We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ETAP ??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ETAP ??”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A great deal of preparation went into my booking and trip, I looked up the appartments on Trip Advisor and found millions of comments which ensured me i would have no problems. There was 6 of us and the room i payed over £160 for had x3 double beds which would easily fit another even 2 people in!!? however the room on offer stated it held 5 people, seeing as though there was 6 spaces, it wasnt a poxy hotel and tripadviser customers stated on many comments they had no trouble on having extra people in their room i decided to make the booking.

When we arrived back to the hotel to find no friendly staff but security guards shouting at us we were threatened that we had to then pay an extra amount so that the extra 1 person could sleep in a separate appartment on his own??!!

i felt as though we were treated as if we had payed 27pound for a room in an ETAP/IBIS Hotel!

Not happy as the night was ruined by stress and worrying about money to pay for more rooms!!!

Room Tip: its basically like having a hotel so save your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staycity_Birmingham, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am somewhat confused by your statement suggesting that 6 people are allowed in the apartments, and were you saw millions of comments suggesting this is the case. Our terms clearly state a maximum of 3 in a one bedroom and, 5 people in a two bedroom apartment. Also, I am confused by your comment of 3 x double beds, as our 2 bedroom apartments can be made as 2 x double beds and 1 x single sofa bed.

As you made your reservation through our own website, it would have been very clear as to the sleeping capacity of each apartment, however if you need further clarification, please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

James Gwilliam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    370
    109
    55
    44
See reviews for
324
180
42
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just enjoyed a 4-night stay at the StayCity Apartments in Birmingham in between Christmas and New Year, and would definitely recommend them. Ideal for chilling out in front of the TV in comfort, and the convenience of a fridge, cooker and kettle if you did want to cater. These apartments are in the middle of ChinaTown and near the Bull Ring and Indoor Market, and shops, everything within walking distance, so spolit for choice if you want to eat out. Think though that this could be a little noisy at night. Close to trains and buses.

Room Tip: We were on Floor 5 but our balcony faced out onto the street so quite noisy at times especially with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Very nice apartments good parking onsite and wonderful staff a bit out of the town. The price was just right room was clean and nothing was too much trouble to ask for will no doubt be back on another occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feathergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOLEC KUJAWSKI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

very good location: next to Bull Ring, in the city centre, nice big rooms, comf beds, big bathroom, big kitchen with all needed equipment, nice stuff .... woth to visit again ... excellent place with excelent price.... even British guests were impressed seeing such excellent place for such price. It's good place to stay for business trip - free Internet, and for shoping or visiting city. It's much more comfortabe than Ibis hotel next to Stay city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGNIESZKA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed at Staycity apartments for a second time whilst on a work's Christmas do. A 1 bedroom apartment was a great size for 3 of us to stay in, comfy beds and sofa bed, nicely fitted out kitchen and bathroom and although the apartments are situated in the bustling Arcadian Centre the apartments are so quiet and peaceful!

Great location and very reasonable priced, I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clazabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Staycity Apartments in the centre of Birmingham. We had a 2 bedroom apartment. A great location, an apartment that could sleep 4 of us which saves on booking 2 hotel rooms, with a kitchen and a seating lounge area we couldn't have asked for more. The apartment was very clean with a good standard of furniture, beds where comfortable and a manual in the bottom draw of the kitchen was there to help you with all the appliances i.e heating, washing machine etc. We didn't cook while we was there we fancied an Indian take away and wasn't disappointed when we ordered from Manzils.
Yes you do have to give a £200 deposit on arrival don't damage anything and all should be ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with 4 of my friends for a girly night in Birmingham. Were very impressed with the accommodation - car park excellent (£11 for 24h under cover) though hard to find so follow signs for Arcadian parking then go up to level 3. We had a 2 bed apartment (58) which was very spacious and plenty beds for 5 of us. There was a very well fitted kitchen, and we wished we'd planned to eat in as we could have cooked a good meal in there. We had 2 bathrooms which were spacious though the floor was a bit dirty around the edges. Amazing balcony looking out over city skyline, which felt very glamorous! There was everything we needed and the staff were very professional and helpful.
We got 2 breakfast vouchers for a bacon bap & cuppa from local cafe, and it was just £1.50 for the rest of us. Though we also bought croissants and stuff from the local Tesco Express.

The location is great if you want to be in the heart of nightlife, near the hippodrome, glee club, gay district, and lots of bars, restaurants & clubs. It's a much nicer area for a night out than Broad St, which was much much busier and messier!

The only thing was that obviously you are in the city centre, with 24h life around you, so obviously it is a bit noisy at night in the surrounding streets. But we didn't mind, as we had a fab time.

Oh and yes be prepared to give a £200 deposit on arrival, which you get back if no damage.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukgirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,893 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre

Property: Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre
Address: The Arcadian 70 Hurst Street, Birmingham B5 4TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 stylish and modern one and two bedroom serviced apartments conveniently located in Birmingham City Centre. We offer a selection of 52 one bedroom (sleeps 3), and 22 two bedroom (sleeps 5) self catering apartments, which come fully-furnished with bed linen and towels also provided. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV, lounge/dining area and spacious bedrooms. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi available. Our accommodation is comfortable, contemporary and convenient. Providing a genuine home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Arcadian Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Apartments By Staybirmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing