We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay - Location perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Zone Serviced Apartments
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great night in Birmingham, and equally great apartment at Comfort Zone,
particularly location, and easy finding the place. Reception was really helpful
and the option of parking was great. The apartment was clean, but in some areas
tired, and some things should be replaced. Would definitely use these apartments
again, and reccommend them to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 88 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have just returned from a night at comfort zone and i'm glad to be home.
I have stayed at many serviced apartments in London and Birmingham and these are the worst and not the cheapest.
Bathroom was dirty and had left over products from a previous stay. Blood on the ways in the hall way. The TV didn't work. The balcony had empty beer cans, and old cushion and about 50 fags buts on the floor and in a bucket.
The open area by the lift had a sofa with 2 sitting cushions missing and a huge punch hole in the back.
The carpets in the cash were filthy.
Don't stay here unless you are desperate, defiantly don't stay if your are a couple

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortZoneTeam, General Manager at Comfort Zone Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Sarah,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. We do take the views of our guests seriously. I am sorry you felt the Bathroom was dirty, we would have been happy to have this redone for you. I'm not sure if this was reported. Also We do put Full 250ml bottles of Imperial Leather Shower Gel and Alberto Balsam Shampoo 250ml bottles in the bathrooms and it may have seemed these were left behind by previous guests, so sorry for that.

There are a number of cigarette butts on the balcony which cannot be accessed so we will get these removed. Due to the height of the balcony and the recent weather we have not been able to get onto this to clean. We will also get the Sofa stored on the top floor removed as well as some of the stains on the landing steam cleaned. If you would like to give me a call on the reception number I will discuss some compensation for you. Kind Regards. General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The room was clean and modern and everything needed is there, like a home from home experience. Location is great as it was just a 5 min walk to town and all the bars and shops. We had a one bed apartment for 3 adults and simply asked for a camp bed to be put in the living room, so as well as the sofa bed we had a bed each but we were able to split the cost of a one bedroom apartment between 3 so it came in cheaper than any hotel in the area but we got the added benefit of all the extra space and creature comforts too. All in all would definitely recommend to others and will be using them again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Varney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The apartments were situated right behind the mail box so good central location. When we checked into the small reception the receptionist, was friendly and helpful. When we got to the room we asked for an extra duvet to use on top of the leather sofa bed, as it wouldnt of been comfortable sleeping straight onto leather, this was delivered to our room within 10 minutes. The apartment was clean and had everything I would of expected, the beds were fine and the bathroom modern. I would probably say the apartments would suit group bookings, we were a group of 5 women and it was fine for us, I would probably say not massively family friendly. My only very slight negatives were that the curtains needed rehanging better in the bedroom and there was a damaged sofa randomly left in the hall way. Overall good experience, so I would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samhall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The flat was really nice, spacious and fully equipped (dishwasher, washing machine, hair dryer and even an iPod dock!). Everything was clean and the lady at the reception lovely! I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurore222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

A great location and great rooms and serivce. I have stayed before a long time ago, but enjoyed my stay alot. I asked for a balcony and I got one. Even better they decided to upgrade my room for free, which I thought was great hence showing appreciation for customers because the room wasn't gonna get filled.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSSagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at comfort zone apartments for 3 nights for a group of 6, rented out 2 apartments. one was suppose to be a DUPLEX apartment but so many problems within the apartment. Dishes were dirty on arrival, the bath rooms were in a dirty state, there were hairs in the plug holes, panels come apart from the bathtub. Couldn't shower properly on all days as the water would go cold within 5 minutes, even though all instructions were followed properly on the help sheets provided.We all had no wi fi access, none worked and we tried accessing from several devices. There was a broken champagne bottle in the fridge , asked security to send someone to clear this and no response, waited for ages. We were promised a Double Bed in duplex apartment, cheekily they put two single beds together. These kept 'wheeling away' throughout the nights. Very uncomfortable beds. No one was at reception throughout our full stay so we could get no help, emergency phone number was out of use - no decency to respond or call back.
Left complaint in writing and by phone, chased numerous times with 3 x staff after our stay - all promised to call back on the day - NONE did. GENERAL MANAGER incompetent at his job, failed to respond or deal with complaint.

Room Tip: Use someone else to rent an apartment and Deffo not comfort zone!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortZoneTeam, General Manager at Comfort Zone Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

This is a copy of the emal sent in response to this Guest's complaint.....................

Dear ______________

The call logs on the helpline number indicate that one number called us at 13;52 on Christmas day This was the only call received on this day. The reception was closed on that day.

The Guest claimed to have called us several times

The night duty manager says he did not receive any request for a broken champagne bottle to be removed. He recalls that someone spoke to him about it from the balcony but said it was fine you just wanted to let him know. He was on duty in the office until around 9pm

Regarding your visit to the office on the 24th December between 7-8pm. No one at all attended the office reception during those times and the duty manager was at the desk the whole time. We have checked the CCTV footage for this entire period. The evening Manager was in the office till 8:45pm

Also regarding the faults you reported in the apartment. I have had maintenance check these.
There is not fault on the door hinge in apartment 11 or 9
The cleaners assured me that the condition of all bathrooms absolutely not appalling and were entirely satisfactory. In fact we have received no other complaints from any other apartment except the two you were in.

Maintenance has also checked the hot water and it is working fine. We do however state in the terms and conditions that we do not have an unlimited supply of hot water as there is an immersion tank in each apartment and water will need to be reheated which takes about 30 minutes to 1 hour on the booster. We do provide instructions for this in the in room information pack.

There is a wifi router in the apartment 11 and this had been checked and works just fine. With regards to the deposit we normally charge £350 per apartment, you were charged just £300. The £10 charge was for a late check out of 1 hour as you checked out after 11 o clock and we charge £10 per hour after that. You actually checked out around 12 o clock.

In light of the discrepancies I have found I am not therefore willing to refund any monies to you. If you wish to respond please do so in writing to me by email only, as we do not discuss complaints on the telephone as we need to keep a trail of what has been discussed.......................

The Management did investigate the complaints and admits there was a lack of staff due to the christmas period, we were closed on Christmas day. The General Manager had the Help Line phone and was only called once during the two day period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,254 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Staycity Aparthotels Newhall Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Zone Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Zone Serviced Apartments

Address: Parkside 180 Granville Street, Birmingham B1 1SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range: $88 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Zone Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Zone Apartments are the ideal hotel alternative for those requiring more from their stay in Birmingham. Check in to our well managed serviced apartments in Birmingham and feel the difference. The apartments are of a high standard, nicely decorated with soft furnishings to give you a cosy homely look and feel. Welcomed by friendly staff, peace of mind with on-sight security and parking (subject to availability), tea/coffee on arrival with compliments. Book online now or give us a call! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Zone Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing