We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Nearby Hotels
$88
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$106
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$95
$79
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$140
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$165
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$87
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$88
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveler rating
783
174
46
15
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
783
174
46
15
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousesky tvmini apartmentfloor to ceiling windowsmilk in the fridgeclubman apartmenticonic buildingelectric juicerespresso machineipod dockbull ringmemory foamliving areathese apartmentsserviced apartmentlovely apartmentlittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
780 - 785 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I treated my boyfriend to a night away in birmingham, as the German Christmas market was on & I thought it was the perfect way to make our trip extra special. I cannot fault one thing about our stay, we arrived by train to Birmingham New street station and it was only a short 5 minute walk. Check-in was simple, and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the mini apartment, which was perfectly laid out, with absolutely amazing views over birmingham city, and the Christmas market & lights. The extra touches such as the Ipod system, free Wi-fi, sky TV, freshly squeezed orange juice, toiletries, kitchen utensils, welcoming chocolates & tea and coffee etc made our stay such good value for money, and really comfortable. We were going to go out for dinner, however we didn't want to leave the apartment & amazing views so quickly went out to get some dinner to cook in the apartment. The king size bed & memory foam mattress made it impossible to get out of bed the next morning, so unfortunately we did miss out on having enough time to make our own orange juice, was definitely worth the sacrifice of having a long lie in though. Staff at the rotunda are so accommodating and friendly, the only thing I regret is not staying for longer. Will be back soon! :)

Room Tip: The mini apartment was the perfect size, with amazing views & great value for money!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hello Nicola L

What a lovely treat for your boyfriend. We all enjoyed reading your review and think you have covered pretty much everything! The only thing to note for the benefit of future guests is that we are providing complimentary Cadbury's selection boxes until Christmas so there might not always be welcoming chocolates, although we do provide seasonal treats at different points throughout the year.

A lot of our guests plan to dine out but end up cancelling their reservations and dining in because they want to enjoy the views. You will have to try an apartment on a different side of the building next time for a change of view. We very much look forward to welcoming you then.

Best wishes
Tracey



I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

You will be hard pushed to find somewhere better. Central to station, Bullring, market, shops, etc. Views are excellent. Clean room, everything you could want - even Sky TV. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drosos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hello Drosos D

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We were all delighted that you had such a good time and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Looked for a hotel for a weekend shopping trip but couldn't find one that was central suitable for three people so booked a two bedroomed apartment - what a super decision. We all had a wonderful weekend - the reception staff couldn't have been any more friendly, the apartment was wonderfully well equipped and so confortable. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenC115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Hello JenC115

We were delighted to host your shopping trip - you couldn't be more centrally located with Zara on the ground floor and Selfridges just a hop, skip and a jump away. The German markets are in full swing so if you get the chance to return this side of Christmas there are even more places to visit. Many thanks for posting your review.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I don't put reviews on very often, however i need to give credit where credit is due...
We stopped at the Rotunda at the weekend, i have to say i have stopped in lots of apartments, this one without doubt was one of the best. The apartment it's self was well equipped, not only coffee makers, but also facilities to have freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast, and they supply the oranges. They also have full cooking facilities, although i have to be honest, we got a takeaway and returned to the apartment so that we could appreciate the stunning views of Birmingham.

Being right in the middle of Birmingham meant that we were at the heart of everything, the German food market was just outside our door, Selfridges just over the road seeing this was an experience in itself, not to mention the pubs and restaurants that are around.

If i was asked to recommend this i certainly would, and i think it would tick all the boxes. I have a young family, on this occasion i did not take them with us, however, next time i will as i am sure they would love it.

The staff couldn't do enough for you, they were very friendly, polite and professional.

It may not be the cheapest accommodation in Birmingham, however, for what they offer you it is certainly one of the best.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better the experience, preferably get the view overlooking New Street
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warrenoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Hello warrenoffer

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at Rotunda. We were all really pleased that you had a great weekend and indeed stayed in to eat to enjoy the views. I have passed on your kind words to the team and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon, maybe with your family in tow?

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stay date - 30/11/2012

Firstly after reading a couple of comments below about litter in the lift/funny smells in the corridor... I think these people need to remember that hundreds of people actually live in the Rotunda so Staying Cool cannot possibly be responsible for what the residents get up too. Anyway, the review!

On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and actually took the time to ask us how our day was and what are we doing tonight (also recommending things that we could do) Me and my partner stayed in the Roadster Penthouse and well as soon as we walked through the door and looked in front of us we both said "wow" at the view! I don't think you can get anything like it in Birmingham especially with a wrap around balcony! The general upkeep and maintenance of the room is very good, you can tell Staying Cool have an excellent team working with them.

The room itself has low sofas and lots of mod cons (iMac, mood lighting, wall mounted TV) which really give it a great modern and contemporary feel! The bathrooms are also extremely nice, with a choice of a bath or in bathroom two a shower, we used both which wasn't a problem as after the bath we just flicked the button on the boiler which replenished the hot water within 30mins!

In the morning we woke up to the amazing view from the balcony after a wonderful nights sleep (the beds are REALLY comfy!) then we played with all the gizmo's in the kitchen (the coffee was especially nice!!) my partner went for fresh orange juice from the oranges in the fridge (which are complimentary)

Upon checkout the receptionist was great again taking the time to ask us what we are doing that day rather than just the normal "Thanks for staying, bye" you get in most hotels!

So to sum all the above up... we DEFIANTLY recommend it!! and we will certainly be stopping there again! 10/10!

Room Tip: If you want the wow factor definitely go for the penthouse!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Hello Ryan S

We were all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Roadster Penthouse. The views really are fantastic aren't they? We very much hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews