We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for airport, station and NEC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #50 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
East sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient for airport, station and NEC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a very efficient budget hotel. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable and staff are very good.
I stayed there when there was a large exhibition at the NEC. The "budget" price of £79 excluding breakfast or even a cup of tea in the room seemed very expensive for what was on offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BexEastsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay. Our rates vary according to demand and the £79 rate is still very competitive compared to other hotels within the area on busy NEC event days. Rates start at £28 and it is advisable to book in advance to get the best deal. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    640
    307
    105
    86
See reviews for
261
547
279
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

A budget hotel with incredibly hard beds, no internet in the room and a basic continental breakfast.

Not impressed but incredibly cheap. I worked in the NEC so couldn't really get any closer.

There is internet in the lobby. Get a room with a double bed and not a family room as there is a bunk bed over your head and you can't help koshing yourself in the dark if you need the loo in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniebythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As a budget hotel we aim to offer excellent value and comfort, and I apologise that we did not deliver on the latter during your stay.

All our beds now have got mattress toppers to make them softer. The hotel is also due a refurbishment next year as part of the rebranding to Ibis Budget. It will include expanding the wifi internet service troughout the hotel and a refurbishment of the bedrooms to the new Ibis Budget cocoon style bedrooms which will improve overall guest comfort.

We do hope you visit us again to experience the improvements.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just a few yards from the airport departures this hotel is ideal for an overnight stay before checking in for an early flight.

Rooms are a bit small but comfortable, clean and tidy.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bvwinbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your good feedback. We are glad that you found our hotel comfortable and convenient. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I booked this hotel for two nights as myself and my friend were seeing Muse at the LG Arena and were queuing from 5am on the gig day.
Receptionist was very serious and not very fun but very efficient so no problems checking in.
The room itself was clean and although we ran out of time to use the shower, it looked nice. The convenience for the train station or airport was lovely. 10 minutes on the little monorail thing (from the hotel to the train station) to Birmingham International Train Station but only a 3 minute walk from the hotel to the airport. Close to the NEC and LG Arena.
You also have access to the restaurant next door which is lovely. Would definitely stay at again.

Room Tip: They are all good really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellapod77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are glad that you found our hotel convenient for the airport and the NEC- we are one of the closest hotels to both venues. We hope you visit us again and leave more time to enjoy our hot power showers.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The rooms really are compact hardly room to move around if more than one person. The bunk bed was totally unnecessary and quite claustrophobic. For £49 I expected a little more room to move about. The cleanliness was top notch and the location perfect for our visit to LG Arena.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Preecer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us and I hope to see you on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed the second year at the etap birmingham airport for the NEC cakeshow. I worked my self as a manager for Canadian Pacific Hotels. now i´m with the Holiday inn group. I had the honor to meet Glenys ( one of the concierge crew) she is really an absolut stunning and adorable person. i would say GLENYS is the PRECIOUS of the etap birmingham airport. i really wish i had staff like Glennys at my hotel. she is taking so much care and paying attention to my needs that she knows what i want even befor i said it to her. thats what i call a absolutelly service orientatet mind.
if the had the employee of the month program i would vote for her to be the employee of the year.

Room Tip: get rooms from floor 4 and upwards. so you dont can hgear any of the noises the cabel train from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanrathmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I have shared your positive comments with Glenys and she was delighted with your comments., Glenys is a true customer service professional and we are working with her to ensure all our staff deliver exceptional customer through customer service training. We are looking forward in welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing