We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked at the Rotunda after reading Trip Advisor reviews. Have to say it lived up to expectations and more. The views were great, the lounge was fab and very comfortable. If we han't booked a restaurant I don't think we would have made it out. We could have quite happily have popped to M&S (2 mins) away grabbed dinner and stayed in.
The location is great literally the front door is 10metres from the bull ring bronze bull.
The facilities were great and couldn't fault them. All round would recommend to anyone, offers way more than any hotel room.
Wish we had just got the train its in only 5 mins to new street station.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jools6999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Guest Relations Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi Jools,

That is a long list of positives.

We are happy you found our location perfect- having the Bullring shopping centre on our doorstep and two train stations just 3 minutes walk away is indeed a great asset.

As you said, although there are loads of great restaurants close by, sometimes it is nice to kick back with a takeaway or a M&S Meal for Two and watch the world go by a couple of hundred feet in the sky.

We would love to see you back soon.

Best Wishes,
Simon Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for Staying Cool at the Rotunda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 942 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here a few times throughout December in both a Mini apartment and a Penthouse. Staying at the Rotunda is such an experience. It has the best view's Birmingham has to offer and at its most central point. The staff, especially Simon are fantastic, always happy to go out of their way to improve your stay. I couldn't rate this place higher!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi Liam,

Thank you for your glowing review. It's a joy to hear we have fans. We love your photos especially the Christmas one!

I will pass your thanks on to the Guest Relations team. I'm sure they would love to see you again soon.

Wishing you all the best (for yourself and your business),
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We all had a fab time and our guests were really impressed.We loved the views and the beds.
Nothing to change.would highly recommend, we celebrated my husband's birthday and it made a truly memorable stay. Everyone was knocked out by how fabulous it all was.

Room Tip: we had penthouse suites 2001, 2000 and 2005 all brilliant
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntoniaRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Director of Sales at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

From Gavin Burns - Staying Cool at Rotunda

Hi Antionia

Many thanks for your fantastic review and choosing us to celebrate your husbands birthday. We are really pleased you all had a great time in the city.

We too struggle to get out of the beds in the morning when we stay over...

Hope to see you for your next special occasion.

Best
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in a Clubman for four months of the year, three years in a row and loved it. Its handy being in the centre of town but peaceful sleeping up high and away from the bustle. The decor is stark minimalist with the odd bright colour. The living area is spacious with cosy bedrooms and floor to ceiling windows offering a panoramic view of Birmingham. It is especially stunning at night.
The kitchen has everything you need and juicers, coffee machines etc add to the decadent feel along with a large TV, bath and shower.

A minor complaint is the internet connection can be patchy on certain floors and other guests can be heard quite easily in the echoey nature of the building. If you aren't a fan of minimalism or heights, the Rotunda might not be for you.

The staff however are very helpful and friendly with a solution to every question. There are over night security guards too so I generally felt wrapped in a safe, stylish haven in the heart of Birmingham.

Room Tip: The Clubman's are more than enough for a couple or sometimes four people but the penthouse is in...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelspeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Director of Sales at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

From Gavin Burns - Staying Cool at Rotunda

Hi Kelspeth

We're really pleased you enjoyed your stays with us and the team pass on their thanks for your lovely comments.

The space in the lounge of a Clubman really is fab and we're pleased it worked well for you on your stays with us. Hopefully we felt like a home from home.

Sorry you experienced some problems with the internet. The good news is we have totally replaced the kit and invested more into a much faster connection.

Hope to see you again very soon.
Very best wishes
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed midweek in one of the Penthouse suites for a night in January. From the moment we entered the building I found the experience quite special. The Staying Cool staff were very friendly and Simon on reception booked us in efficiently and with a smile, making it clear that we should not hesitate to contact reception should we need anything. Upon entering our apartment we were immediately impressed - it was warm and spotlessly clean with an array of premium touches you would expect from a premium priced apartment. Fresh Oranges in the fridge ready for juicing, plenty of complimentary teas, locally sourced filter coffee, hot choc, 4 boxes of quality cereals and a couple of bottles of milk. The kitchen is well equipped and has everything you need should you wish to cook up a feast although oddly no washing up liquid is supplied so we had to use hand wash to wash up . The en suite bathrooms were well stocked with lots of lovely toiletries which were much better than the cheap rubbish you usually find in hotel rooms - top quality shampoo, conditioner, body wash, hand wash, bubble bath and body lotion - all smelt heavenly and were a pleasure to use. The lounge area is lovely and has 2 very comfy and modern sofas looking out over the city. A huge flat screen tv hangs on the wall complete with blu-ray player. We had to re-arrange the sofas a little to get a decent view but no big deal. There is also an Apple Mac but we didn't get a chance to really use it. The floor to ceiling windows slide open not only in the lounge but both bedrooms also, giving easy access to the spacious balcony which has stunning views over the city - I can imagine this being a dream in the summer months but it was very cold when we stayed, however, the view is just as beautiful with the doors firmly closed and the heaters turned well and truly up.
The bedrooms are incredibly light and airy although not particularly big, but the huge windows give such an impression of space that you barely notice. Both en suite bathrooms have a shower whilst the master also boasts a nice deep bath. The bed was among the most comfortable I have ever slept in and it was just amazing to wake up in the morning to that view! One of the bedrooms has a Bose ipod dock but although the video tour on Youtube shows tv's in both bedrooms these appear to have been removed - no big deal for us but worth bearing in mind if you planned to watch a bit of telly in bed.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - it is clear that the apartments have been kitted out with love and attention and they are very well maintained. I would certainly not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: The Penthouses are pricey, but worth it for a special occasion. The studios offer better value for m...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDQ1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Director of Sales at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

From Gavin Burns - Staying Cool at Rotunda

Hi SDQ1974

Many thanks for posting such a fab review!

Simon sends his thanks for your very kind words. It's great to hear you had such a lovely arrival. We've been turning those heaters up for most of January to make sure it toasty when guests arrive (especially with the current weather conditions).

We spent a lot of time getting the toiletries just right and we really please you enjoyed using them.

The views really are something special in the summer months, especially with a glass of something chilled while relaxing the rocking chairs...

Apologies about the washing up liquid, there should have been some there for you. Also the TVs in the bedrooms. We are currently reviewing all of our technology and are hoping to pick some great new gadget in the near future, this will include putting screens back in both bedrooms of the penthouse apartments.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Very best wishes
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Not cheap but more than worth the money. Jaw dropping view and a well designed apartment (we stayed in a maxi). The service was really good too - stay there if you can! We want to come back with friends at some point to check the penthouse out!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Director of Sales at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

From Gavin Burns - Staying Cool at Rotunda

Hi John W

Your review title really did make us all smile! Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Thanks for your kind words on the design of the Maxi apartments, I love the sofas in there, really great for chilling out and watching the world go by.

We'd love to see you again soon. If you do try a penthouse the balcony really is a great extra touch, which we think you'll love.

Thanks again
Very best wishes
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The apartments are lovely big kitchen and views to die for, right in middle to the best city for most things.

Thank patricia2010186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,088 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
883 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $115 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing