We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vegan food at a vietnamese restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Soya

Cafe Soya
Ranked #187 of 2,192 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“vegan food at a vietnamese restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The (wide range of) vegetarian food served at this (non-vegetarian) restaurant is always tasty and very reasonably priced - the lunchtime special menu is highly recommended. Staff always friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    116
    39
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not the best, but ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The service was good, but prices were a bit expensive. I ordered Prawn toast for starters, and that was delicious, but, I should've ordered some kind of sauce with my main course of lemon grass pork fried rice. It was cooked ok, but I could tell there was something missing. My husband and I are used to Chinese/Cantonese food, because he has been delivering Chinese meals for years, so maybe it's just that you get used food from one place. I tried one of their Healthy Smoothies, and that was very tasty. To be honest, I think we will try somewhere else next time. We went there for convenience - opposite the Travelodge we stayed in.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harleygirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

I'd been going to cafe soya for many years and would highly recommend it! You can get a lunch deal for £6 a drink, main and desert. There is a wide variety for veggies and meat eaters. The service is good and the food is fantastic!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twisty500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Brum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I love this place so much, their range of veggie meats is amazing - this place is reasonably priced and can be enjoyed by veggies and meat eaters alike, and it's a great atmosphere for families, parties or couples (we usually go there on Valentine's day).

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vez K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“An experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

The food here is always great and so very tasty. Warm welcome on each visit..prefer the original (smaller) branch in Arcadian but its not flashy. Just good, honest, yummy food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TartanHornplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Soya also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Cafe Soya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing