We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, basic, great location, but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Clean, basic, great location, but.....”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for just 1 night in May, as we had to check-in at 5a.m.
The rooms are clean & basic but a bit tight on space (I don't mean storage space; I just felt a bit claustrophobic) & I did miss not having a kettle in the room.
There was only one pillow, per person, so I had to stuff a few things under mine to make it comfortable for me. My husband didn't sleep well (unusual for him) as he didn't find the bed very comfortable, at all, so arose with a few aches & pains!
Breakfast is basic but good enough. The sounds of the airport are inaudible, really, so that was much better than I'd dared hope.
We ate our evening meal in the hotel next door. I think we may look into staying there next time. Shame, as the staff are nice at the Etap, & it was better than travelling in the night, but with a little effort (e.g. pillows & tea / coffee-making facilities) it could be better. Most people, I’m sure, would appreciate being able to make a drink, especially as the whole purpose of their being there is unsociable flight times!
Re: value for money ~ it's not *that* cheap; you're really only paying for the convenience of the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nephthys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments and suggestions after your recent stay- we value your feedback.

Please note that we have hot drinks available in our Fraiche outlet 24 hours a day, and extra pillows are available from our reception on request.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    653
    314
    108
    88
See reviews for
265
556
280
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

great location actually almost opposite departure terminal however its real budget but serviced its purpose. Room very clean very basic would like beverage making facilities special as people would use this hotel as start point to their holiday possible early morning flight like ours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank steve_sue_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your honest review- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.

Please note that although we do not have tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms, we have a selection of hot drinks including freshly ground coffee available in our Fraiche food outlet 24 hours a day for sit in or take away.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

excellent location for travelling to or from Birmingham airport, staff were friendly and helpful, good breakfast and 10% of food in resturaunts next door. Will definately stay again if flying from this airport

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank harding410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your great comments- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and are looking forward in welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hotel is perfectly situated for airport, 2 minutes walk. Room was fine, very clean and bed was comfortable. Hotel staff were all very friendly. Not luxurious but at the very cheap price we paid - £23 - you can't expect anything more. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlywurlyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here one night in April and one night in June after a couple of holidays. We had late flights so this hotel was ideal, a few minutes walk from the terminal. The young man on reception was very efficient and pleasant and the gentleman on reception at breakfast was also very pleasant. Both of the staff were working on both occasions we stayed there. The room was bright and cheery and very adequate for our needs, very clean and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was nice too. A very good quality budget hotel for the price we paid. If we travel from Birmingham again we will certainly use the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your encouraging comments- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and are looking forward in welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Needed to be at BHX for an early morning flight, and the Etap looked ideal for facilities, location and price ... which it was.
The bed was comfy, the double-glazing worked and the shower was just fine. Nothing else matters (to me) when you simply need to reach the terminal for 5-15am.
Am amazed to see so many 'average' reviews, where the hotel has been marked down for not being something it doesn't pretend to be.
Of course, as some say, it would be great to have tea/coffee making gubbins, a hair-dryer, designer wallpaper, cute pix and another three sockets, but then it would be in a different price-point.
Reminds me of of folk who buy awful beer in 'spoons for £1.50, then sit there sipping it, moaning that it's not something else.
Am sure (unless KLM change their departure times) that I'll be here again. The only decision I'd reverse was paying in advance for the breakfast, as it's surprising how slow-moving one's brain and mouth are - even when 100% sober - at that early hour.

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage, a lower floor makes sense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanHalstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your great review- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel concept. We are looking forward in welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Brilliant hotel for our weekend visiting the NEC. Very close to airport terminal and free monorail to NEC is a bonus! Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault it. Breakfast is good and fridge containing pre-packed sandwiches and cold drinks are available to buy.

Room Tip: We had room 810 and were able to watch planes landing and taking off. Fascinating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mystic1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your encouraging feedback - we were delighted by your comments and glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing