We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Being ex-Brummies we took a visit back home after many years and remembering the Rotunda as a grey tall depressing building, the thought of it being a luxury apartment building intrigued us. From the booking enquiry, through to actually booking for three nights and staying was a dream. We stayed in one of the 19th floor apartments, views fantastic, service fantastic, Danny and Simon who handled the stay were nothing short of ultimate professionals. We had a couple of minor problems and Brian the maintenance guy was so polite and professional. The `fridge was stocked and refilled upon request. All kitchen equipment easy to use (except the microwave was on a high shelf, but we don`t use one anyway), bed comfortable, clean linen/towels that can also be replaced upon request - we will definitely be back, oh and check out our restaurant reviews - come on Brum liven up your service and quality in the food department!

Room Tip: Apartment 1910 faces towards New St Station and when the sun is up......the room is hot - not a comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nettej_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Guest Relations Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Hi Nettej_11,

Birmingham and the Rotunda have indeed changed so much over the last 10 years. We are ecstatic that we were able to make your visit back home such an enjoyable one.

I will pass your thanks on to Danny, Simon and Brian, we aim to please and it's always lovely to be remembered.

The microwave in the Minis can be difficult to reach into comfortably for the smaller amongst us, we will look into placing it somewhere more accessible.

We can recommend some lovely restaurants for your next visit, which we hope will be soon.

Best Wishes,
Alex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 998 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Location great if you're planning to do lots of bullring shopping otherwise (from a very short wander) it's a bit of a desert at night.

Local shops shut at 7 apart from sainsburys so bear that in mind if you plan to cook. -

Oranges and juicer fantastic.+++

Gaggia espresso machine very disappointing - mine was broken. ---

Shower good but gallons if water on floor. --

Mains sockets by bed so can charge phone +++

No dishwasher --- and sink plug didn't work. ---

View is pretty impressive but Birmingham not the most picturesque city.

I'll probably try somewhere else next time. :-(

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFDI42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear JFD142,

We’re sorry that we didn’t quite hit the mark for you, but thank you for your generous 4* rating. For the benefit of future visitors, within a 400m radius of Rotunda, there is a M&S Food that is open until 10pm and a large Tesco Metro that is open 24/7. Sainsbury's and Selfridges Food Hall (300m away) are also open until 7pm. We have an ever growing cluster of restaurants that are less than 500m away too.

Please do get in touch straight away if you have any issues with your accommodation in future (wherever you are staying) as our staff would have been delighted to have helped you while in house.

As for the price issue, rates vary according to the day of the week and the time of year (unless you have a fixed corporate rate). We try to run as many offers as possible eg Comp Sunday (stay Friday and Saturday nights and get Sunday on us), Alt Weekend (a discounted rate for staying Sunday and Monday nights which also includes comp champagne and all the ingredients for an organic Full English. All guests who stay are entitled to a 10% discount on their next stay (when booked via our website or our Guest Relations team).

Thanks again for posting your review and hopefully we will see you again.

Best wishes

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We took a studio room here on a business trip to Birmingham. The style of the room was white, clean and minimal, which we like. These are Apartments not hotel rooms. There are a few bits to get you started in the kitchen like milk and fresh fruit.
We liked it so much that when we secured long term contracts un Birmingham, we rented a Penthouse apartment which was a great home away from home during the week, but our Cat hated it (no garden!).

Room Tip: No room service as not hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Guest Relations Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Hi Michael,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the little extras we provide (to clarify for any future guests- fresh fruit is part of many of our delicious breakfast packages).

We will have to overlook the fact your cat comment, pets aren't permitted in our apartments. It would be fantastic to see the rest of your family again though.

Best Wishes,
Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Once again a brilliant stay at the Rotunda, everything spot on as always. Staff helpful and very friendly, will be back soon. This is the third time we have stayed here and we are are very happy with the experience. the views over Birmingham are brilliant. Thanks once again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Railman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello Railman123

We are delighted that you have had three great stays with us now (I do hope you are taking advantage of your returning discount!).

I will pass on your lovely comments to the team here who do a tremendous job.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best wishes

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked a penthouse suite on laterooms.com and were extremely glad that we had not paid the full price for our suite.
The arm chair in the sitting room was filthy and none of the rooms had been hoovered before we arrived. The carpet inside the doorway from the bathroom to the bedroom was soaking wet and also was curling up in the middle of the doorway. The bathrobes were dirty, someone's makeup stains around the neck and what looked like purple nail varnish also stained. The tv in the bedroom did not work and a number of light bulbs also needed to be replaced.
The photos of the penthouse online show a balcony, we were disappointed that we did not have one. I really feel that we should have been advised of this at time of booking as the photos are misleading.
The view is spectacular and the man on the desk who checked us in could not have been friendlier.
We expected much better overall from our stay here. Will be trying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily_P186376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, General Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello Emily_P186376

We are extremely disheartened to hear that you found your stay with us disappointing.

We are not quite sure what happened with your booking via Laterooms as we would always put guests into the apartment that they have specifically booked, which in this case sounds like a two bed Maxi. We don't have a booking in the name of Emily via Laterooms on our system so if you could get in touch directly with us that would be very much appreciated, so we can get to the bottom of what happened.

I am sorry if you found our photographs deceiving, but we are constrained by Laterooms' way of displaying them which forces all the pictures into one page rather than separating them out by room type. Each photo is correctly labelled but you have to click on the photo to see it. The same is true for a lot of the online booking agents whereas if you look at our own website, you can clearly see pictures for each apartment type (plus nine times out of ten it is cheaper to book direct with a hotel and we even point out things that you might not like about each apartment type on our own site!).

I am very sorry to hear about the housekeeping issues that you raised as this really isn't our cleaning standard. It is difficult to reason why these issues incurred without more information on when you stayed and in which apartment. Our apartments are serviced on a daily basis, so we are not sure how the hoovering could have been missed on this occasion and I can only apologise profusely for this and the other issues which we want to investigate thoroughly. For the benefit of future guests, I would urge you to contact us while you are in house if something is not right - the last thing we want is for easily rectifiable issues to marr anyone's stay.

On a positive note, I am delighted you found our Guest Relations team to be very friendly and that you enjoyed the views. We would very much appreciate it if you could get in touch with us directly via email so we can get to the bottom of what happened. In the meantime, please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced.

Best wishes
Kim
Kim Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you are used to student accomodation you might find the Rotunda acceptable but if you are a seasoned traveller used to 5* accomodation you will be very disapointed in this hotel! our MD stayed here when the truck show was on at the NEC, because the decision to go to the show was last minute, the usual hotels were fully booked and I thought this was worth a try. The rugs were stained, the curtains had certainly seen better day's, the overall cleanliness was not very good, it was souless and as for sitting looking at the view that's ok as long as you dont mind someone walking past the window! after reading the introduction on the hotel website I was expecting luxury, this is not luxury unless you live in a shack with no running water! The reception was uninviting a bit like an institution, the staff were very nice and helpful but I'm afraid thats the only nice thing I can say.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello JacquelineS

I was so sorry to read that your MD did not enjoy his or her stay with us and did not like the style of the place. Rotunda is a quirky building and is different to standard hotels and we fully appreciate that it isn't to everyone's taste and style.

We don’t have your MD’s name from your review, but it sounds as though he/she stayed in the Clubman Cabriolet which is our one apartment on level 2. We have this as an option for our guests who don't like heights. Our other 25 apartments are on level 17 and above and have commanding views of the city.

We pride ourselves on making sure that the copy on our website is an accurate reflection of the accommodation provided (and we avoid the use of the word luxury like the plague), so I am especially sorry that you were disappointed with your choice.

We are sorry that someone was seen walking past the window on the Cabriolet’s large roof terrace. This would have been a member of the housekeeping team or possibly a security guard making his routine patrol. The Rotunda is Grade II listed and as such the curtains were chosen by another party and have to be the same throughout the building. They probably wouldn't have been our first choice. We are also very sorry about the stains on the rug - it is isn't always possible to wet clean stains made by previous guests in between arrivals due to time constraints.

Please accept our apologies that your expectations were not met during your MD's stay and finally, many thanks for posting your review - we take all feedback on board and go over it in detail at our weekly management meetings to help us continually review what we offer.

Best wishes

Tracey
Tracey Stephenson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Only recently have I jumped on the bandwagon of serviced apartments. As a PA I became aware that my Directors preferred staying in them to hotels and I myself understand why.

Staying Cool is the second serviced apartments Ive stayed in but nothing comes close to the view from your rooms in this building.

When we arrived I have to say I didn't realise it was also home to residential apartments and my first thoughts were "oh no its going to be noisy" but after the first night I found that the place was SILENT :) infact I was worried our TV was too loud for neighbours. The room itself.....we chose a Mini as it was purely for cost as we have had 3 children over the past 2 years (twins and a singleton) and money is an important feature for us now. The room was compact but cute and the kitchen was stocked with the most gorgeous espresso coffee with an espresso machine to use, oranges to use in the electric juicer, cereals, fresh milk in the fridge, gorgeous muesil. It was fantastic but what sold this place to me was the view from our floor to ceiling windows......awesome!

I am a big fan of Cloud 23 the bar in the Hilton in Manchester and I am always awestruck by the view from the bar as its in the 23rd floor......Staying Cool is like having your own private bar 19 floors up. We sat each night after wed been out just starung out drinking our night caps it was truely beautiful.

The location is fab, right next to Birmingham New Street Station, in the middle of all the shopping centres and a stones throw from the Hippodrome as the purpose of our trip was to see Phantom of the Opera, which I can not recommend enough!!

The staff were lovely always polite and helpful and you just need to ask them for extra coffee, milk, oranges etc and nothing is too much trouble. Id especially like to mention the young man whos name I forgot to ask for who held onto our luggage this morning. Id spoken to him twice on the phone prior to our arrival about prices and directions from the station. He is a credit to your company!

Will I stay again? Like a shot! I would love to save up though and experience the Penthouse as that has a balcony and I expect that is fantastic to sit on in the summer watching the world go by. We will return!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KelcoLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayingCool_Rotunda, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello KelcoLeeds

It was an absolute joy to read your review! I am a big fan of Cloud 23 too and I love your analogy.

We were all really pleased to read that your directors stay in serviced apartments rather than hotels too. Serviced apartments are very well established in the USA and Asia but they are a nascent sector over here.

It was Simon who looked after you during your stay and I have passed on your kind words to him. We really do have a great team at Rotunda.

Thanks so much for writing up your experience with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

With all good wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,304 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,555 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
192 reviews
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,036 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 118 in Birmingham
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $116 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing