We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed in the Cabriolet for four nights for a very intensive course for work. The apartment made the whole week a joy. It was so nice to come back each evening to somewhere that I actually got rather attached to!!
The outdoor space was brilliant for a country bumpkin 'like what I is', the staff were really friendly (and genuine to boot) and well organised - especially you Danny. Lots of gadgets in the apartment, plenty of self catering bits and bobs and an excellent location and architectural building.
Overall, it was a lovely experience and I will not contemplate staying anywhere else when visiting Birmingham.
My only criticism is that you need to expand out to more cities (purely from a selfish point of view of course!).
Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Guest Relations Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Karen,

We'll call the removals company so we can get you moved in! Thank you for your fabulous review, we love the Clubman Cabriolet too, it's fantastic to make use of the terrace for cocktails in the summer.

Danny will be overjoyed that you enjoyed your time with us, I will pass your thanks on to him.

As you said you wouldn't comtemplate staying elsewhere in Birmingham, I'm hoping we shall see you soon.

Best Wishes,
Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    159
    42
    10
    15
See reviews for
114
399
46
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Terrific location and service at Staying Cool. Loved the views and making freshly squeezed OJ for breakfast! Pleasant surprise to see a Gaggia espresso maker in the room, which I know from my own research is one of the top brands available. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Birmingham.

Room Tip: From what I understand, all rooms have a great view as they are on the top 3 floors of the Rotunda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pancake_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Guest Relations Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Pancake_girl,

We are thrilled you are such an advocate of Staying Cool. Thank you for your short but sweet review.

We love our coffee, so much so that our local store supplies us with our own signature blend and we only use Gaggia or Francis & Francis espresso machines. We would love to have you with us again.

Thank you,
Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location is second to none... right at the entrance to the Bull Ring centre and 5 mins walk from New St station.
The apartment was stylish with an excellent kitchen and great views. The kitchen meant that I didn't eat out but went to M&S next door and ate in the apartment.
Much better than a hotel!

Room Tip: Great views the higher you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Guest Relations Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi Craig,

We are thrilled that you loved your stay with us and our central location- after all there is nothing worse than having to lug a case for miles.

It seems from our recent reviews that staying in is the new going out. We hope to see you again.

Best Wishes,
Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I booked apartments here for a hen party. All I can say is that we were so very impressed and plan to come back for a shopping trip hopefully in the near future. Danny was my main contact and he was so brilliant and helpful in arranging everything with me. I cannot thank him enough for the friendly and helpful service that we received. The penthouse apartments themselves are a complete home from home and far superior to any hotel choice that I had been looking at previously. I'm so glad I went with Staying Cool and do not hesitate to recommend anyone staying here for whatever the purpose of your trip.

Room Tip: Go for penthouse if you can, but all apartments are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Guest Relations Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi PrincessPosh,

It would be great to have you stay with us again. We have one of Europe's biggest shopping paradises next door which is always a good reason to return.

Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm sure Danny will be flattered by your kind words.

Best Wishes,
Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Perfect location for our special 60's birthday. Excellent decor, facilities and staff made our stay unforgettable. Out 18th floor apartment was perfect for us to relax and we spent ages spotting landmarks. My husband came to Birmingham in 1960 from Ireland and spent 40 years there. We returned to celebrate his birthday in style and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Guest Relations Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Val,

Thank you again for your lovely comments. We are so happy our 60's building made the perfect setting for your 60's party and quiz.

It's great to hear that you and your husband love Birmingham and chose to spend his birthday with us.

P.S. Thank you again for the Black Forest gateau.

Best Wishes,
Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great stay at the Rotunda in a Roadster Penthouse apartment. Great views made even better due to the sunshine. Great location for shopping at the Bullring. We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Guest Relations Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Ybird,

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes,
Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was amazing apartment on the 19th floor. The view when we checked in and walked in was amazing but when we came back in that night one word WOW!!! the view seeing all the lights across the city and further was amazing!!!
The apartment itself was just what we needed for the two of us and plenty of room. loved the coffee machine. The décor in the apartment again fantastic!!! we could easily of stayed in on the 2 nights we where there due to having everything in the room. Having the full sky tv package was brilliant and such a comfy bed and brilliant shower!!
Having the doors that open fully was amazing for looking down on the city and bringing some further cool air to the rooms.
The staff have been exceptional from the start!!!! Especially Danny who helped made the trip so easy and even more enjoyable for the two of us!! From my email queries to the end he helped make it even better!!!
I really cant wait to stay again and hope I get too as soon as possible I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Birmingham!!!
Everything was in walking distance that we needed and having the fantastic weather just made it perfect!!
You really do need to go and stay and experience the views though as they where amazing! money cant buy
Thank you again for such a wonderful experience!!! cant wait to go back

Room Tip: amazing view from room 1905
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Guest Relations Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Nicola,

It sounds like we have a fan! Thank you for your review.

We love that you were able to enjoy all the apartment had to offer and that you found Danny to be so helpful- we often read TripAdvisor reviews so I'm certain he is beaming and would like to pass on his thanks to you.

We hope you will be back soon.

Best Wishes,
Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Property: Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing