We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“????”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Not sure how I feel about these apartments. Got it online with a good discount - had I paid full price I would have felt ripped off. Front reception staff - great, very helpful and friendly. To get to the rooms, you need to walk up stairs to the lift, not the end of the world but with 2 small children and 4 very heavy suitcases (about 25kg each) and arriving late at night, it was a little inconvenient. Room itself was 2 bedroom apartment on 7th floor. Rooms were large, beds were comfortable. Did not use the kitchen but it seemed to have everything you would need. Was clean, bathroom was good size. My big issue, washing machine and dryer were combined. This usually means at least 3hrs per wash and dry and you cant get much in if its in the cooler months when everything is bigger and heavier. Also not one to leave appliances on when out, this was a problem for me. (I booked an apartment mainly to wash clothes in the middle of a two week road trip). Had I been staying here for a week, whilst annoying I would have been able to wash every day so this might not have been an issue, but still very time consuming. Another downfall, our bedroom doors would not stay open (having two small mischievous children they had to be open). We had to put suitcases in the front of them to keep them open (shoes, backpacks would slide and the door would close). Now again, not the end of the world, but staying somewhere where you feel like it is on an angle and going to collapse at any moment isn't also the best fun either! Location - great. Again, not sure how I feel about these apartments, they have good and bad points. I guess if you asked me if I would recommend them to family or friends to stay in, I would have to say no. But if you need somewhere with alot of space and are on a budget, this would probably make a good option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staycity_Birmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and the subsequent constructive criticism.
The doors in the apartments, have self closers on them as they are fire doors. Therefore, they are required to stay shut as per fire regulations. I am sorry that was an inconvenience to you, but they are installed for the safety of our guests.
I am sorry to hear that you did not find the washer dryer suitable, as it appears to be the main reason for booking one of our apartments. We have many families that stay with us, that find the apartments very well equipped. We also offer the facility for guests to have clothes dry cleaned/washed of site, so this would have helped your situation.
It is a shame you gave lower scores in your review, because you were not happy with the doors or washing facilities, and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations because of these issues.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your comments.

Regards
James Gwilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    370
    109
    53
    44
See reviews for
324
179
42
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The appartments are very central, wiithin walking distance of Birmingham New Street station, the Bull Ring shopping centre, ICC, NIA, Hippodrome theatre and O2 Academy. It is located within the Arcadian centre in China Town, surrounded by restaurants and bars. Along with the wide variety of shops and restaurants in very easy reach, there is a local bowling alley and ice rink. Although very close to public transport links, they also have a car park.

Reception staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The whole building is spotlessly clean and bright. Rooms themselves are spacious and have all the essential facilities (oven, microwave, fridge, kettle, washing machine, TV, bath, shower, hairdryer). There is free wi-fi internet access available. They also have a radiator in every room, making it easy to control temperature.

These are self catering appartments, so there is not a restaurant on site. The complimentary breakfast can be obtained from a local cafe 'Urban Kitchen'. There are also no gym facilities.

The only caution I would give is that if staying at the weekend, be prepared for background noise. Due to its central location, the surrounding night life can be quite vibrant!

This was the second time I have stayed here and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent only 2 nights at these apartments, didn't used the breakfast service either, but in the overall they seemed very clean and organized, the staff was very pleasant and helpful and they have a very good location, very near to Birmingham New Street Station (5 min walk) and to Bullring shopping center

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JucaPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a very central location, the Bull Ring was only a couple of minutes away with a big variety of restaurants and shops. The rooms were very clean and spacious and had every facility we needed. However, unlike advertised in the hotel, not 'every guest gets a complimentary breakfast', one free breakfast is allowed per bedroom rented (there were five of us staying in a two bedroomed apartment). Breakfast isn't even served in the hotel so we were given two tokens for the nearby 'Urban Kitchen' for a takeaway breakfast only to find that they were shut for refurbishments (the reception could've told us this when we picked up the vouchers) so instead we bought breakfast from Tesco Express. Despite this, we had a nice stay and would book again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LaurenUmbrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staycity_Birmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased that you enjoyed it overall. Sorry for any confusion over the breakfast offering, we do not advertise it as complimentary for all guest's, but 'available for all guest's'. As we offer self catering apartments, and do not have our own restaurant, we have set up a deal with a local takeaway. Unfortunately, they did not inform us they were closing for refurbishment, and have subsequently changed ownership. We hope to be able to offer the breakfast option again in the near future.

Thank you once again for taking the time tp post your comments, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards
James Gwilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Three nights here. Good service. Clean appartements and it was fully equipped. I really reccomend these apppartments for both couples and family. It is located at the center of Birmingham and there are a lot of restaurants and pubs nereby

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

we had a fab weekend our apartment was lovely and clean and local to everything i will tell my friends this is the place to stay.I went wiyh my 3 sisters who also like it and we will be back.We found the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcarol69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,883 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre

Property: Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre
Address: The Arcadian 70 Hurst Street, Birmingham B5 4TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 stylish and modern one and two bedroom serviced apartments conveniently located in Birmingham City Centre. We offer a selection of 52 one bedroom (sleeps 3), and 22 two bedroom (sleeps 5) self catering apartments, which come fully-furnished with bed linen and towels also provided. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV, lounge/dining area and spacious bedrooms. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi available. Our accommodation is comfortable, contemporary and convenient. Providing a genuine home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Apartments By Staybirmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing