We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend for a hen party and they were exactly what we wanted. The apartments were clean and modern and had everything you needed. The staff were very friendly towards us and were game for a bit of a laugh, taking pictures etc. We had a few funnt requests and they knew all about it and did everything we had asked.

The location, for us, was also perfect. They are part of what I would describe as a square full of bars, restaurants and a couple of nightclubs.

We had rooms that faced the square and if I'm being honest there was a lot of noise outside until the early hours but as we were there to party ourselves it didnt bother us at all. I can imagine it would annoy anyone that wasnt there for that reason.

We walked from the coach station which was about a 5-10 minute walk, and also to the station, which was again about the same distance. We went to gatecrasher on broad street on Saturday and decided to get a taxi (wearing heels!!) and it cost us £6.

There is also a little tesco along the road for any bits you need.

Overall we all said it was exactly what we needed, and we had a fab weekend. Definately better than a hotel and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcountrylass22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed one night only, for a theatre trip to the adjacent Hippodrome Theatre. The location is great, central Birmingham just next to theatre area, in Chinatown, so plenty bars and restaurants, right next to the Bullring shopping centre and New Street station, a stones throw from the bus station and the markets area. It is above the Arcadian Centre and has a secure parking area off floor 3 of the Arcadian car park (one up from street level). It is disabled friendly so less than 100 yards wheelchair push to the Hippodrome and all ramped etc. to perfection.
The one bedroomed flat was spotless, well equipped and ideal for our purpose. Large bedroom and comfortable super-king sized bed. Bathroom was spacious and the kitchen fully equipped, good size lounge and even a huge balcony, accessible from lounge and bedroom, which is great for smokers. Washing machine etc. also makes this a great place for a more extended stay even though we only needed one night. They do larger apartments also. The staff were efficient and extremely helpful, assisted with wheelchair and luggage to and from the car and could not do enough for us. With a good meal and show at the theatre this rounded off a wonderful stay in Birmingham.
We booked a couple of days before arrival and took advantage of a large reduction in price for this last minute booking, £64 for the flat and £11 for the car park, compares very favourably with budget hotel prices but with lots more room and lots more comfort.
There was some noise from the vibrant bar / club / restaurant quarter below but close the windows and it is not a problem, it did not disturb us. The only criticism could be a lack of air conditioning but it was a cool night for us and so did not affect us, others on a warmer night might have to open up the windows and then the noise could intrude I guess.
Very pleased with our stay, thank you Staycity, we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicNorthampton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment 4 and 5 th of July. Sat nav kept taking us round in circles ,but after a quick call to reception we were directed into a car park, which once reaching the 3rd floor we found the entrance to the apartments.Staff were excellent very friendly and helpful . We arrived in the evening and we ate at a wetherspoons restaurant just round the corner from the flats.
Due to its location there are plenty places to eat all walking distance from the apartments.

The car parking area which we had prepaid for seemed pretty secure and what was even better was that we could walk to the Bullring shopping centre for our days shopping.

The only problems we had were due to its central location our younger kids were kept awake due to the noise on the streets below.Police sirens were quite common but I suppose it was because we stayed on a Friday night an things can get a bit 'lively' in town centres at weekends.

The apartment was clean and spacious,beds were fine,we had a dish washer and wash mach ,which may have been useful had we been staying longer.
The bathroom towel rails did not work in both bathrooms ,we tried switching the external control switch on but this made no difference. The main bathroom door stuck as the tiles on the floor were cracked and water had got in underneath ,causing them to rise.Fine if you were an adult as you would have the strength to force the door ,but a child could get stuck and get upset if they cant open the door.
The en-suite shower head would not stay still in the holder making it impossible to have a shower without holding it in your hand.As we were only here 2 nights we just used the main bathroom shower.
NOTE there is a £200 deposit required which we were not aware off but luckily we had our credit card .I see the point of this but I think it should be made clearer during booking.

Overall I would come back here but prob not with the kids but ideal for an adult night out or shopping break.
Also the cleaning staff should report the faults in the bathrooms as several of the problems could be fixed quickly and inexpensively ,there for making the stay more pleasurable .

Room Tip: take ear plugs at weekends ,report any problems early giving them time to resolve them,'hopefull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staycity_Birmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, following your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, in the City Centre of Birmingham like other cities, we are subject to external noise which we can not control, and I think you would find similar issues in most City centre hotels. I can only apologise that you were disturbed by such noise.

Regarding the towel rail, in the apartment, these have been decommissioned for safety reasons, as per the notice displayed in the bathroom. We provide washer dryers, and airers, should our guest's need to dry their towels during their stay with us. We are aware of the situation with the bathroom floor, and this is currently awaiting repair from an outside contractor, I am sorry for any inconvenience this caused.

Thank you once again for posting your review, I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards
James Gwilliam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location for shopping and restaurants. We stayed in 2 bed apartment with 3 children and after a long day they had room to relax and play. Kitchen well equipped, bedrooms comfortable only advise I would give in hot weather take a fan, although we didn't ask if they supplied them. All in all rate highly would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great central location for visiting family & friends whilst also keeping the wife happy by being close to the shops. Why would I stay in an hotel when I can get the space & freedom of a 2-bed apt for less. Sure the beds were lumpy, but I was so tired after a long hard day that I hardly noticed. Only downside remains the occasional drunken, rowdy patrons on a weekend - but I've had worse at the Hilton.

Room Tip: the upper floor 2-bed units are a must for families. Lower level 1-bed units are what the party anim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercianknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked a 2-bedroom apartment with en-suite for a night out in Birmingham. Booking through laterooms (quite a bit in advance) we got the apartment for £130, so between 5 of us it only worked out at £26 each, which I thought was a bargain.

The apartments are easy to find, make sure you put in the carpark postcode in and not the hotel one. If you go up the 2nd floor you go into a section for Staycity residents, and the door goes straight into the apartments reception. You do have to put a £200 hold on your credit card while you are there, but having stayed at various apartments, this is always the case.

The apartment was huge. We stayed in apartment no 63 which was on the top floor and on a corner. So our balcony was huge, stretching completely along both sides of the apartment. All the rooms have doors so you can open them out onto the balcony. I thought the kitchen was well equipped, it had pots, pans, cutlery, cheese grater, tea towel, etc everything you would need really. They also give you some tea bags, coffee, sugar with little pots of milk.

The location of these apartments are excellent. They are actually part of the arcadian centre, which is like a little square with bars and restaurants. We got back at about 3.30am and one of the bars was still playing loud music. Because our apartment was facing the opposite side to the arcadian centre we didnt have any problems with noise etc. The apartments are also a 5 minute walk to the bullring.

If we got these at a good price then I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liblar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

OK, well SatNav found the place ok in Birmingham. It has good parking facilities but charges £11 per 24 hours, I suppose that is not bad for city parking. Drive up to the first floor for parking for Staycity otherwise you will have to keep walking up and down stairs with your baggage. The Staycity parking is on the same level as the hotel reception. We stayed in a twin bedded one room apartment which was lovely and clean, well equipped and spacious. However, it was very hot in Birmingham this week, the apartment had no air con, so we slept with the patio door open the first night. The noise from the Arcadian centre below was horrific, lots of drunks singing and messing about, police car sirens going on throughout the night, shouting,screaming well into the early hours and not to mention the drunk chap who was running along the balcony outside our room, who suddenly stopped and noticed our door was open so tried to climb over the balcony to get in, not before I said a few choice words and told him I had phoned the police. Good thing I was awake! Next night was just as bad with the noise and drunks singing, shouting etc., police sirens.... the lot. We kept our door shut but all night it was so stuffy and hot in the room it kept us awake as did the constant noise. I suppose if you like that sort of nightlife, then you will be very happy staying here. I will not be going back there in a hurry, which is a shame because the apartments were nice apart from what was going on outside. Note also the balcony was covered in beer cans and cigarette stubs which people were throwing over to our balcony from next door!! The staff said I should have asked for an apartment on the 'quiet side', bit late!!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on the "quiet side" of the hotel otherwise dont expect any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staycity_Birmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by external noise, unfortunately being a city centre location, we have no control over this. Regarding the disturbance from other guest's, we would have been more than happy to take the appropriate action, should you have reported it to us. Unfortunately, such issues can not be rectified once you have checked out. We do have quieter apartments that can be allocated if available, please make a request at time of booking.

Regards
James Gwilliam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,003 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 118 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre

Address: The Arcadian 70 Hurst Street, Birmingham B5 4TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range: $76 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 stylish and modern one and two bedroom serviced apartments conveniently located in Birmingham City Centre. We offer a selection of 52 one bedroom (sleeps 3), and 22 two bedroom (sleeps 5) self catering apartments, which come fully-furnished with bed linen and towels also provided. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV, lounge/dining area and spacious bedrooms. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi available. Our accommodation is comfortable, contemporary and convenient. Providing a genuine home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Apartments By Staybirmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing