We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If there's one in the city you want to visit...book in!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If there's one in the city you want to visit...book in!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stay away with work alot and this was by far the best accommodation I've ever stayed in. Home from home with everything you need to stay in and cook of an evening. Rooms comfy and spacious, well furnished. Front desk staff very obliging and friendly, nothing was a problem. Secure parking which is a bonus in the city centre! Great location, plenty of restaurant and bars within 100yds. Would highly recommend and book in again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mileseast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    363
    108
    51
    44
See reviews for
317
177
42
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have stayed here more than once but while I liked it the first time when I had a balcony looking over the city, I wasn't so impressed with the courtyard because of all the shared noise from everyone's open doors. The apartments are modern and clean but they are boiling hot in summer so you need the door open which is why noise is a problem, particularly if there is a party or group staying next door or above you depending on the floor you are on.
There are apparently breakfast vouchers but you have to collect them from reception and when I did get my egg bap and coffee from the urban kitchen I have to say it was disappointing because the egg was covered in crap from the frying pan. Staycity could have done better here as Birmingham is full of good eateries.
Staff were helpful and friendly, but even though I stayed for a week no one cleaned my room in the whole time so they are not exactly 'serviced' unless you pay extra. So if you are travelling alone you might be better off in a hotel as you will get the room cleaned and get breakfast.

Room Tip: Try and get one on the 6th floor overlooking the city and not the courtyard. Otherwise you'll ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staycity_Birmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with a courtyard facing apartment, as these are our most popular. Should you have requested a City facing apartment, we would have been happy to allocate you one, although as with any apartment, we can not control outside noise, being a city centre location.

We have found that the unseasonably warm weather, recently has meant that guest's, will leave their balcony doors open, should you have preferred to keep yours closed so as to not hear your neighbours, we would have been happy to provide you with a fan.

Regarding the breakfast offering, I will pass on your comments, to the provider who we use due to their immediate location, to save guests having to walk a distance. You were very kind to mention how helpful and friendly my team are, and should any issue have been highlighted during your stay, we would have been more than happy to try and rectify them.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and if it wasn’t for constructive feedback like yours, we would not be able to learn, evaluate and improve, so thank you for making us aware of your frustrations.

Regards
James Gwilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Outstanding service! They'll make you feel at home. The apartments are very nice and very well taken care of, but you'll LOVE every single member of the staff.
We (a family of four) stayed for two weeks and we were very comfortable. The location is excellent since you will find lots of restaurants, shops and a variety of services nearby Staycity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlejandroP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staycity_Birmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read such positive comments, and I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you back to Staycity in the future.

Kind Regards
James Gwilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for one night as we had an early start in Birmingham the next day. Ideal for our needs, as my daughter was on crutches and my sister also needed a walking aid. You couldn't be more central, the parking was easy, facilities were clean, modern and functional. The staff were very helpful and informative and we had a very pleasant visit. I would certainly recommend Staycity apartments as you have the best of both worlds for location and cost. Well done Staycity staff too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend hen do and I was really impressed with the rooms and location! The apartments are perfect for groups of people as you can chill out in rooms and have food and drink before going out... then there are loads of restaurants, bars and clubs right on your doorstep! It's an ideal place for parties who want a weekend away... As its central its noisy so not sure I'd stay for quiet weekend away but deff don't mind that when your partying yourself!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend for a hen party and they were exactly what we wanted. The apartments were clean and modern and had everything you needed. The staff were very friendly towards us and were game for a bit of a laugh, taking pictures etc. We had a few funnt requests and they knew all about it and did everything we had asked.

The location, for us, was also perfect. They are part of what I would describe as a square full of bars, restaurants and a couple of nightclubs.

We had rooms that faced the square and if I'm being honest there was a lot of noise outside until the early hours but as we were there to party ourselves it didnt bother us at all. I can imagine it would annoy anyone that wasnt there for that reason.

We walked from the coach station which was about a 5-10 minute walk, and also to the station, which was again about the same distance. We went to gatecrasher on broad street on Saturday and decided to get a taxi (wearing heels!!) and it cost us £6.

There is also a little tesco along the road for any bits you need.

Overall we all said it was exactly what we needed, and we had a fab weekend. Definately better than a hotel and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcountrylass22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguadulce, Spain
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed one night only, for a theatre trip to the adjacent Hippodrome Theatre. The location is great, central Birmingham just next to theatre area, in Chinatown, so plenty bars and restaurants, right next to the Bullring shopping centre and New Street station, a stones throw from the bus station and the markets area. It is above the Arcadian Centre and has a secure parking area off floor 3 of the Arcadian car park (one up from street level). It is disabled friendly so less than 100 yards wheelchair push to the Hippodrome and all ramped etc. to perfection.
The one bedroomed flat was spotless, well equipped and ideal for our purpose. Large bedroom and comfortable super-king sized bed. Bathroom was spacious and the kitchen fully equipped, good size lounge and even a huge balcony, accessible from lounge and bedroom, which is great for smokers. Washing machine etc. also makes this a great place for a more extended stay even though we only needed one night. They do larger apartments also. The staff were efficient and extremely helpful, assisted with wheelchair and luggage to and from the car and could not do enough for us. With a good meal and show at the theatre this rounded off a wonderful stay in Birmingham.
We booked a couple of days before arrival and took advantage of a large reduction in price for this last minute booking, £64 for the flat and £11 for the car park, compares very favourably with budget hotel prices but with lots more room and lots more comfort.
There was some noise from the vibrant bar / club / restaurant quarter below but close the windows and it is not a problem, it did not disturb us. The only criticism could be a lack of air conditioning but it was a cool night for us and so did not affect us, others on a warmer night might have to open up the windows and then the noise could intrude I guess.
Very pleased with our stay, thank you Staycity, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicNorthampton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre

Property: Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre
Address: The Arcadian 70 Hurst Street, Birmingham B5 4TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 stylish and modern one and two bedroom serviced apartments conveniently located in Birmingham City Centre. We offer a selection of 52 one bedroom (sleeps 3), and 22 two bedroom (sleeps 5) self catering apartments, which come fully-furnished with bed linen and towels also provided. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV, lounge/dining area and spacious bedrooms. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi available. Our accommodation is comfortable, contemporary and convenient. Providing a genuine home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Apartments By Staybirmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing