We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food and Friendly Staff”
Review of Shiraz

Shiraz
Ranked #181 of 2,204 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was our first visit to Shiraz and I don't think it will be our last! It was a very busy Saturday night and we hadn't booked. We arrived about 8.30pm and the staff did all they could to find us a table, which they did after about a 20min wait. it was worth the wait, food very tasty and the staff very helpful, good value for money, no alcohol to bump up the price of the meal! Hope to visit again when next in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    80
    30
    8
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Simple Food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is my Favourite restaurant in Birmingham , It is over 200 miles (return from Preston ) to drive for a meal , but it has always been a great place to take my family and friends there , It is definitely a hidden Gem in Birmingham.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pahlbod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistantly excellent food”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've eaten at Shiraz many times since it opened and will continue to, its always a winner and has never disapointed! The food is first rate, the persian bread is great but this place is all about the main course. These guys can really grill meat to perfection, the saffron rice and accompanying herb salad is perfectly cooked. The portions are big and the prices are very reasonable. Service is always good and personal and I never have space for desert but they always give a small complimentary desert at the end of the meal which is a lovely gesture. This place is always busy, most evenings, and another bonus is that its open until very late too, the early hours of the morning! With no disrespect to the owners intended, the only drawback for me personally is that alcohol is neither served nor allowed which unfortunatley has influenced restaurant choices in the past! But please dont let that put you off, the food is great here and its well worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruffdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best in Birmingham”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This is my favourite resturant in Birmingham. Its a must to eat here everytime I visit this city. Food is delicious and good value for money. Overall the resturant is very clean.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abdulla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Picked up takeaway and quite honestly one of the best takeaway meals I've ever had. Excellent value, generous portions, friendly service, buzzing atmosphere in the restaurant and above all superb food. I also appreciate the touch that we received a lovely dessert for free which we didn't specifically order. We will be visiting again very soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeWeaver500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiraz also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing