We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for the whole family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic for the whole family.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed with our young family, children loved the space and cool kids extras, we loved the views and comfortable modern rooms. Great convenient location, we visited the thinktank museum, and the Hippodrome, all in walking distance. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hopefully will be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
From Kim Richards - Birmingham Manager

Hi Julie T

The Cool for Kids package has been really popular since we launched it. It's great to hear that you little ones enjoyed their treats - we keep adding to it when we can, so do let us know if you have any suggestions.

The city really is buzzing with great family fun this summer and ThinkTank and Hippodrome are a fantastic part of the Birmingham offer (I've just managed to get tickets to Lion King and I can't wait).

Hope to see you and the family again soon.
All the best
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    162
    43
    11
    15
See reviews for
119
416
46
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The location is incredible. You are right in the middle of the shopping centre but very high up so it is incredibly quiet. The view is awesome. The rooms are modern, spotless and nicely furnished. Staff are incredibly friendly and approachable. I wanted to live there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielaesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
From Kim Richards - Birmingham Manager

Hi gabrielaesta

Thanks for your comments - we know what you mean about wanting to live here, we often don't want to go home, especially when the sun is out.

Hope to see you really soon. There's some great events coming up over the summer, including some great fashion shows at the Bullring...

Very best wishes
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have been to many hotels but I have to admit I was truly taken aback my experience at staying cool Rotunda Birmingham. Firstly, this hotel has changed my impression of Birmingham and I think it is most definitely on par with CitizensM, if not slightly better.
Location is perfect, rooms are spectacular and the view at night is priceless. The bed is so comfy, bathroom clean and you also get free wifi and sky. I thought I had experienced the best customer services had to offer (at Citizens M) but I think staying cool has surpassed it. I was met at the reception by Danny (might be wrong) who was extremely polite and well mannered. I even got a text to check if everything was ok and he also asked if I needed anything.
I am gutted I only spent a night here but I am definitely going back.
My only disappointment is that I can’t believe I have only just found out about the hotel.
I WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vito-Badru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
From Kim Richards - Birmingham Manager

Hi OlaVito19

Danny is still smiling about your comments (as are we), so many thanks for leaving the review for us.

We really want our apartments to be a home-from-home and try to think of those little things that you may forget to bring (or simply not have the space to fit them in your luggage...).

Many elements of your stay come from guest suggestions - including the SMS on arrival and it has proved to be really useful - much less intrusive then calling when you want to unwind and enjoy the view.

Great to hear you will be back and we look forward to seeing you.

Do let us know if there is anything else you need.

Best wishes
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Friendly and approachable staff, rooms are very relaxing and comfortable. The views are breath taking. I for sure will not be staying anywhere else the next time I am in Birmingham. Convenient location, great facilities big thank you to the staff for making my stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al_6661981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
From Kim Richards - Birmingham Manager

Hi al_6661981

We really like it when guests see our team as part of their overall experience with us and we are all very pleased we helped you enjoy your stay.

We're extremely lucky to have such a central location - not many people have Selfridges as their corner shop... We hope you had time to make the most of the Bullring and Birmingham's great independent outlets.

We hope to see you again very soon.
Best wishes
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

As my profession requires me to travel up and down the UK I know a little about apartments / hotels and the hospitality business therefore it gives me pleasure in saying this particular establishment is "top notch".
From the moment you walk in to the moment you leave you are looked after well by the staff who greet you with ear to ear smiles.
I like a view with my apartment so the penthouse is the only choice for me, with it's panoramic views and it's spacious dwelling I couldn't ask for more.
In conclusion when staying in Birmingham choose the Rotunda, there's no other place like it (in Birmingham at least).

P.s try to get the penthouse it really does feel like you're "up in the clouds".

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
From Kim RIchards - Birmingham

Hi Angel B

Thanks for your post - we're glad you found us too!

Even after your tenth stay, we're sure you'll still find something new to see on the horizon.

We hope to see you very soon. Do let us know if you are interested in setting up a corporate account - it can save you time and money if you are in Birmingham on a regular basis.

Very best wishes
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

What can I say. I always thought Birmingham was a glorified council estate, I was extremely shocked when I stayed at Staying Cool. What can I say, it's more than Cool it is wonderful. Huge apartment, brilliant comfy beds, spacious, good service and they let me stay longer and helped me plan my onwards travel. Good central location, would stay again. Thank you to the staff for making me feel so welcome in such a poor city.
Best

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
From Kim Richards - Birmingham Manager

Hi Daniel A

Thanks for taking the time to post a review - we love to hear back from our guests.

I have passed on your very kind words to the team, we really do like to make you feel like part of the family.

The beds are one of our favourite home comforts - each day starts better after a good nights sleep...

Sorry to hear that you are not a big fan of Birmingham. Next time you find yourself in the city, do let us know, we'd love the chance to help change your mind and could put a great little itinerary together for you - put us to the test.

Very best wishes
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I am a business traveler that likes eclectic trendy hotels. This is neither. It is an apartment complex where one rents someone's apartment. It is in the middle of Birmingham in a shopping complex. The cab drops you off at the street and you drag your luggage up to the lobby and it is downhill from there. Just do not bother.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kacclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello kacclt

We were so sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

Rotunda is indeed primarily a residential apartment complex in the heart of the city's shopping quarter and we occupy the top few floors. We're not a full service hotel with a bar, restaurant or porters. Instead we try to offer something different, where we provide a lot more facilities in your apartment than a standard hotel room, such as a high spec kitchen with espresso machine, juicer as well as a lounge area with all mod cons.

The cab drop off point is around the back of the building as the front entrance is in a pedestrianised area. It is about 25m from cab to front door. For the benefit of future guests reading this, if we can help with bags then we will do - just call our guest relations team ahead of arriving.

Most of our guests really value being so centrally located, with easy access to the shops, two train stations and the business district but we're sorry that this did not suit you.

Best wishes

Kim Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,037 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,666 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
2,285 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Property: Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing