is as sterile and featureless as that of the Travelodges it competes with, but there are a few touches that make it a much more humane experience. First, there's a small, reasonably priced shop on the ground floor with beer, snacks and sandwiches. Second, the tv is a flat screen with more than a few channels, Third, there's a bit of flair in the room design. Sure it's cheap and sterile, but the location is fantastic (rolled onto my 630 AM flight with no commuting hassle), and the alarm in the TV compensates for the lack of a room phone for wake up calls.

All in--not spectactular and not a place to linger in--but a good place to rest your head for an early flight.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mklein818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We (me and my husband) stayed in hotel for 3 nights. It was excellent - location, clean room, stuff very helpfull. It was very quiet, it seemed as we were alone in the sixth floor. In the morning quests were leaving the hotel without any noise.
Location is very good - train station near the airport, so one day we went by train to Oxford, the next day we went to Birmingham, also by train.
It was the best hotel we ever had for this price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonjan-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Stayed for 1 night to attend an event at the NEC.
Hotel was fully booked so higher rate of £45 v £38 p/n applied but still nothing compared to the hotels at both Birmingham and other major airports.
Checked in early at 1pm and staff were fantastic giving a free token for hot drink whilst awaiting room being prepared.
The wait was only 10mins and once in the room it was cleaner than some 4star places I've stayed, the shower was powerful and hot & everything was as expected.
Breakfast is a buffet continental for £2.95 and offers tea, coffee, orange and apple juice, corn flakes and bran flakes, white and brown toast, crossaints and is great value and ideal start to the day.
The staff went on line and printed of my boarding pass for my flight home saving me not only the extra cost but extra time required with airport check in. They do this for anyone that asks and I was surprised they charged nothing and don't make a point of advertising this service on their website because it is a big selling point and other hotels I've stayed in costing 3 times the price either refuse to do this or charge a fee.
Final point but very important when your staying; it was very quiet.
It's at an airport, right next to a mono-rail & across from an NCP carpark but because the walls & floors are all concrete and the double glazing good quality you really struggle to hear much from outside or inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chorlton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

If youre catching an early flight from Birmingham International and need an overnight stay book at the Etap. Right beside departures, reasonably priced (cheapest at the airport), absolutely fantastic service (thank you Glenys) and a good standard restaurant next door at the much more expensive Nonotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelalotstockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
1,853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
2,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#36 of 118 in Birmingham
1,099 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $58 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing