We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Second Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #50 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our Second Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is the second time that myself /family and friends have stayed at this Etap Hotel which has improved greatly since our first visit. The reception and breakfast staff gave us excellent service, polite ,helpful and cheerful.The Hotel is in an excellent location for access to the airport, with a short monorail link to NEC and train station with a 5-10minute journey to Birmingham New Street. We had a 3 person bedroom ie 0ne double bed with a bunk bed above. Unfortunately the bunk bed had not been made and a little dust was visible ,however the rest of the room and shower room was very clean . The only things we really missed were a hairdryer [although it is possible to hire one at reception] plus tea and coffee facilities in the room often needed after a busy shopping day! Overall a great value hotel which we shall definately use again in the future

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay upon your return visit.

Please note that although we do not have tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms, we have this available from our 'Fraiche' food counter 24 hours a day. You mentioned that the bunk bed was not made- this is an Etap standard although bedding is provided in the room. I will however discuss your comments with our housekeeping team.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    650
    313
    108
    86
See reviews for
264
551
279
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Fed up with trying to enquire on-line, I eventually telephoned individual hotels at B'ham airport asking for a price on 2 rooms for early January (2013).
After numerous calls and getting nowhere, I was feeling more than a little frustrated - so what a very pleasant surprise when I rang Etap and Glenys took my call!
Glenys spoke perfect english! I could understand everything she said! Not only that, she was actually interested in what I'd got to say and and really did sound as though she wanted to help me! - she did too, we're all booked and sorted.
(Perhaps I'm not being fair on the others, but some were really hard work)

Well done Glenys, you really did make a difference. Thanks for your help!
I should mention, we did stay at this hotel in January of this year. It's everything it says on the tin. Perfect for an early flight the next day.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bradmaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your great comments- we aim to offer five star service at budget prices and it's very encouraging to recieve such great feedback. I shared your review with Glenys and the rest of the team and we are all delighted with your comments.

We are looking forward in welcoming you to our hotel in January.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very practial for my overnight requirements when I only needed a bed, very compact room with a 9 channel television. Friendly staff and clean.I would use it again and book earlier to get a better price. IB Northern Ireland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magheramore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed for two nights in November whilst catching a show at the LG Arena.

The hotel is located right next to Birmingham City Airport, & yet the hotel remains extremely quiet. Check-in was quick & easy, & the rooms were simple, but spotlessly clean & functional. The shower was excellent, as were the other bathroom areas.

My only slight complaints would be that the bed could have been comfier, not due to the mattress or sheets which were fine, but because of the slab of wood that formed the bed frame which had absolutely no give at all making it a bit too hard for my liking. Also, the television had very limited channels, which seems a bit strange when Freeview is so readily available.

All in all though, for £28 a night, this hotel was extremely good value for such a small sum of money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmJayTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for scoring us full marks- we are glad that you had an excellent stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great location for ease of access for NEC and shopping too. Stayed with my teenage daughter so the bunk over the double bed was perfect. (It would have been a bit of a squash for 3 people though). Comfy bed and great night's sleep - not disturbed by outside noise at all. Clean..and a gorgeous powerful shower! The only down side for me was that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room itself. We would definitely stay there again as the value for money was great...but may take a thermos for my cuppa!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplejanetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted that you liked our hotel. You mentioned that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms, however please note that this is available from our 'Fraiche' food counter 24 hours a day.

We hope to welcome you back upon your next visit to the area.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for our trip to NEC. Very clean and staff really helpful. Buffet breakfast in the morning for £4.25, couldn't beat that. Slept well and hotel just in front of the airport...couldn't have been better. If you expect the Ritz, don't stay here, but if you want value for money, perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for scoring us top marks! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and recognised the value we offer at Birmingham Airport. Please visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gowdall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was just the right location to make our trip less stressful, being on the doorstep
of the airport and will use this again in the future. The staff where very helpful and polite.
Also was able to have a meal next door at the ibis hotel which was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffGowdall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for your positive review- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our proximity to the airport convenient.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing