We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to NEC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #59 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is very near to the NEC, it is not too far to walk. It is a low price hotel, so you get what you pay for, similar to Travelodge etc. It was ok, no problems and room a reasonable size

Only thing you need to bear in mind is there is NO car park. There is a nearby car park, which is at a reduced rate though could be much clearer when booking this is extra, as most out of town hotels have them included in the price

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DTL-AE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.

Unfortunately, due to our close proximity to the airport terminal, we do not have our own car park, but have discounted rates with the NCP car parks at the airport for our guests. We regularly benchmark our rates against our competitor airport hotels, to ensure we still offer excellent value even when the extra car parking charges are taken into account.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute as we had an early flight to Barbados on 24th March and due to heavy snow on 23rd we were worried we wouldn't be able to get to the airport if there was more snow overnight.The check in was efficient and our room provided us with a bed,shower and television, it was basic but spotlessly clean.The following morning we simply dropped the keys at reception and walked 200 yds to departures. We were so impressed we have decided to book it again at the same time we book our next holiday, saves all the messing about and hopefully it would be much cheaper booking well in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank villaval57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Was looking forward to starting break a night earlier at this hotel.
Appeared fine on outside, but rooms were so basic it was unreal. The toilet was in a cupboard, the shower in another cupboard with a very small hand basin in the room next to the bed. The mattress was very thin, the pillows lumpy, the walls thin. It reminded me of uni accommodation at the very lowest level.
No kettle in room either!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank carlosthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here.

I was disappointed to learn that you were unhappy with your stay, and for this I would like to sincerely apologise. As a budget hotel, we aim to offer exceptional value combined with excellent service. Our hotel is due a refurbishment later this year which hopefully should address some of the points you have made.

We hope you visit us again to experience the improvements.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

I would like to mention that during this time the Manager dealt very well with my regular stay at this hotel.

In my previous visit I was very disappointed with the service and the rooms.

From now to the future I will continue to book some days at this hotel during my business trips.

I am regular use of Etap in the UK and other European countries and would like to continue to do so.

There is always room for improvement for better service from their staff.

Also the booking prices are still high for this hotel to book on a regular basis.

Therefore I will not be able to be booking my stay there more frequently than I expected and finding accomodation elsewhere during my business trips.

Hope that helps.

Have a good week.

Regards,

Marcos Penna Firme

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank marcos_p_firme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Mr Penna Firme,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that we were able to successfully address your previous concerns, and are working hard to improve on the points that you have raised. Regarding our rates, we benchmark our rates regularly against our competitors to ensure we offer the best value.

As a valued guest, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

You get what you pay for at Etap. It is basic but there are no surprises and it is clean and well organised. Super shower and excellently situated for the airport and NEC. Reception staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank topaz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is our aim to provide excellent value for money combined with excellent service, and it is encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Travelodges are 5* compared to ETAP IBIS Budget but for one night its ok. Rooms are warm, and clean, but no kettle, no proper bathroom and are real basic. Shower and sink in the room the toilet sectioned off with a false wall. For the price and location I can't complain, but 1 night is enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyH455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are glad that you found our hotel to offer good value. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel, very clean and in a great location to access the LG Arena. I found it easy to book on- line and good value for the money. I would definitely use this hotel in Birmingham again when attending concerts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Milliejones04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#36 of 118 in Birmingham
1,992 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#17 of 118 in Birmingham
1,280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
2,536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $51 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing